B20vtec

stepper78

Currently I am on a B16 ek4, roughly how much will it be to do to a B20vtec?

B20 Lower block + labour + ......

i'm not gonna go into details but there's more than just buy a b20 block and pair it with your b16a head.

i was planning for a b20 upgrade, but somehow i built one which cost me a solid 13k... so, i scrapped the project. it wont be cheap if u want it to be rev happy..

i'm estimating, a rough 7-8k for the basic setup... correct me if im wrong sifu's.

if wanna do b20 make sure somebody really know how to build a reliable not just hp

yup.....they are correct. reliable and cheep doesnt come together...

i'm not gonna go into details but there's more than just buy a b20 block and pair it with your b16a head.

i was planning for a b20 upgrade, but somehow i built one which cost me a solid 13k... so, i scrapped the project. it wont be cheap if u want it to be rev happy..

i'm estimating, a rough 7-8k for the basic setup... correct me if im wrong sifu's.

thks for the reply.

What is the diff between the 13k and 7-8k basic setup?

my 13k setup consists of stronger conrods, stronger conrod bearings, lighter and larger pistons with much higher compression ratio..

also, strengthen block..

arrowhead,
ur supposedly B20 build add up to 13K mainly due to all those aftermarket parts,right?n whn u mention strengthen block...how do u do it/wat do u mean?chg liner + add block guard?or is der sumthg else?
i was toying w a B20 idea whn i blew my B16B(again!)....d bottom-end i can get dirt cheap frm my mechanic..BUT engineering work alone 4 a basic set up i was told will come up to ard RM1.5K?true ar?

n just 2 b fair...reliability is actually relative...depending on d driver actually...i know of a few basic B20VTEC set up...almost 5 yrs now....never encountered any problem..but of course dis r light-footed drivers whr they did d B20 4 d low end torque 4 their daily driving....
n of coz der r a few insane frens who treat their B20 like a B16/B18...KABOOM in less thn 2 weeks!hahahahahahha

none of the above. what i wanted to do was "postings". i think u can google it online to find out what it is. its actually using screws, which are the exact same material as the block so they expand at the same rate/size, and placing them on specific points of the block to make it withstand hard revving..

the block is cheap, but i dont quite get what u mean by engineering work on basic setup? what kind of engineering work?

none of the above. what i wanted to do was "postings". i think u can google it online to find out what it is. its actually using screws, which are the exact same material as the block so they expand at the same rate/size, and placing them on specific points of the block to make it withstand hard revving..

the block is cheap, but i dont quite get what u mean by engineering work on basic setup? what kind of engineering work?

if not wrong at least do a oil line to feed oil to the head right?:hmmmm:

yup. here are some of the stuff u will need (memory bank low, so i can only rmb these for now)
oil passage (from block to head)
bigger injectors (h22a preferred)
management (vafc also enough)
crank guard (b20 no crank guard, need from a b16b-b18c, b16a also dont have)

erm... what else... new timing belt... i cant recall... im sure there are more...

so actually, there are alot of hidden things which u need to change...

Mine has all the above you mentioned, arrowhead, the price exceeds 14k. The forged rods and pistons alone costs nearly 5k. Not to mention i'm using a b18c strokers on mine to reduce piston speed. Still, I do like my b16a for it's insane robustness, too bad it's just collecting dust for now. Waiting for people to get tired of the eg so I can snap up a second hand one on the cheap and put that one in. Without a/c&power steering, it'll make a great fun car to track around with akuma. Ha ha.

Still, like akuma said, Basic setup is enough for daily driving not seeing constant 8k rpm. The great low end torque.

Cf4 pistons, block & rod prep, the balancing recommended, but optional.
The b20b block is lacking a lot of reinforcement compared to the b16/b18, so don't expect it to be strong. It's a great engine for daily driving though.

I highly recommend it for ek owners who just want the pickup, and not go nuts with high rev. Heck i've driven a non vtec b20b on an ek, and the additional torque is very welcome on the heavy ek4. Who cares if it can't hit 8k rpm. It's a daily driver!

14k? holy shit. even worst than mine.. hahaha. i do agree to some extent of the daily drive theory, but that really cant be applied to me. i dunno, maybe its just me. knowing that i had a chance to make it "strong" and not doing it, will certain haunt me in the future. hence why, if i were to go for a 2 litre, i'd do it the expensive way. i'd just like knowing that my engine can withstand the rev that i occasionally reach... peace of mind perhaps..

but again, shiro's the guru. so if he says b20b on an EK4, u get a b20 on an EK4... hahaha. happy cny bro.

for basic setup, 3k is enough. if 14k i think its for hardstyle driving. how hard u drive ur car??

again,dis is all subjective....4 sum1 who is not power crazy n wud just love a very torquey engine 4 daily driving....switching 2 a basic B20Vtec frm say a B16/B18,he/she might not even need 2 rev sky high like how it's usually done on d B16/B18 coz u already get power on d lower rpm range.....v r so used 2 revving our B16/B18 sky high coz it's lacking in torque,all agree?
but wat arrowhead sed is true also...IF u can afford a proper build in d 1st place,y not do it...
cheers n happy CNY!

arrowhead,
like i sed,dis is all very subjective 2 every1..wat works 4 me might not work 4 u n vice versa,right?i always believe in dynoing watever engine u haf n understand BOTH d power & torque curve..identify whr is ur power band n stop wasting fuel & stressing d engine by keeping d rev in d power band.....
i always remind my frens,y rev til 9000rpm whn ur power & torque both oredy dropping right after 7000rpm?
i myself dun hit max rev (9400rpm) all d time coz i know my power drops right after 8200rpm.....
so,sendiri mau ingat ler....hahahah
Happy CNY n Happy holidays!

i was just joking la bro.. hahahaha... but then again, yeah, diff ppl have diff thoughts.. so, perhaps like akuma mentioned. dyno and find out where ur engine peaks and u will be a better driver..

thanks bro. happy hols to u too

woooppss....did my post sounded too serious?my apologies,hahahaha........