until the 97 price go down to a reasonable price (i.e below RM2.50)

i did a quick simple calculation..
for my E10, full tank of 97 will cost me RM135 roughly.
full tank for town + highway use with normal boost will last for about 320-350km max.
normal use now, full tank will last 3 days, 4 days max. for 4 weeks, that's 7 times full tank = RM945, lets make it Rm1000 for daily normal use (bear in mind, this is not commuting since i dont need to commute)
Lets say that i use my evo for half a time which will cost me RM500, i still have RM500 to spend on monthly commitment + fuel for small car (i.e viva).
i know this is not actually a detailed and complete calculation, but you get the idea. Brand new 1.0 Auto viva, will cost you around RM36-38K. Put some downpayment, and for monthly payments will be around RM300-400 for 5years.
I'll opt for 2nd car use, less stress on ur beloved car and cheap on prices. Who needs a 5 seats turbocharged 300++hp stuck in the traffic jam when most of the time you'll be driving alone or maybe 2.
I know this wont apply to Pangyau, cos i know him personally (kids,long distance commute etc), but for those who lives in KL or anywhere that always stuck in traffic jam..think bout it.
Better still, get a 2nd hand kancil or kelisa..save or hold on few of your mods on your car and get another beater for daily use.
i did my decision, and i ll keep on using my beater maybe until the 97 price go down to a reasonable price (i.e below RM2.50)
Hi guys (digging up the old thread).
Since RON97 now hitting RM2.90/liter hit me hard as a daily user.
Any possibilities to tune the engine to run on RON95 using Haltech Sprint 500?
If still using stock ECU (never remap or such) can use half RON97 & half RON95?
Please advice & thanks in advance.

i did a quick simple calculation..
for my E10, full tank of 97 will cost me RM135 roughly.
full tank for town + highway use with normal boost will last for about 320-350km max.
normal use now, full tank will last 3 days, 4 days max. for 4 weeks, that's 7 times full tank = RM945, lets make it Rm1000 for daily normal use (bear in mind, this is not commuting since i dont need to commute)
Lets say that i use my evo for half a time which will cost me RM500, i still have RM500 to spend on monthly commitment + fuel for small car (i.e viva).
i know this is not actually a detailed and complete calculation, but you get the idea. Brand new 1.0 Auto viva, will cost you around RM36-38K. Put some downpayment, and for monthly payments will be around RM300-400 for 5years.
I'll opt for 2nd car use, less stress on ur beloved car and cheap on prices. Who needs a 5 seats turbocharged 300++hp stuck in the traffic jam when most of the time you'll be driving alone or maybe 2.
I know this wont apply to Pangyau, cos i know him personally (kids,long distance commute etc), but for those who lives in KL or anywhere that always stuck in traffic jam..think bout it.
Better still, get a 2nd hand kancil or kelisa..save or hold on few of your mods on your car and get another beater for daily use.
i did my decision, and i ll keep on using my beater maybe until the 97 price go down to a reasonable price (i.e below RM2.50)
lanevo6,
Kindly share how do you tuned your engine using the RON95.
Maybe you could guide me or giving idea to do the setup.
What parts need to upgrade or change/reprogramming.
If ECU the issue, the best I can get is Haltech Sprint 500.
If other brand will be an issue due to no technical support in my place.
FYI, my ride is stock condition.
Your
since ron97 going up rm2.50/l...i re tuned my E6 with power fc using ron95...couple mods with 1.5mm metal gasket + no8 cold step spark plug...with ron95 my E6 limit boost only 1.2bar/270whp..knock count 10-35..what tuner said safe area knock...they said do not up boost over 1.2bar coz more knock will occur..tune rich when boost and 14.5 when idle/cruise....now i done 10,000km with ron95..spark plugs has checking is brown colour (good a/f ratio) KL-KEDAH-KL-JB speed 140-180 constant without problems...with ron95 you must sacrifice power coz ignition was retard for prevent knock...but i am happy coz 270whp enuf for daily ride with fill gas RM 1.90/L 
who said evo cant use ron95?since ron97 going up rm2.50/l...i re tuned my E6 with power fc using ron95...couple mods with 1.5mm metal gasket + no8 cold step spark plug...with ron95 my E6 limit boost only 1.2bar/270whp..knock count 10-35..what tuner said safe area knock...they said do not up boost over 1.2bar coz more knock will occur..tune rich when boost and 14.5 when idle/cruise....now i done 10,000km with ron95..spark plugs has checking is brown colour (good a/f ratio) KL-KEDAH-KL-JB speed 140-180 constant without problems...with ron95 you must sacrifice power coz ignition was retard for prevent knock...but i am happy coz 270whp enuf for daily ride with fill gas RM 1.90/L
p/s : the best ron95 ever : petronas 95 xtra...with low knock level :wavey:
yes i believe so as well the knocking on my engine completely went away when full throttle with the new primax 95 xtra compared with the old primax 95

i might try using ron95..cause americans doesnt have ron 95/95..they have 91 and 93, but they are running ok.. maybe i ll try few tanks and see how it is. But, im still doubtful regarding 95.
but since i have 2nd small car, i dont really need to bother about 97 unless im going for a weekend drive or tracks. when that happen, im not suppose to worry bout the fuel prices..
im interested to know either should i use standalone ecu to tune my car for 95 or just hoping the stock ecu will cope with it. 5% powerloss is not much a difference in term of percentage, but when you have 300hp, 5% loss is 15hp..thats a lot actually.