Share my DIY overhaul picture.

me2kimi

I just want to share picture of my engine been overhauled by myself.
Please comment.....

P/s- I would like to thank for all members and sifu here for very informative thread.

• 01.oil pump oil seal remove becoz of leak.JPG
    01.oil pump oil seal remove becoz of leak.JPG
    235.6 KB · Views: 665
  • 02.timing mark1.JPG
    02.timing mark1.JPG
    198.8 KB · Views: 490
  • 03.timing mark3.JPG
    03.timing mark3.JPG
    190.7 KB · Views: 431
  • 04.timing mark3.JPG
    04.timing mark3.JPG
    215.7 KB · Views: 415
  • 05.me assistant.JPG
    05.me assistant.JPG
    222 KB · Views: 440
  • 10.dirty dead4.JPG
    10.dirty dead4.JPG
    370.7 KB · Views: 449
  • 09.dirty head3.JPG
    09.dirty head3.JPG
    286.8 KB · Views: 434
  • 08.dirty head2.JPG
    08.dirty head2.JPG
    318.7 KB · Views: 467
  • 07.dirty head1.JPG
    07.dirty head1.JPG
    334 KB · Views: 498
  • 06.stabalizer link n ball joint.JPG
    06.stabalizer link n ball joint.JPG
    248.2 KB · Views: 490
  • 15.head view.JPG
    15.head view.JPG
    303.8 KB · Views: 455
  • 14.bottom view.JPG
    14.bottom view.JPG
    223.8 KB · Views: 444
  • 13.head on d ground.JPG
    13.head on d ground.JPG
    288.5 KB · Views: 436
  • 12.head remove.JPG
    12.head remove.JPG
    252.1 KB · Views: 476
  • 11.mess work space.JPG
    11.mess work space.JPG
    300.6 KB · Views: 422
  • 20.full spray.JPG
    20.full spray.JPG
    187.2 KB · Views: 411
  • 19.half spray.JPG
    19.half spray.JPG
    188.3 KB · Views: 411
  • 18.ori MHG.JPG
    18.ori MHG.JPG
    177.9 KB · Views: 410
  • 17.copper spray gasket.JPG
    17.copper spray gasket.JPG
    180.6 KB · Views: 487
  • 16.piston inside.JPG
    16.piston inside.JPG
    267.2 KB · Views: 435
more picture

• 21.full spray2.JPG
    21.full spray2.JPG
    147.1 KB · Views: 303
  • 22.clean head1.JPG
    22.clean head1.JPG
    238.9 KB · Views: 375
  • 24.clean head3.JPG
    24.clean head3.JPG
    224.8 KB · Views: 384
  • 25.alrady install.JPG
    25.alrady install.JPG
    236.3 KB · Views: 411
wish i could done the same as u but i just dun have the tools :(

make sure the same screw goes back to it's own place... :D
same also the torque on every screw...especially on main block n engine head...to prevent future leaking...

nice stuffs you doing there...keep us posted... :proud:

did u skim the head also???

nice head cleaning....and how about piston and bottom end?...did u change ring and bearings???

nice work there

cute assistant u have there :biggrin:

nice job :wink:

:driver:

thanks...:biggrin:

did u skim the head also???

nice head cleaning....and how about piston and bottom end?...did u change ring and bearings???

nice work there

yes, did skim head a bit. just to make sure it is flat.
Head send to shop to chemical cleaning.
Piston ring and con rod bearing also changed. Forgot to upload picture up there.

• IMG120.jpg
    IMG120.jpg
    55.4 KB · Views: 306
  • IMG122.jpg
    IMG122.jpg
    75.8 KB · Views: 301
I have a ques. Is there any difference between the normal head gasket and TRD metal head gasket????

bro...if it is no trouble for you...mind to share the cost breakdown for the replaced parts...and where to get them...thanks...

Ok bro, I've not calculate yet total cost.
For the parts, I've bought it at spare part shop at kelana jaya. Why I go there? becoz near to my office and they have some original toyota spare part.

One word: WOW!

Bro, u're the man. I think no one else here had rebuilt their engine by themselves, especially in their house compound. I'm totally stunned by looking at those photos and you're doing such a great job. I think pretty soon u can open up your own garage as well :)

Anyways, looks like your 20v had some pretty serious problem with sludge. So it would have been best to drop the block as well and clean up the block, conrod as well as the crankshaft. With no power tools, I think its okay but you need to get a proper torque gauge as torquing down all the bolts according to the specs are crucial. Also, with the piston removed, did u check if there's any damage/scratches to the cylinder wall? Most importantly, the size of each cylinder with relation to the piston ring clearance.

Also, while at it you could have p&p the head as well ;)

However, looks like ur engine rebuild is already complete and hope everything is ok. Good job! Hope to TT again once ur free...

Thanks bro pcmod,
At bottom side not sludge as head area.
Already check the cylinder block-no scratch can be detected.
Torque wrench-also did search for it but no luck to find with low range torque. Minimum torque wrench which I found is 40 N-m while head bolt need 30 N-m.

Tak sempat PNP bro, need spare money to service absorber. Maybe next time PNP.

TT-also looking for that to. But not easy leaving home without bringing my assistant together. Cannot TT dengan senang if her arround.

For the spare part, total is about rm900 not include ball joint and stabalizer link.
For tools, its about rm180. But half of them i dont use.

Nice job me2kimi :love:. May I know what made u decided to do the overhaul in the first place?

My engine suffer serious engine oil lost. I need to topup 1 liter in every 2 week. Also 2 cylinder already lost compression.
The engine running like 3 n half cylinder. Thats y I overhaul the engine.

NO comments... Only respect :adore: Wish I had the money, tools, skill and balls to do what you did.

---------- Post added at 05:45 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:39 PM ----------

I see it is an AE111 :biggrin:
Nice job there. Can share a bit ah? Do you use an engine manual? Are there a lot of electronics to disconnect? Have to remove block or not?

NO comments... Only respect :adore: Wish I had the money, tools, skill and balls to do what you did.

---------- Post added at 05:45 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:39 PM ----------

I see it is an AE111 :biggrin:
Nice job there. Can share a bit ah? Do you use an engine manual? Are there a lot of electronics to disconnect? Have to remove block or not?

Yes bro, totally depend on the engine repair manual. It helps alot. On the electronic side, just need to remove 4-5 sensor and 4 injector connector.

I did not remove block coz dont have engine lifter. If I have that, sure I'll remove the block. :biggrin:

bro me2kimi, more technical info to complement these pics and this thread is screaming for a sticky!

Bro ragerunner, I donno how to explain about the technical, but like I said above, I think all 20 Valvers has the engine repair manual. I just print out the manual and make is as a book, open the book and refer it while working with the engine.
The manual is quite detail, it tell what connector to remove, how much screw to remove.
I can say that 85% came from engine repair manual, 10% from my courage n experience and another 5% is advice from friends and mech.

No need sticky la bro. I do not want to responsible if someone try DIY it and fail.Plus the picture is not detail enough.