Will I be conned? Please advice!!

ddv_nk12

Hello everyone. Yesterday I went to see a car that I wanted to buy.

Here is the thing. This car, Integra Type S (A) 2005, is registered in Singapore. Price is really cheap. According to the seller, who works in Singapore and sells cars as his second job told me that I can use this car in Malaysia without registering in Malaysia, as long as I kept on renewing the Singapore road tax. Malaysian police and JPJ won't bother asking even my license if I they stopped me as long as the Singapore road tax is valid. He can renew the road tax for me in Singapore. The drawback is if an accidents occurs involvong this Singaporean registered car, I would not be able to claim the insurance. That is quite fine with me. He said that I can go to JPJ to get some kind of permit to drive a foreign registered car in Malaysia. Because it is illegal for a Malaysian to drive a foreign registered car. And because of this, the customs can confiscate this car. He was quite honest in telling me what could happen. So, this means that I pay him the price of the car and I drive away with the car and that's it.

The next thing i can do is, which he recommends and I also think would be the wiser thing to do. He told to get the car registered in Malaysia with JPJ and customs. But I have to pay a large amount of money to do this. He told me that if i paid an additional RM35k after everything is approved (I think he used the word "assignment"), the car will be a Malaysian registered car with pink slip and totally legal and would not face any problems in future to renew road tax and change engine etc. The thing is this, to ensure that the car is legal, it involves some not so legal things. The AP is RM10k. For this and that including you know what i mean to get the documents right, it costs RM25k. He said this would take maximum a month and a half. That's fine with me. And he also said that it will surely be approved. Fine. Besides, if i don't have the cash with me now to pay RM35k,He also said that once i paid for the car and i get all the documents needed, i can then apply for a bank loan to to finance the car.

He was quite straight forward in telling me the things that could happen. I appreciate that. He said if at all customs stop me when I am driving the car, i just have to tell that it is my cousin's car. Because he kept saying that it is wrong for a Malaysian to drive a foreign registered car in Malaysia. No insurance claim if it's not registered in Malaysia. This purchase involves some not legal things. He has told me all of this and yet he convinces me that it's totally fine. Not to worry about anything. He has done it for many of his buyers.

If you ask why do i need to take such a big risk to get this car (or other cars that he has) from this seller, my answer is simple. it's really cheap. Of course the condition is not as good as the other unregistered Integras around. It is how a 6 year old car should be with fairly low mileage to me. Plus, I had my own mechanic whom i trust to do a thorough check up on the car. And I am happy with it. So this is not my concern.

Now, a few things are bothering me. I don't want the car to be confiscated after paying quite a large amount of money. He showed me the car's Singapore grant and was told that it's not a stolen car. I have no idea how does a Singapore car grant look like. So God knows whether he's telling the truth. The next thing is that I don't want SPRM to be knocking my doors and looking for me after investigations were done. I am not in a position to go through that at this part of my life.

I need some advice from those who have actually experienced this kind of purchase or from those who actually know what is the procedure and so on. To me, this is very important because it's my money and life at stake. So, I hope to get some clarification here. With this being discussed here, i hope others may benefit from it as well.

its again discussed, i believe if you use logical and rationale thinking for this..."good things doesn't come cheap" and you will know what to do.

my opinion, if its involved something "not legal" as you mentioned, anything that you decided, you have to be accountable for it.

few tips i can share: -
- there is no AP that cost rm10k/pc
- no insurance coverage for foreign car, unless you are foreigner holidaying here
- there is time limit for foreign car to be in msia
- police will usually check on the background of the car when you are stop at road block

but the decision still yours......i am just sharing....:)

its again discussed, i believe if you use logical and rationale thinking for this..."good things doesn't come cheap" and you will know what to do.

my opinion, if its involved something "not legal" as you mentioned, anything that you decided, you have to be accountable for it.

- no insurance coverage for foreign car, unless you are foreigner holidaying here
- police will usually check on the background of the car when you are stop at road block

I appreciate your feedback. I was not aware of some of the things you mentioned. Like you said, the decision is mine and thats why i am trying to get as much info as possible before i actually make the decision.

Anyone here had first hand experience?

Agree with Bro Evoz statement... and add on..

If you driven a foreign registered car, police stop you more frequent during at highways and ask for licence.. (u need international licence to get ur hand on the steering wheels) This is my own experience for test drive my fren's car SG car in PJ

Agree with Bro Evoz statement... and add on..

If you driven a foreign registered car, police stop you more frequent during at highways and ask for licence.. (u need international licence to get ur hand on the steering wheels) This is my own experience for test drive my fren's car SG car in PJ

Yes, I too agree with you that police tend to stop foreign registered cars more often. If you don't mind, may I know why did they stop you and also what happened after that?

What about the permit that they guy mentioned about driving a foreign registered car in Malaysia? Or does it really exist?

Yes, I too agree with you that police tend to stop foreign registered cars more often. If you don't mind, may I know why did they stop you and also what happened after that?

What about the permit that they guy mentioned about driving a foreign registered car in Malaysia? Or does it really exist?

Bro, thats bcuz i din wear seatbelt :banghead::banghead::banghead: then kena stop and ask for licence :bawling: thought given MY licence still said need to saman without licence :hmmmm::hmmmm: then explain further from officer, we need international licence to drive foreign registered car :driver:

The behind story no need explain edi la... lolx.. :idea:

Yes, I guess we all know our Malaysian police very well. Not all though. Having said this, I would like to share my experience when i was stopped for not using seat belt. Me and the front passenger. We were spotted at a junction by a traffic police. He just looked at us. I knew there was a road block in front. So, my wife and I quickly fastened our belts. But as expected we were still stopped because they knew the registration number. I stopped at the side. An officer approached us. He said that we were not wearing our seat belts (like i don't know). Haha. Both my wife and I denied till the end. We said we were wearing our belts. They have no proof besides the officer who spotted us. He checked with the first officer again. He confirmed that we were not wearing our belts. We still denied. He threatened to bring this matter to court. We also pretended innocent and said why go to court and buat bodoh je... I knew it was going nowhere. In the end, he let us go with a "amaran terakhir". Lol.. You can try it to next time if it happens.

Sorry off topic a little.

Could dis applied to bikes as well? asking because been drooling for dirt cheap singapore-registered superbikes hehe

I agree with Evoz...Good things never come cheap unless something big hiding will not know now but later part....now days a lot ad coming for SG bikes and cars...

For me ... not yet tried..and i wont try also..i would rather pay higher a bit so can have peace of mind when driving or riding with having proper documents....

its the same cos under JPJ & kastam regulation..

next, check the COE until when?... if still need to renew roadtax in Sg, must check this...

*hear some story about riding Sg bikes in KL, YES no issue with police, but Kastam can confiscate anytime due to no tax paid...

(foreign bike/car can only be use around border (JB and Kedah/Kelantan)... or driven by foreigner)..

I don't have a first hand experience on this really but I suggest you consult expert opinions on this one. Well, sure its a bar gain but if its get you in trouble on the way, I don't think that's ok.

I agree with Evoz...Good things never come cheap unless something big hiding will not know now but later part....now days a lot ad coming for SG bikes and cars...

For me ... not yet tried..and i wont try also..i would rather pay higher a bit so can have peace of mind when driving or riding with having proper documents....

Yes, what you said is very true. Peace of mind is important.

Thanks mate.

---------- Post added at 09:57 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:51 AM ----------

next, check the COE until when?... if still need to renew roadtax in Sg, must check this...

*hear some story about riding Sg bikes in KL, YES no issue with police, but Kastam can confiscate anytime due to no tax paid...

(foreign bike/car can only be use around border (JB and Kedah/Kelantan)... or driven by foreigner)..

The COE has expired. The car can never go back to Singapore and that is why it's cheap according to that guy. However, something does not make sense to me or its just because i have little knowledge in this. COE has expired but can renew road tax in Singapore. This is what he told me. To me, based on my little knowledge i have plus some common sense, I feel this cannot be done. Why would Singapore government renew your road tax when the COE has expired?

---------- Post added at 10:00 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:57 AM ----------

I don't have a first hand experience on this really but I suggest you consult expert opinions on this one. Well, sure its a bar gain but if its get you in trouble on the way, I don't think that's ok.

Exactly, I have more or less decided not to take the risk. Just hoping someone from somewhere will come up and show me if this can be done correctly without any problems now or in future.

Any experts that you people think i can consult?

It's the car from seller name call andy right

No, this guys name is Hedrizat.He claaims to be working in Singapore as a mechanic. He has his a facebook account with many pictures of cars that are currently in Singapore waiting to be bought by Malaysians. Just search for his name and his picture for his profile is an engine bay. This gut is not from KL. He is in Kluang or at least that is where I met him with the Integra. He came with another friend. I got to know him through another Hedrizat's friend who posted an ad in mudah.my.

Thank you for your reply. I guess I am pretty convinced that this might just be another con attempt. I just hope that forumers here are aware of such a crime and be careful whenever buying a car. People tend to have so many ways of cheating. Having said that, I am not saying that this guy whom I met is a conman. I am just not willing to take the risk.

You might want to share the whole story about what happened to your friend and what's the update and what is being done due to this? It can be something useless to all of us.

Thank you once again.

---------- Post added at 08:51 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:40 PM ----------

I also found out that another person is mudah.my that goes by the name of Aida is doing something similar. She says that the cars are all in Singapore. If you want to view, she'll arrange her agents to bring you there to see the car. If you like it, you pay for the car and you will get the car with AP, registration card and all. The price amounts up to the same that was first quoted by the Hedrizat. Lets say you can'e go to Singapore, you'll just need to pay a refundable deposit of RM7000 (i think its 10% of the value of the car). They'll do whatever is neccessary to bring the car into Malaysia. You need to view the car in JPJ or customs, cant really recall what she said. If you like it, you pay the remaining amount and wait for the paper work and all to be done. If you don't like it, she'll refund your deposit. She says that her brother-in-law is the one who brongs in the car from Singapore. She is in KL i guess. Have not met her. Only spoke over the phone when she explained all of this.

for peace of mind my opinion is best just stay away from it because maybe not today or tomorrow you might run into trouble in the future and risk losing the car
if its for track purposes then just buy and whack oni :rofl:

kumar: i dont think paying 70k for a stock car only to be converted to a track car is cheap.. lol

eyy the car is 70k ah
wah i dont think its worth it lah with all the risk involved
i found one dc5r modded in mudah last time singapore car also 40k oni :biggrin:
thats why i assumed this car was like 20k oni :banghead:

many of these vehicles floating in market. even in fb also ppl talking bout cheap sports car for sale....but becareful....risk is all yours ...for peace of mind, buy from a reputable dealer.

I haven't ventured into these kinda deals before and doubt I ever will due to firsthand knowledge of what can and will happen. A friend of mine did pretty much the same thing you're thinking of doing although his was a superbike and registered in Thailand. He spent a night in Customs lock-up in Kelana Jaya (thereabouts?) and the R1 was confiscated.