new rim for my family car (offset prob)

goodboy

im planning to put 15inch 7jj rim to myvi.
what trouble me is the offset of the rim.
i heard that if i put offset 35 it wont fit and need to use specer somemore.
i want my car to look wider and the rim will go outside abit then the body.
what is the suitable offset for my car?
all sifus please help:itsme:

morning brother..

myvi offset is 38-42,
can try any 15s with tyre 195/55..

im not a sifu but if i were u, upgrading ur rim size will increase your fuel consumption and since u said its a family car, dont you want to have a good FC car?
upgrading the size of the rim will result in slightly increase FC..

just my 2 cents :biggrin:

cheers - ariff

morning brother..

myvi offset is 38-42,
can try any 15s with tyre 195/55..

im not a sifu but if i were u, upgrading ur rim size will increase your fuel consumption and since u said its a family car, dont you want to have a good FC car?
upgrading the size of the rim will result in slightly increase FC..

just my 2 cents :biggrin:

cheers - ariff

thanks brother,
yes i do realize that fc will slightlyincrease drink more petrol then usual.
i want to make it more 'garang' a bit la.
and about offset myvi only can fit 38 above?

if u install rim with offset bigger number...the rim would goes inside...

if smaller number then u got the rim going outside and looks wider..... offset +38,+35 is good already....

if u rim goes even more towards outside afraid the tyre would hit wheelarch/body...later tayar koyak how....

thanks brother,
yes i do realize that fc will slightlyincrease drink more petrol then usual.
i want to make it more 'garang' a bit la.
and about offset myvi only can fit 38 above?

Actually the smaller the offset number the further out are the rims, so offset 35, the rims already comes out. If use 195/55/R15, the problems you may face is the tyres will scrap your outer fenders, as the overall diameter is bigger by 2.1% and with the rims coming out further.
Other sizes you can try are 185/55/R15 or 195/50/R15.

im using 15x7 offset 40,195/50 tires..on myvi,so far no problem at all with lowering spring..no hitting fenders and all..fit nicely

That is because +40 offset goes in a bit and using 50 series the tyre diameter also smaller.....

Actually the smaller the offset number the further out are the rims, so offset 35, the rims already comes out. If use 195/55/R15, the problems you may face is the tyres will scrap your outer fenders, as the overall diameter is bigger by 2.1% and with the rims coming out further.
Other sizes you can try are 185/55/R15 or 195/50/R15.

agreed with this..
my cous is using 15s 6.5j at his myvi.. 195/55 tyre will hit the fenders on a really2 bumpy road.. to be on the safe side use 195/50..but u might want to consider lowering ur ride a bit because it might look a bit weird with the gap..

well then, its all depends on ur preference, and ur wallet of course!! haha :)
good luck in finding new rim :biggrin:

cheers - ariff

agreed with this..
my cous is using 15s 6.5j at his myvi.. 195/55 tyre will hit the fenders on a really2 bumpy road.. to be on the safe side use 195/50..but u might want to consider lowering ur ride a bit because it might look a bit weird with the gap..

cheers - ariff

If use offset 40, maybe won't hit the fender.
Lower the ride will become very bumpy, especially for family car.....

agreed with this..

cheers - ariff

wats the offset of your cousins rims ntil hitting the fenders?

my ex colleague is using 15x7 +40 (the 4 spoke lenso) with 195/55/15 tires and it clears perfectly

wats the offset of your cousins rims ntil hitting the fenders?

my ex colleague is using 15x7 +40 (the 4 spoke lenso) with 195/55/15 tires and it clears perfectly

dunno la bro since its not my car, huhu..i think he got the cap ayam advan rg with 38 i think? maybe :)

yeah, my wife car i10 i change from 14x5jj 165/60 (not stable like madness!!) to 15x6.5 offset 38 cap ayam murah kaw2 ssr type c with 195/55 at first, and it hit the inner fender pretty bad on uneven road..now changed to 195/50 and it seems pretty ok..without lowering..since its damn expensive to get just the lowering spring..the only available is eibach which cost 1.3k for the spring alone..!!huhuhu...maybe need to rojak the spring..hurmmm...

dunno la bro since its not my car, huhu..i think he got the cap ayam advan rg with 38 i think? maybe :)

yeah, my wife car i10 i change from 14x5jj 165/60 (not stable like madness!!) to 15x6.5 offset 38 cap ayam murah kaw2 ssr type c with 195/55 at first, and it hit the inner fender pretty bad on uneven road..now changed to 195/50 and it seems pretty ok..without lowering..since its damn expensive to get just the lowering spring..the only available is eibach which cost 1.3k for the spring alone..!!huhuhu...maybe need to rojak the spring..hurmmm...

What about fc then ?
And can it climb the average slope with 4 adults on board ?

What about fc then ?
And can it climb the average slope with 4 adults on board ?

FC i can consider damn good..
i forgot how it was when it was on stock rim..but currently full tank top up is cost around rm54-rm58, and it can last depends how ur drive..

city driving - can go up to 420km..just need to make sure rpm doesn't go beyond 3k and 100kmh..
but long distance, fuwahhhh!!! damn thristy..maybe because of its tiny engine?
yes we used it once during raya trip,4 full grown adults and lots of bags + kuih raya..
the car climb up karak highway pretty good..considering im switching from 3rd gear 2 D simultaneously..

btw im a hypermilers, :biggrin:

Wow! From 165/60/R14 to 195/55/R15 is 7.04% bigger in diameter. Got enough power to move??
Even 195/50/R15 is 3.89% bigger.

hmm there is no confirmation for that info?
this sat im going to take sportrim with off+35.
i dont want to buy sportrim that will cause me problem in future
somemore its pretty expensive so its hard for me to change to other rims.

hmm there is no confirmation for that info?
this sat im going to take sportrim with off+35.
i dont want to buy sportrim that will cause me problem in future
somemore its pretty expensive so its hard for me to change to other rims.

I think offset +35 will hit fender. You can either use smaller or lower series tyres.
If hit a little of the fender, then can try to knock the inside of the outer fender upwards....

I think offset +35 will hit fender. You can either use smaller or lower series tyres.
If hit a little of the fender, then can try to knock the inside of the outer fender upwards....

so what is the best offset bro?
if 35 hit fender
then what is the minimum offset i can go with without rubbing the fender?

so what is the best offset bro?
if 35 hit fender
then what is the minimum offset i can go with without rubbing the fender?

As mentioned, smaller number is further out, therefore try to look for offset +40.
As bro. madman mention his colleague use +40 without problem hitting fender.
Even though only 5mm difference but play a very important amount....