What MTB to get with a budget of RM1,500

Oh ya..those disc rotors....cross drill ones...my bro's bike also like that...he retrofitted the ones at the rear....

---------- Post added at 06:54 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 06:53 PM ----------

bro ur brother spent 1.5k or 15k for his bike? i have a friend that spent 16k only for the bike. not include accessory...

I go back and ask him but he's not coming home this few days because preparing SPM....

Oi! All kena poison ah?! Lol! Senawang a bit far and the retail price quite high. Maybe go there got discount issit? As for second hand bike got to think about it la. So tired of second hand stuff. Car second hand house also second hand. My find something new. Oh 14-15kgs for the Raleigh? Ya lo the expensive bikes are lighter. I guess the price says it all. My heart say buy beginner bike but my backside itchy say go for one that don't need upgrade in future. Dang!

Yala, kena poison by you adi...make me feel like getting one LOL! But also not more than 1.5K :biggrin: Still is not cheap :banghead:

Hmm I have not thought about venturing into off road yet but may try if I have the opportunity. Furthermore by going off road I need to transport the bike which I read somewhere it's illegal unless you get it approve by JPJ. I may try out and if I really like the sport then only will I spent a bit more.
If indeed I have to spent more, care to elaborate on which part? Say for example like frame or something else? Yes, I'm aware that the bike needs to suit my body geometry. If you say that I need to start saving more, how much do you think it's enough? I also gather putting together parts are cheaper than buying a whole bike?

If you are not going off road and for leisure ride, any cheap bike will do. If you would really want to go off-road, then I would suggest borrowing a reasonable good MTB to try it out. Some like off-road riding, some like road riding. Don't make it like buying a Kancil, start upgrading to make it perform better but you could only squeeze so much from it.

For that kind of price, forget about full-suspension frames. I would recommend saving about RM3k. Here is for a budget layout:
1. Frame - Reasonably good aluminum full sussers should be ~5k just for the frame. Get a good aluminum hard tail frame (usually Alu 6061 or 7075 aircraft grade) instead which you can get for ~RM500 from eBay. There are also carbon fiber, titanium frames, etc. Frame must come with brake disc tabs.
2. Gears (front/rear derailleur, crankset with bottom bracket bearing, cassette aka rear hub gears/cogs, chain) - Shimano or S.R.A.M. gears, source this online too. Start of around ~RM700 and above.
3. Wheels - Plenty of choices from ~RM400 and above. You don't want cheap ones that would dent or not stay true when going off road. Need to make sure that it is brake disc compatible as that is the way to go.
4. Brakes - very crucial part of a bike if you are going off roading. The days of rim brakes are over. Now days people use cable or hydraulic disc brakes (mineral or Dot4/5.1 fluid) with sintered/semi-metalic pads. Around ~RM500 and above for a good set.
5. Saddles + seatpost - this can come cheap. You would want a good and comfortable saddle preferably with a recess channel running through the center of the seat to avoid having numb nuts... RM200 and above
6. Front fork - Cheap but good air fork like Suntour Epicon is ~RM700 (which I am using). Good ones by Fox fork which is very reliable and plush with plenty of feature can go above RM2k. Rockshox also ok but not the best.
7. Handlebar + grips + stem - No big deal here, plenty of choices. ~RM200.
8. Tires - cheap ones don't last long and don't offer good grip. Reasonably good ones are around RM100 per pcs and can go higher if you decide to go UST tubeless. Can get tires brands like cars - Maxxis, Kenda, Michelin, Conti...
9. There are other smaller items like pedals, headset, etc.

Not a cheap sport for sure. Road riding is cheap as there is less wear and tear. MTB is more expensive as higher wear and tear due to mud/dirt/sand, etc. So cheaper components would end up getting replaced more often. Need to do some research and ask around to find out more on what to buy. Don't jump in and buy right away. Just like cars, there is no end to spending your money on bicycles too...

Go check out good bike shops like Bikepro and Taman Megah or KSH at TTDI to survey around. There are other shops like Specialzed concept store, etc. Don't jump in and buy right away. Sometimes you can get 2nd hand for a good deal. If you go down south often, you can check togoparts.com for a good deal in their Singapore marketplace.

Besides this all of this, you would need the proper gear for safety like a helmet, gloves and at least a cycling shorts (to ensure you don't get a sore bottom). Cycling shoes can come in later.

Trust me you can fit a bike even into a Kancil without a bike carrier. I've done it before. Usually the police or JPJ won't make a fuss out with bike carriers but sometimes they do. Bike carriers are mostly temporary fixtures on the roof or hatch of the car or even a truck tow ball bike carrier. Be it a branded Thule carrier, etc there is always a risk of the bike falling off or you hitting a barrier unknowingly. I prefer to put the bike in my K-car instead.

My 2 cents... bro
Try a MTB first before spending your hard earned money.

eohl79, thanks for the advise. I think I read somewhere you were stopped by the police and give grandmother story saying you no money this and that but your bike cost RM10k+ right? Haha, I think I will stick to smooth tarmac and some dirt road first. I'm not into racing bike because there are not many safe road around to ride. Might get run over by heavy vehicle. The way I looked at it if I'm frugal with my spending but buying safety gear and attire will set me back another RM400. Oooh.. nearly 2k just to start up.

Hey man, former downhiller and XC'er here. :) Stopped due to studies.

But if you have a budget of RM1.5k, my advise is to go for Giant, Merida, Scott or Kona. What are you planning to do with the bike by the way?

Hey man, former downhiller and XC'er here. :) Stopped due to studies.

But if you have a budget of RM1.5k, my advise is to go for Giant, Merida, Scott or Kona. What are you planning to do with the bike by the way?
Oh nice! Anyway the brand that you mentioned aren't they over my budget? For sure Scott and Kona is over my budget from what I look around. Don't think will be going off road la. Maybe just some tarmac and dirt road but not terrain.

---------- Post added at 08:45 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:43 PM ----------

Ok guys, I know this brand is not famous at all and no one seems to know about the brand but I find that the components fitted to the bike and the frame material being Alu6061 should be ok right?
http://www.rockmachine.us/en/xc-fun/thunder-70.html

eohl79, thanks for the advise. I think I read somewhere you were stopped by the police and give grandmother story saying you no money this and that but your bike cost RM10k+ right? Haha, I think I will stick to smooth tarmac and some dirt road first. I'm not into racing bike because there are not many safe road around to ride. Might get run over by heavy vehicle. The way I looked at it if I'm frugal with my spending but buying safety gear and attire will set me back another RM400. Oooh.. nearly 2k just to start up.
:biggrin: yea... grandma stories.... bike not 10k la but around 5k only. Of all the gears, the helmet is the most important and need to get a proper fitting for it. Knew some people actually died in accident because did not wear helmet. Also my helmet actually saved me numerous times from crashes to banging into a tree branch.

Ok guys, I know this brand is not famous at all and no one seems to know about the brand but I find that the components fitted to the bike and the frame material being Alu6061 should be ok right?
http://www.rockmachine.us/en/xc-fun/thunder-70.html
That bike ok for leisure riding or simple XC riding. Shimano Alivio is the very basic component group set for Shimano. Not really for real off-roading but if go to places like F.R.I.M or oil palm estate fire roads should be ok.

:biggrin: yea... grandma stories.... bike not 10k la but around 5k only. Of all the gears, the helmet is the most important and need to get a proper fitting for it. Knew some people actually died in accident because did not wear helmet. Also my helmet actually saved me numerous times from crashes to banging into a tree branch.

That bike ok for leisure riding or simple XC riding. Shimano Alivio is the very basic component group set for Shimano. Not really for real off-roading but if go to places like F.R.I.M or oil palm estate fire roads should be ok.
Yes, helmet will be first on my list followed by a cycling pants, Damn those tiny seats. Any bigger it will look weird.
Oh Shimano Alivio is the basic ka? Can share what components are reasonable so I can look around more? Are SR Suntour forks good? What should be the base model? Brakes from what I read Shimano is better than tektro right?

---------- Post added at 09:31 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:27 PM ----------

How about this?
http://www.raleigh.my/bikes/bikes-cc.html Click to Elite Pro.
The RRP is that much but outside can get it for RM1,400.

Shimano stuff now starts fro Alivio, Deore, SLX, XT and XTR. Better to get SLX or XT. XTR more suited for racing but not as durable as XT. Also, shimano gear actuation is 2:1 cable pull ratio. S.R.A.M is 1:1. Has its pros and cons. Check shimano out at
http://bike.shimano.com/

About the same thing for that bike. Almost thought was the comp specs was RM1400...

Shimano stuff now starts fro Alivio, Deore, SLX, XT and XTR. Better to get SLX or XT. XTR more suited for racing but not as durable as XT. Also, shimano gear actuation is 2:1 cable pull ratio. S.R.A.M is 1:1. Has its pros and cons. Check shimano out at
http://bike.shimano.com/

About the same thing for that bike. Almost thought was the comp specs was RM1400...
Ok got it will look around somemore since the Alivio will not be suitable for hard riding. Looks like my budget have to go up. Hmmmm. When will it rain money.

Nope, my first bike i got was a Giant. RM1.2k only :) Trust me, a little over budget is worth it. Best not to get those chapalang one, because the sheer weight will make you get tired easily.

Oh yeah, did not answer your other question. SR-Suntour forks are among the cheapest forks around. They are decent performer but the fork lower internal sleeving (they used plastic instead of more expensive machined metal) is not tight enough for the stanchions to my liking. Quite a bit of play. Other than that, go for their air sprung forks. Only draw back is that there are no after market parts (especially dirt/oil/air seals, sleeves, etc) to service or repair the fork. Also, the fork materials are in between durable and fragile.

There are many other brands too like Manitou, Marzocchi, Rockshox, Fox, etc. The best of course goes to Fox shocks. FYI, bicycle front forks and rear shocks can be more complicated and have more features than car/motorcycle shocks. Custom valving, progressive rate, +/-ve air chambers, speed damping, inertia valve, etc...

Disc brakes comes in two flavors: hydraulic (mostly closed system) or cable. Both are equally good but hydraulic has the benefit of having no complications when mud/contamination gets into the cable housing/mechanism. I would go for hydraulic if I can. Shimano disc brakes are mineral fluid based. Others manufacturers usually DOT fluid (4 or 5.1, same with car type). The thing that sets different brands and products apart is usually the stopping power with the same amount applied lever pressure. The other thing that people would look out for is the modulation. Cheaper hydraulics usually behaves like an on/off button. Some find it scary as there is almost no modulation at all. Next, the reservoir for expansion when you start braking hard and continuously - gives consistent feedback and modulation under hard pressure. There are other features too like lever adjustment, modulation control, etc. So choose the best brakes that fits your budget. Can't tell which one is best as I have only stuck to my Avid Juicy since day one.

Another FYI... Giant bicycles are the worlds largest bike manufacturer for both Aluminum and Carbon fiber. They have the worlds most advanced bike building facility. There are lots of other bike manufacturers using their facility for mass bike production. What thing that I respect them for is that they do not rape people with exorbitant bike prices especially their frames. An entry level but good and cheap frame is Giant ATX MTB frame. I am using one right now. Light enough and durable for cross country riding. With shipping it is ~USD200 on eBay (ship from China) within 1 to 2 weeks. If you can affor a better hard tail, go for the Giant XTC which is lighter and nimble.

eohl, thanks the lenghty and patient explanation. i guess i would need to save a bit more for the bike. will keep in mind what you recommend and see how the amount adds up.

turbolover, i'm no MTB expert but u gotta listen to the forumers here. Better save up and then get a good bike. Why? Because we're never gonna be satisfied with what we have. We will always want to upgrade this and that to make it the best. Lol... Same for both MTB and cars.
Good and healthy hobby. Go for it guys.

Bro. eohl79 is the pro on MTB.....I have a very old Le Run by Raliegh, and another 3 from China ones, since we do road riiding only. Yup, altogether got 4 bikes for wife and kids....ha! ha!
Used to ride more like on Sunday to Gasing Hill for our hiking (simple route). To market or to breakfast, but nowadays much less, as the road to Gasing hill got a lot of cars.....:bawling:

---------- Post added at 07:42 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:39 AM ----------

As mentioned you are on budget, and getting a good bike is high cost, so was just a suggestion to buy second hand first....

Rock Machine - Heatwave 70 Looks Good :biggrin:

http://www.rockmachine.us/images/bikes/bike-141/FFFheat7.jpg

So actually, which brand in terms of MTB is the better ones? Is Raleigh good enough?
Well, usually is what we pay is what we get I supposed.

For me, just a ride at the park or somewhere on the road will do.