Recommendations for used car under 25k

humongousgravy

Update: decided not to waste space and open a new thread so I'm going to ask my questions here first.

Update 23 Feb 2013:

Went to check out a '96 Perdana, mechanic's car but from his experience he strongly discouraged me from buying Perdana as he said not only the gearbox, the lower arm and stuff will also kaput often so that made me doubtful. He recommended me to get a Cefiro but that would be much harder to find one in manual right? I've seen some 3000cc Cefiro going for less than 15k so I would welcome some advice from people who have owned this version. I've read that the VQ30 engine is superd and durable? Roadtax would be RM2200 but I was thinking of installing NGV and get power and good fuel consumption too. 25% discount on roadtax too.

Personally I still like the Perdana alot but it just seems like it will breakdown every other month.

Also, I am confused about the e36. I've read that people saying the maintenance is not that expensive and similar to Perdana. Is that true? Yet someone commented here that parts are very hard to come by.

So to summarise:
Perdana V6 manual or Cefiro (2.0, 2.5, 3.0) or maybe, just maybe e36?

Currently using my dad's car but due to some issues he needs the car back so I have to get myself another car. Definitely prefer used ones since I don't have much money.

Some criterias:
1) Manual
2) Daily driven
3) Reliable
4) Reasonably fast ;)
5) can get loan (for govt servant)
6) best be under 25k

Spare parts can be slightly expensive but they have to be quality stuff. I like the coupe look a lot more than the hatchback but it seems a very far-fetched dream for now. I'm thinking about the Putra but I have heard how hot the car is for car thieves. In fact, my friend who drives a Putra was splashed with acid because the guy wanted to snatch his car.

I like the Civic Ferio but are loans hard to get for those cars?

So please advice. I'm all ears. Thanks!

waja manual....rm18k to rm25k u can get a relatively good unit....
powerful n great handling....

bro, u are govern servant rite? better apply for personal loan, lower interest rate compare to 2nd hand car loan.

im using '96 wira 1.8, market price is about 15k, or u can find modded 1.8 with mivec, around 20k. wira sparepart? very cheap one...hehe

cheers :D

if u like Civic Ferio, go get it.. no regrets..

the only thing is $$$..

u can get a personal loan from the gov or banks & buy d car..

i also had a dream to own a sports car.. and i'm very particular about the spareparts price..

1 day i stumble upon a Toyota Levin 2door coupe.. i've sacrifice a lot to own it.. especially money..

and now i'm a proud owner of d car for 8 years now..

no regrets :wink:

I'm not actually a govt servant but my dad is. He is helping me with the application. Anyway from what you guys are saying, loans are always possible, but the deciding factor is the interest rate? So a loan from the govt will be better than a used car loan? Especially for cars that are more than 15 years old?

p.s. D7zul, your words are inspiring. I love coupes but I just the loan might be too hard to get, but maybe... Just maybe... Unless you guys have some ideas? My main problem is I don't have a wad of cash to dump as downpayment.

satria neo lahh bro..handling=best..power=for daily driven it is okay..FC=not bad..design not to old for nowadays

if i were you i asked how much loan can get first...ask both..personal loans and usual car finance...and work from there...

my original eg8 ferio go for 20k...go for personal loan la...

That waja sounds good. My parents have a Waja '02 with auto transmission. Makan minyak banyak though. Besides that is the Perdana any good? Maintenance wise?

Bro, since you are with the government, apply personal loan and take a Civic EG. Can get a decent one with that price.