AE111 2 pot caliper - add weight???

Veloc

Dear toyota users and sifus,

Just want to ask here, what is the extra weight of MR2/Levin GT 2 pot calipers over the standard blacktop single pot ones. Will the weight increase affect handling/comfort significantly due to more unsprung weight at the wheels?

Bought it, and when wanted to fix, now I think twice...

Thank you...

Thanks bro... How about steering response and stuff? Same agility?

insignificant effects on comfort/steering agility/steering response/whatever you're worried about. The stock single brakes aren't that light either FYI. If anything, the enhanced braking offered by the twin pot brakes vastly outweighs any negative effects you're worried they might cause. So, don't think too much and overcomplicate things, just go ahead and do it.. Happy modding bro :)

been using twin pot for the past 1 year show no negative effect,the only effect is now i prefer late braking hehehe:driver:

Toyota's twin pot caliper is a 'Real Pain in the ASS' . Try to get a performance brake pads, and you will understand why i mention my earlier phrase.

If you really need more braking force, just spend slightly more for the VR4 caliper & rotor. The pads are easier to source, and there is many choices you can make do with. My AE111 twin pot with Project U rotors just lying there without the pads. Fed up!

No feel on any differences on handling n weight issue...
slightly affect my friend as later braking than the past,
which scared them sometimes... :thefinger:

km_chew:
as i know Mintye and Ferodo has brake pad for our twin-pot calipers,
there's another 1 or 2 brands which i forget,
our caliper size is so special that the sellers straight know is for Levin once see the shape...

Toyota's twin pot caliper is a 'Real Pain in the ASS' . Try to get a performance brake pads, and you will understand why i mention my earlier phrase.

If you really need more braking force, just spend slightly more for the VR4 caliper & rotor. The pads are easier to source, and there is many choices you can make do with. My AE111 twin pot with Project U rotors just lying there without the pads. Fed up!

May I ask why do you say so? Can please share your thoughts before I go and fix it. Then it will be too late. Appreciate if you can share.

Go for 4 potters..

Racun again :biggrin:... Haiz...

Last time i downgrade from two pot to single pot but using 500degree endless brake pad..now 4pot already...weight..hahaha..why upgrade brake your car more faster rite..so why border on small amount weight increase...

Using standard brake pads, twin pot doesn't stop my car quicker than old single pot. Maybe due to Disc size is similar (since have to grind diameter of the twin pot disc to fit Mcpherson knuckle).
But after use Celica 4 pot, use standard toyota pad also can feel brake more progressive, better control. Since the ST205 disc size is thicker and wider than previous options.

If you want light weight, go for Brembo 4 pot... it weighs less than the stock single pot caliper!
For Toyota twinpot, its actually quite easy to find performance brake pads if you're looking into the right direction.
km_chew, if you're interested to get the pads... I can source it for you. I'm currently using Endless SSY 0-400C pads on my twinpot. If you fancy Project-mu also got (0-500C) but more expensive compared to Endless.

All,
Let me share some insight, as i believe i changes my pads more than anyone i know around me. Kiasu driver here, i brake hard and pussy on the accelerator.

Previous twin pot (AE111) with Project U SCR
1. Yes the normal brake pads is easy to source, but not adequate in braking power for my usage
2. Endless SSS (Cheetah in the blue box), good and solid feel - forget where / who i get it from, lasted 3 short race
3. Unable to order back the same Endless due to EOL or no demand in malaysia, switch to SPK HD Kai by Project U (N1 Racing) - temperature rated 500c and yes this has a slight better feel and it is not easy to distinguish this or the endless is better. Brake fade is nearly impossible for this set. Manage to use 2 sets of this pads within a year and there isn't a 3rd one to order anymore.

Waited for 3 months and i didn't participate in any event due to 'No brake pads' . What a lame excuse!

Now : VR4 twin pot with EBC SGD rotor
EBC DDX Bluestuff : best pads i ever use up to date, starting temperature 0c. -ve side is on the rotor. 2 short race, 2-3mm of the rotor is gone. Didn't experience brake fade at all.
EBC Greenstuff: this is on my spare car with the same caliper conversion. Cracked after 2 track days. Louzy pads!
EBC Redstuff: replacement for the greenie. Ok, better with the same respond as the Blue stuff. I classify this as cheap and good without complain.

well, that is my journey. Since now with Vr4 calipers, any pads i want i can just walk in and buy without the worry of 'No stock'. Bear in mind, there is a slight weight increase over the Ae111 calipers it really affect a little. The car has a little understeer effect 'Only if you can feel it with street tires'.

fuh! thanks bro km_chew...:adore:
good experience and review, not many members willing to write as such nowadays...

it's all in the usage...
for me the 2pot does not really effect the handling...
so far tried EBC Greenstuff but only last 6 months...
now only using Bendix Titanium; but with some groove on the rotor...:biggrin:

im using rvr~evo 3 twinport >1yr, weight issue?? No....even wif ori brake pad.....gud enough for dairy use......never try bfo 4port.....any1 can share the different.......thks alot

No feel on any differences on handling n weight issue...
slightly affect my friend as later braking than the past,
which scared them sometimes... :thefinger:

km_chew:
as i know Mintye and Ferodo has brake pad for our twin-pot calipers,
there's another 1 or 2 brands which i forget,
our caliper size is so special that the sellers straight know is for Levin once see the shape...

Bro, y not look for our lobang king-Mr.AE101 Ivan Wong for performance brake pads, parts & etc...? :driver: