manually using the auto gear

i see...i have seen my frens doin to ther gearbox from lower gear after certain rpm shift to D to make a wheelspin...if my eyes are not wrong.is it a good technic.

Ho ho ho.. that's a very good way to kill the gearbox. Tell your friend if he does it a few more times he'll need to send it in for overhaul.

It's kinda like how some cars with launch control cannot use the launch control more than x number of times, cuz if you do it'll shred the gearbox.

Ho ho ho.. that's a very good way to kill the gearbox. Tell your friend if he does it a few more times he'll need to send it in for overhaul.

It's kinda like how some cars with launch control cannot use the launch control more than x number of times, cuz if you do it'll shred the gearbox.

agreed, it's like u'r surprising someone with heart problem:idea:

dunno he will listen or not...hahaha!

actually with od button your car almost got like 8speed instead of 4speed auto....

because with od off..on 1st,then 1st with od on,then 2nd with od off..later with 2nd od on...then so on untill 4th gear :rofl:

actually with od button your car almost got like 8speed instead of 4speed auto....

because with od off..on 1st,then 1st with od on,then 2nd with od off..later with 2nd od on...then so on untill 4th gear :rofl:

:rofl: bugger u bro :rofl:

Mine only 4 speed auto but with OD, I'm glad I have 8speed, even better than new cars :rofl:
BUT, I can only drop gear 3, 2, and 1 wor...

1 really so far I never really try to drive from 1st gear...tried once, engine roar real loud so stop liao...

SF, can shift up mah...you tak tau how to shift ah...

Tried that before, but some said not much of a difference than stepping straight on the pedal on
Gear D.

But I do feel the difference in pick up but engine roar kinda loud, so didnt do that liao.
Later gearbox pecah hailat, since Auto is not meant to operate like Manual.

SF, you drive in D also start from 1...so even you put in 1st then shift up to 2 by yourself also can mah....scare of gearbox pecah there's a RPM meter for you to see mah... =.='

:rofl: The sound of the engine like it is crying in pain, so made me think twice. nvm, No reason
for me to do that anyway. :biggrin:

180 drop gear should be over redline.....

If I dropped to 3rd gear @180 it should be 7,500rpm which is the max gear shift point and redline point.

---------- Post added at 07:42 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:36 PM ----------

:rofl: The sound of the engine like it is crying in pain, so made me think twice. nvm, No reason
for me to do that anyway. :biggrin:

Maybe you got it wrong, that's an orgasm scream for a harder whack.:biggrin:

2004 Premium EZI.. the OD is on the gearknob itself.

VR4Turbo : Rev limiter less scary that speed limiter. Just today I almost rear ended some dumbass who emergency braked. I was going slow and luckily had new tyres but the tyres locked up anyway. Anyway, red lining was also the way I ran in my rebuilt engine. People say go easy go easy.. I say give it the beans and let those piston rings fit nicely. I think I drove for about 500m keeping it on high revs (redline) on 1st gear. Really loud engine noise and going at a pathetic 60km/h. Then 2nd gear redline for about 500m, then drive all the way back and drain. Damn a lot of metal shavings. :biggrin:

Wah! fast way to run the engine in......:rofl:

---------- Post added at 08:29 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:28 PM ----------

Wheelspin is not really a skill wor....is more like a mistake normally :rofl:

Bald tyres......ahahahahaha:rofl:

---------- Post added at 08:30 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:29 PM ----------

:rofl: bugger u bro :rofl:

Mine only 4 speed auto but with OD, I'm glad I have 8speed, even better than new cars :rofl:
BUT, I can only drop gear 3, 2, and 1 wor...

1 really so far I never really try to drive from 1st gear...tried once, engine roar real loud so stop liao...

It is like steptronic gear mah! Put in 1st, step on pedal look at RPM hit red line, shift to 2nd and so on.....:rofl:

Having driven 3-speed autos and 4-speed autos all my life (except for the first 2 years of my driving life - that one manual) I can safely say the only real way to kill an auto-gearbox is to launch everytime from "N" to "D" at 4000rpm. The gear will suddenly bite and all that force needed to turn the wheels and all that will go to the gearbox.

Loud noises, rev limiters, overheating, running without ATF (almost), wrong ATF type, I've done it all. And the buggers are still alive and kicking. Even the venerable ancient 3-speed Proton GB is a tough old bird. 4-speed Kelisa can take a thrashing. It's the 4-speed Wira 1.6 that'll die pretty fast with the wrong ATF.

And honestly - SF is right. Want to kick down? Floor the accelerator. No need to shift shift shift.

Having driven 3-speed autos and 4-speed autos all my life (except for the first 2 years of my driving life - that one manual) I can safely say the only real way to kill an auto-gearbox is to launch everytime from "N" to "D" at 4000rpm. The gear will suddenly bite and all that force needed to turn the wheels and all that will go to the gearbox.

Loud noises, rev limiters, overheating, running without ATF (almost), wrong ATF type, I've done it all. And the buggers are still alive and kicking. Even the venerable ancient 3-speed Proton GB is a tough old bird. 4-speed Kelisa can take a thrashing. It's the 4-speed Wira 1.6 that'll die pretty fast with the wrong ATF.

And honestly - SF is right. Want to kick down? Floor the accelerator. No need to shift shift shift.

I thought the power goes through the torque converter first?
Haven't tried it yet, but my friend mentioned can put in D, step of the brakes with left leg, then step on accelerator to bring up the revs, then let go of the brakes....:rolleyes:

Wah! brother, you were on a mission to kill the auto box? Problem is people don't want the box to die will die. You try to kill the box but it won't die.....hahahahaha:rofl:
Yah! the 4 speed Wira box had a lot of issues. Many repaired/changed also at my mechanic's place.....:banghead:

Have been driving autobox for 3 years and still cursing :motz:every now and then. I'm missing my manual stick.:joyman::bawling:

I thought the power goes through the torque converter first?
Haven't tried it yet, but my friend mentioned can put in D, step of the brakes with left leg, then step on accelerator to bring up the revs, then let go of the brakes....:rolleyes:

Wah! brother, you were on a mission to kill the auto box? Problem is people don't want the box to die will die. You try to kill the box but it won't die.....hahahahaha:rofl:
Yah! the 4 speed Wira box had a lot of issues. Many repaired/changed also at my mechanic's place.....:banghead:

Well... that's true. Torque convertor first but doesn't apply for the more modern GBs mah. That method of revving with the left foot brake and letting go doesn't do anything. Well, on my 3-speed auto anyway. All it did for me was rev real high and you can feel the wheels wanting to move, let go the brakes and then it'll act like you gradually accelerated. Only way to wheel spin is N--->D while revving high. Tried both methods. Hehe..

Aisay, wasn't on a mission to kill the auto, just that having driven auto for so long it just got boring. :biggrin:

The 4-speed wira GB is actually quite a good GB. You just need to very very careful to use the right oil and never play wheel spin with it. It's kinda fragile and can't take a beating but it's a great cruiser gearbox

Well... that's true. Torque convertor first but doesn't apply for the more modern GBs mah. That method of revving with the left foot brake and letting go doesn't do anything. Well, on my 3-speed auto anyway. All it did for me was rev real high and you can feel the wheels wanting to move, let go the brakes and then it'll act like you gradually accelerated. Only way to wheel spin is N--->D while revving high. Tried both methods. Hehe..

Aisay, wasn't on a mission to kill the auto, just that having driven auto for so long it just got boring. :biggrin:

The 4-speed wira GB is actually quite a good GB. You just need to very very careful to use the right oil and never play wheel spin with it. It's kinda fragile and can't take a beating but it's a great cruiser gearbox

Okay, thanks for the info. In future I get into another time attack trial with Auto, will do that...ha! ha! Not my car anyway, all should be rental ones....:driver:

That is the problem, Wira is well known as a work horse car. Many use by sales personnel and probably most get abused too....:banghead:

Nice to do wheelspin for once but then, from N to D as mentioned will kill the GB leh, maybe I'll just try once or 1 day before the car is sold :rofl:

So far, I was in my friend's Jazz hybrid, by just flooring the pedal suddenly, it will wheelspin awhile.
Just Gear D, not from N or anything.

Nice to do wheelspin for once but then, from N to D as mentioned will kill the GB leh, maybe I'll just try once or 1 day before the car is sold :rofl:

So far, I was in my friend's Jazz hybrid, by just flooring the pedal suddenly, it will wheelspin awhile.
Just Gear D, not from N or anything.

Wah! the power assist from the electric motor so powerful?

About the kickdown thing...this is my personal experience...human vs computer..

if you put into D and floor the pedal to get the kickdown...there's a lag because now majority of the cars is DBW...and the lag in DBW will cause the kickdown to delay. Tested in few different cars...same result with the kickdown..lag, lag, lag and nothing more then lag before the it can kickdown.

When I put into + - or paddle shift it's all different. shifting up and down is now controlled by the driver. You take away the lag between the pedal and the gearbox.

so there's a different. Difference is in the respond time.