Choice of Project Car

hi bros...anyone know if still possible to get a loan for following cars below? or what are the criteria for loan? as in age of car not more than 15 and usually what is the margin of finance? Also would like to know what are the expected road tax and insurance premiums assuming i don't have any discount.

- eg6 20+ yrs old, price ard 40k
- starlet gt 20+ yrs old, price ard 30-40k
- toyota Supra 15-20yrs old, price ard 90-100k
- GTR 33 80-100k 15-20yrs old, price ard 80-100k
- evo 7 10+ yrs old, price ard 90-100k

Correct me if i'm wrong but cars above 20 years old are usually the hardest or nearly impossible to get loan from banks in Malaysia. Some would opt for personal loan. Even if you do have good connections, it still is hard. I suggest you go and compare car loans (and possibly personal loans) from different banks at their respective websites. To add, there are two types of car financing, either Islamic car financing or the conventional financing. Also, try and talk to some bank officers to get a rough idea and compare the pros and cons of loans offered. Not all questions can be answered via web.

Insurance depends on the car's age and what premiums are available depends on the insurance company. As for road tax, not sure if they had made any new changes but this was around 2009 / 2010. Should give you a rough idea of how much does it cost.

http://www.jpj.gov.my/c/document_library/get_file?uuid=ef8fefc9-2a29-4814-a5bf-9af71905636c&groupId=10157

nevermind then. how about yours? how much hp did you manage to pull out from it? must be a lot as well :adore:

As most say the project can go as far as the $$$ takes you, so mine is actually standard only. Just engine and whatever needed transplanted, so roughly is 200bhp only....:rolleyes:
Extra went to suspension and exhaust setup....:driver:

BLM using proton made gearbox or came from other manufacturer?
Myvi's chassis really sucked that badly? Can't do anything to improve the handling like changing suspension, tyres and stuff?
I'm not sure what gearbox manufacturer, that one have to ask bro TitanRev :rofl:
But a friend tried to trash the persona gearbox, no matter how he do it, the gearbox still
seems fine :rofl:

After reading a few posts, aiyak a lot into altezza. Rather than price go down suddenly price goes up after election due to ZTH members keep mentioning the mods and possibilities of Altezza :rofl:

I haven't driven BLM / Saga FLX but I've driven a MyVi and seems it is kinda light when taking corners. Maybe I'm used (and possibly spoilt) to my good ol 100 SEG when taking corners feel solid lol. I'm not sure if its the chassis design, the weight, the aerodynamics. But one thing for certain, our roads are a NIGHTMARE.

Speaking of turtle, saw once a Honda City went turtle on a corner around Cheras area on Mex area. Best part, City langgar City but sadly one of them went turtle. Must be a gruesome fight :rofl: Also saw another honda city in KL went over the pavement and into the bushes at Jalan Kinabalu heading to Bank Negara from Jalan Kuching. Even the tow truck guys were scratching their head as to how the city ended up there. If the driver overshoot, confirm went into Sungai Klang and the drug addicts would be like "damn, this is an awesome drug". :rofl:

*Both city are the latest honda city models*
But if u test drive the FLX, you find FLX handling or even saga blm handling better than Myvi
in stock.

ha! ha! teaching bro. Sf how to burn his GB......:rofl:

Ya, how nice of a friend this Izso, teach me to burn GB and burn pocket and also the possibility
of having a blown engine for an 8 years old car :banghead:

Most impressive thing is, this fellow is using the stock 1NZ-FE engine and tuned it to that much of power. What a fortune that he had spent on this engine. With that much of $, i guess he could have got himself some other turbo cars like Evo 3, Galant VR4 or GC8. Why vios? Die hard fan of vios?

Ah.. manual 1NZFE 500bhp Vios is... still mad. Freaking mad.

Personally, I have huge respect for this Vios owner. I personally would love to go all the way with my Hero. Screw the $ spent! Personally when I think back to the $ spent on my Hero, I think I could easily have swapped my car out for a Camry. Not exactly a diehard fan of Proton Wiras, just only this particular Wira. You know what I mean? So maybe it's the same for this Vios owner.

I wasn't driving the BLM, was driving the Corolla :rofl:
Putting to 1st Gear, engine roaring sakit hati la. I need to push down to gear 2 to
gain pick up :rofl:

Yes, like u said is AUTO, later my GB letup due to heat :rofl:
Engine not so good condition la, dare not push it too much as advised by my mech before.
Need to overhaul. Start to makan engine oil if using fully syn.

Hmm.. Altis ka? Engine not good condition? Why la? Go fix it already man, a 1.8L should struggle that much. And I don't understand the whole "engine roaring" thing. Mine screams everyday at least twice a day. If you don't trash it that way then why bother having such a high RPM meter? Might as well change it to a Rolls Royce RPM meter - max (redline) 4k rpm.

I dunno about Toyota gearboxes, but Proton auto slushboxes are pretty hardcore. If you don't mod ridiculous amounts of power and use stock or slightly more modded engine the gearbox can take the punishment. CVVT is the only exception though.

Myvi's chassis really sucked that badly? Can't do anything to improve the handling like changing suspension, tyres and stuff?

If you have a look at the rear crossmember, it's a "H" shape with the torsion beam going through the center of the "H", it's quite weak at the rear. Overly stiffen with ARB that locks onto the crossmember and arm, you run the risk of tearing the anchor points (has happened before!) and torsion beam strengtheners like the Passo one, are.... not that effective. They work to some extent - but "some" is the keyword here. Not going to outcorner a Wira.

The other thing is Myvi is almost as wide as it is long, more so the new Myvis since they are 6 inches shorter than the older Myvis. Very unstable and kinda high center of gravity.

Bottom line - if you have shit loads of money to mod it then it'll work with loads of custom parts. But if you're not loaded and want to mod it with just the available aftermarket stuff then you're better off getting a 2nd hand Satria 1.6 and modding that. Otherwise just drive the Myvi like how Myvis are driven!

I remember seeing a lot of Myvis on their side during one of the earlier GRA sessions. It was quite hilarious seeing them turn that hard, even with adjustables.

I've also seen a supercharged + turbo charged hardcore myvi. I have no bloody idea how he tuned the car but wahlauwehhhh

ha! ha! teaching bro. Sf how to burn his GB......:rofl:

No la. That won't burn his GB. Want to burn AT very easy je... rev to 5k rpm in neutral, then just throw it into "D" and LAUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUNNCH *piak* <---that would be the sound of your synchros or clutchplate or something breaking.

As most say the project can go as far as the $$$ takes you, so mine is actually standard only. Just engine and whatever needed transplanted, so roughly is 200bhp only....:rolleyes:
Extra went to suspension and exhaust setup....:driver:

Then the engine should be more reliable if you din't mod it too much. At least you have reliability even though you have less power. 200bhp is still fun to drive and is higher than usual cars standard power.

I'm not sure what gearbox manufacturer, that one have to ask bro TitanRev :rofl:
But a friend tried to trash the persona gearbox, no matter how he do it, the gearbox still
seems fine :rofl:

But if u test drive the FLX, you find FLX handling or even saga blm handling better than Myvi
in stock.

Ya, how nice of a friend this Izso, teach me to burn GB and burn pocket and also the possibility
of having a blown engine for an 8 years old car :banghead:

From what you said, these new proton car gearbox seems to be quite well made. I only heard before that Preve is using Getrag gearbox. The rest of those not rebadged proton models, I'm also not sure what gearbox they use.

Ah.. manual 1NZFE 500bhp Vios is... still mad. Freaking mad.

Personally, I have huge respect for this Vios owner. I personally would love to go all the way with my Hero. Screw the $ spent! Personally when I think back to the $ spent on my Hero, I think I could easily have swapped my car out for a Camry. Not exactly a diehard fan of Proton Wiras, just only this particular Wira. You know what I mean? So maybe it's the same for this Vios owner.

Hmm.. Altis ka? Engine not good condition? Why la? Go fix it already man, a 1.8L should struggle that much. And I don't understand the whole "engine roaring" thing. Mine screams everyday at least twice a day. If you don't trash it that way then why bother having such a high RPM meter? Might as well change it to a Rolls Royce RPM meter - max (redline) 4k rpm.

I dunno about Toyota gearboxes, but Proton auto slushboxes are pretty hardcore. If you don't mod ridiculous amounts of power and use stock or slightly more modded engine the gearbox can take the punishment. CVVT is the only exception though.

If you have a look at the rear crossmember, it's a "H" shape with the torsion beam going through the center of the "H", it's quite weak at the rear. Overly stiffen with ARB that locks onto the crossmember and arm, you run the risk of tearing the anchor points (has happened before!) and torsion beam strengtheners like the Passo one, are.... not that effective. They work to some extent - but "some" is the keyword here. Not going to outcorner a Wira.

The other thing is Myvi is almost as wide as it is long, more so the new Myvis since they are 6 inches shorter than the older Myvis. Very unstable and kinda high center of gravity.

Bottom line - if you have shit loads of money to mod it then it'll work with loads of custom parts. But if you're not loaded and want to mod it with just the available aftermarket stuff then you're better off getting a 2nd hand Satria 1.6 and modding that. Otherwise just drive the Myvi like how Myvis are driven!

I remember seeing a lot of Myvis on their side during one of the earlier GRA sessions. It was quite hilarious seeing them turn that hard, even with adjustables.

I've also seen a supercharged + turbo charged hardcore myvi. I have no bloody idea how he tuned the car but wahlauwehhhh

No la. That won't burn his GB. Want to burn AT very easy je... rev to 5k rpm in neutral, then just throw it into "D" and LAUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUNNCH *piak* quote]

I get what you mean about your Wira. I know the feeling of getting very fond of a particular thing that you owned(does not include every model of that thing but just the particular one that you owned only). Then I guess your Wira is really a very well set up car then. I wish I can see how it looks like. Your avatar pic is too small for me to see it in details :biggrin:

:confused: getting technical about suspension is still confusing to me. I need to learn more from you guys. For those supercharged+turbo myvi owners, maybe they brake until 20-30kmh when they take on corners? :rofl: You look at them zoom past like lightning on straight road but when approaching corners, suddenly slow down like tortoise or else really turn turtle.

No la. That won't burn his GB. Want to burn AT very easy je... rev to 5k rpm in neutral, then just throw it into "D" and LAUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUNNCH *piak* quote]

Not sure man, just advise me not to push the car to its limit. Maybe like he said time to overhaul.
But so far car not much of a problem, no white smoke just makan engine oil at times especially
fully syn type. Smell from the exhaust is quite strong when idling.

Ya shouldn't be a problem but did try to rev up to 5Krpm above start to hear some knocking
when going up genting.

Just like I don't drive up to 240km/h so no need to remove speed cut :rofl:

Rolls Royce until 4K rpm and yet loaded with so much power?

Talking about wira, saw one yesterday who was trying to intimidate a bodykitted myvi with
its loud exhaust after the toll booth at LDP.

Seems all noise but no go, totally got left behind by that myvi, I think that myvi is stock.
Really tin kosong sounds louder...:rofl:

---------- Post added at 11:47 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:32 AM ----------

Then the engine should be more reliable if you din't mod it too much. At least you have reliability even though you have less power. 200bhp is still fun to drive and is higher than usual cars standard power.

From what you said, these new proton car gearbox seems to be quite well made. I only heard before that Preve is using Getrag gearbox. The rest of those not rebadged proton models, I'm also not sure what gearbox they use.

I get what you mean about your Wira. I know the feeling of getting very fond of a particular thing that you owned(does not include every model of that thing but just the particular one that you owned only). Then I guess your Wira is really a very well set up car then. I wish I can see how it looks like. Your avatar pic is too small for me to see it in details :biggrin:

:confused: getting technical about suspension is still confusing to me. I need to learn more from you guys. For those supercharged+turbo myvi owners, maybe they brake until 20-30kmh when they take on corners? :rofl: You look at them zoom past like lightning on straight road but when approaching corners, suddenly slow down like tortoise or else really turn turtle.

If not wrong I think, FLX also getrag gearbox, Neo not sure. But yes, at least better than
those CVT gearboxes which always never fail to breakdown.

Same like I fond my corolla no matter what, just feel like upgrading it then add on some
new clothes for it.

If not wrong I think, FLX also getrag gearbox, Neo not sure. But yes, at least better than
those CVT gearboxes which always never fail to breakdown.

Same like I fond my corolla no matter what, just feel like upgrading it then add on some
new clothes for it.

CVT gearbox got not much potential to mod also. Overload it with torque, then bye bye to the gearbox and there will be a big hole in your pocket as well.
Your corolla is altis model? The earlier model or the new one with cvt gearbox?

CVT gearbox got not much potential to mod also. Overload it with torque, then bye bye to the gearbox and there will be a big hole in your pocket as well.
Your corolla is altis model? The earlier model or the new one with cvt gearbox?

Mine is 2005 Altis. Not the dual vvt-i model. Old car.

I see. Possible to do engine swapping like Sentra? Imagine 4A-GE Black top on your altis. That time sure got enough power to go uphill. haha. High revving altis tearing the roads during genting uphill. :top:

Cannot la later the pot will come in and say that I'm 101% black since I went tearing the roads
:rofl:

If put in 4AGE, i'm gonna lose out to SEG with 4AGE due to power to weight ratio :rofl:
The best option is 2ZZ-GE :top:

Cannot la later the pot will come in and say that I'm 101% black since I went tearing the roads
:rofl:

If put in 4AGE, i'm gonna lose out to SEG with 4AGE due to power to weight ratio :rofl:
The best option is 2ZZ-GE :top:

Pot using high power turbo car with 4WD, of course cannot mess around with that using NA lor.

Yeah, some more SEG is using manual gearbox 2ZZ-GE is the one inside the lastest Celica right?

Pot using high power turbo car with 4WD, of course cannot mess around with that using NA lor.

Yeah, some more SEG is using manual gearbox 2ZZ-GE is the one inside the lastest Celica right?

Yes, the A/T 2ZZ is just better than 1ZZ-FE but then is not powerful enough to go against
SEG 4AGE especially manual. Only the Manual 2ZZ is worth the price. But very rare.

Got one for sale and yet just in 2 days the 2ZZ-GE 6 spd manual was sold. 6spd has high demand

Yes, the A/T 2ZZ is just better than 1ZZ-FE but then is not powerful enough to go against
SEG 4AGE especially manual. Only the Manual 2ZZ is worth the price. But very rare.

Got one for sale and yet just in 2 days the 2ZZ-GE 6 spd manual was sold. 6spd has high demand

You mean gearbox for sale or engine+gearbox for sale together? Find manual celica la if want to use manual.

Why la change engine change engine.. don't change la. Make the engine bay very cramped and it's much less gratifying. It's satisfying to change, but gratifying to mod existing engine.

Since your Altis is due for a rebuild, source for larger pistons, rebore and reinsert a new liner, PNP the head and lighten + balance everything. The stock GB should be able to take these minor mods but the performance difference can be felt. Stock looking car with off-the-scale performance is the best! Oversize valves, skim the head until left 1mm. Hmm.. I wonder if 1jz pistons can transfer over

You mean gearbox for sale or engine+gearbox for sale together? Find manual celica la if want to use manual.
Yes, the engine is from Celica GTS 6 spd manual, unless take the 2zz from XRS and other models
that have 2zz-ge engine. Toyota Fielder is also one of them.

Why la change engine change engine.. don't change la. Make the engine bay very cramped and it's much less gratifying. It's satisfying to change, but gratifying to mod existing engine.

Since your Altis is due for a rebuild, source for larger pistons, rebore and reinsert a new liner, PNP the head and lighten + balance everything. The stock GB should be able to take these minor mods but the performance difference can be felt. Stock looking car with off-the-scale performance is the best! Oversize valves, skim the head until left 1mm. Hmm.. I wonder if 1jz pistons can transfer over

I read up a forum before about switching pistons. a type of pistons that cost as much as Rm10K few years back but able to obtain up to 190hp which is the same hp as 2zz-ge engine.
So, back then was thinking, if it cost the same, might as well transplant a 2zz-ge.

Rebuild engine not cheap leh...yet with modification parts.

1JZ pistons can masuk? All i remember was some kind of performance pistons for 1zz-fe.
Need to get GT Auto's advice then :rofl:

Proton Auto gear box, I know the Perdana SEi and I think was the older Wira 1.6 4AT ones are not good...:banghead:

---------- Post added at 03:39 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:37 PM ----------

Yah! standard will be more reliable. Boost more add more strain to the engine.....