1st and foremost, do some research on which terms or car parts you do not understand about. Cos if you don't know what parts are going into your car, foreman's can con you. They would say it'll make your car go faster etc but actually the parts are fake or spoilt etc and would cause more problems rather than solving it.
from start of this bolt on turbo trend until now, i believe it should not cause any unreliability if in safe range; not boosted above 0.5bar.
Set your mindset in transforming your ride into something more fun with extra push, but it will not be a racing engine / sports car etc. Bolt on turbo is cheap nowadays, with 10k u can even ue it for supporting mods.
i believe overhauling your engine with some good port and polish job will ensure everything runs fine for a long time. after that the only weak point to look for is your auto GB. can it hold up?
totally agree with meltan, u got to have some knowledge on what stuff goes into your car, how it roughly works out. all those unnecessary / additional cost can sum up to quite an amount sometimes.
wat else have u done to the car? suspension? brakes etc?
if absolutely stock... u should put aside around 4k just for suspension and brake upgrades before doing the bolt on turbo etc.
and highly recommend to convert to manual... that alone with ur stock engine will definitely give u a significant performance increase.
As said by the experienced motorheads above, first and utmost important thing that matters when modding a car is based on setting the mindset. Below will be the guide:
if u r strict in what u want, unlike me, then for just increase of power (i believe thats what u meant by "increase engine speed"), u can stick with auto gearbox and go the NA route, even if u thinking of changing to manual later. (manual gb isn't a ticket to F.I)
why not turbo charge? a turbo charged NA car is not gonna yield so much power for a sohc 1.6. the ratio of money spent:power yield would be so saddening. Those used BOT kits u gonna get online would be POS, i seen many of them. 10k is more than enuff to BOT a NA car. but to build a reliable one, u would spent all the money, if u dont mind, but i guarantee you it'll be a reliable one (sadly yes, not worth it)
last but not least, if u dun mind spending money for BOT, welcome to the wonderful world of F.I
I'm a proud owner of drag satria turbo.
BOT- bolt on turbo on a NA car.
F.I - Forced Induction aka turbo-charge
POS - piece of shits
gb - gear box
NA - naturally aspirated
google what is turbo charge, what is NA tuning. read more before deciding, u got all the time in the world.