DIY: Fabricating Ground Cable

In this guide I will show you guys how to DIY some ground cables for your car. You can choose to buy ready made sets from shop but it's more fun if you can make them yourselves save you the extra bucks and get to know your car more.

What you need?
1. Cables
The cable is the important part. You need to buy pure copper cables as higher copper % better conductivity. The Sizing is up to you and you also need to take into consideration is the cable easy to work on. On my case, I didn't buy the cables from shops. The cables I got was salvaged from a broken down heavy industry use AC motor with 20hp 415V 3 phase 3000rpm @50Hz. I took the cables off from the motor since I notice they were good stuff.

2. tools you need.

3. Materials
Cable lugs (in the pictures are 25mm cable lug with silver coating)
Heat shrink tube
Some size M6 bolts & Nuts (Optional if you need to add new extra earth point)

Step 1
Measure the distance that you going to put your DIY earth cable, then cut the cable to the length.
Slip the cable lug over the un-strip cable to measure how much insulation to strip.

Step 2
Strip the insulation off the measured line

Step 3
Slip in the cable lug and crimp it down with a wire crimper or a playar (best is to use crimper but I left my crimper at the office) if you use playar please crimp the wire a few more times to ensure that it is tight. You can even use a hammer to hit the end of the playar which is crimping on the cable lug. IF you like you can also heat the cable lug up with a solder gun and put in some iron solder to add grip to the cable and the lug.

Step 4
After finish crimping the lugs on both end, slide in the heat shrink tube, you can choose to put the heat shrink over the lug and the wire or the whole cable which I did. Now to make the tube shrink you need a heat gun or a hair dryer or you cooking stove (gas type with fire). For me I use my wife's saloon type hair dryer set it to max speed and max heat this will make the tube shrink and it's damn hot.

Step 5
This is the final product. It's pretty easy to make and fun to make

This is where I wire the DIY earth point. The black cable running along the fuse bot to the firewall (that's not my horn or my alarm siren I also have no idea what is that for..Hahaha) from the battery negative terminal.

I've only wire 2 cables at this time 1 as in the picture another 1 is from the alternator housing to the car body. After doing this, I can felt the reduce of throttle lag from the DBW system. Not placebo effect it actually reduced because I timed my leg on the gas and the respond of the engine. I did this on my Mitsubishi Grandis and I've also did this on my FLX.

So enjoy the DIY

Ground terminals are attached with the body so I understand there is always static.
Do you know how to reduce statics?
They say use the car key when you are stepping out of the car but i still get statics. :banghead:

stupidcar, that one I'm not sure I think that static is due to our clothes we were that builds up the static when we walk due to friction with air. I don't get static on my car though

Thats the problem. I think my car's problem. Some cars doesn't do this alot.

My car seat is leather, mostly if fabric seat that you will have the static. Same case with my other car. I've tried a few times with my other cars that have leather seats no static. My theory is due to the rubbing of our shirt or pants with the fabric seats. Seats are made from polyester which will have static.

Uncle, :adore: thank you thank you....:love:

My car seat is leather, mostly if fabric seat that you will have the static. Same case with my other car. I've tried a few times with my other cars that have leather seats no static. My theory is due to the rubbing of our shirt or pants with the fabric seats. Seats are made from polyester which will have static.

Uncle, :adore: thank you thank you....:love:

Adoi, everytime I kena. Very shocking.

wanted to ask, the grounding wire, connected to positive or negative?or dont even matter at all?

---------- Post added at 03:38 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:38 PM ----------

wanted to ask, the grounding wire, connected to positive or negative?or dont even matter at all?

---------- Post added at 03:38 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:38 PM ----------

nmgh :stupid:

lolz, coz i attached my grounding cable from positive terminal to the body of the car, later will go and change it, lolz

persona?
i drive persona also everyday kena karan when stepping out the car.:biggrin:
other car only sometimes.

---------- Post added at 05:45 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:41 PM ----------

lolz, coz i attached my grounding cable from positive terminal to the body of the car, later will go and change it, lolz

no electric shock ka/ fius burn?:biggrin:

kazukimy, negative la. You ground + to car body dangerous wei..after the car will get burn down....lucky nothing happen wei....when you do that time no spark meh when touch the car body sure got spark one...

If got static, before you take the petrol nozzle, make sure you touch your car body with your hand 1st. Let the static off your body.
It will cause accidental ignition on the petrol. 1 of the warning they tell us before pumping petrol.

If got static, before you take the petrol nozzle, make sure you touch your car body with your hand 1st. Let the static off your body.
It will cause accidental ignition on the petrol. 1 of the warning they tell us before pumping petrol.

You don't TFK aka fap before you go pump petrol then mai safe loh....who tell you go fap already in the toilet go pump petrol....sure spark come la then kaboom:thefinger:

U can find static remover strip seller in LYN. Not sure if it is effective though. If you want to have an effective static arrestor, mount a small metal chain to your car body, hanging just few cm above the ground. Current will flow through that chain into the ground. This method is being used by oil lorry tankers to eliminate static.

But please don't hand those rubber strip at the rear bumper there...it was the trend back then....uglish...

Later you become like ur avatar...

Stupidcar, means ur not planted in ur seat snuggly while driving, time for full bucket seats!

Bro, grounding is negative la. You can opt to ground your connections to the negative terminal of the batter or to the car body. Either way it'll work.