Planning to get BMW 118i ..

aprilstucked

Does anyone here wanna get BMW 118i sport series like me ? Well, I read about the speed and spec all. This is my first time fond of a sport car.
But seeing the price of RM190k, I feel hesitated now. With my salary of RM 7k per month, am I fit enough to own this car ?
I currently single and only commitment is my house and car loan.
Sharing is caring. My dream car speed prformance.
BMW 118i Sport Performance: Peak power of 170hp at 4,800rpm from same 1.6-litre engine; peak torque of 250Nm at 1,500rpm-4,500rpm
(Top speed = 222kph; 0-100kph = 7.2 seconds; same fuel consumption and emissions as 116i)

RM7k before or after deduction of EPF SOCSO TAX bro.? If RM7k after deduction then it MIGHT be fine.

Very little BMW for a lot of money. Why not a used 335? Way more BMW for the cash

i think your salary is sufficient to own the BMW118i sport series lah! although will be quite hard for you if plus the other expenses, yet it is still possible. btw, the maintenance fee for this car is real high, and the car value depreciate very fast one, the second value is low.
for me, i wont go for such luxury car la unless got enough money lo. but i would rather choose to invest on property ler.

Does anyone here wanna get BMW 118i sport series like me ? Well, I read about the speed and spec all. This is my first time fond of a sport car.
But seeing the price of RM190k, I feel hesitated now. With my salary of RM 7k per month, am I fit enough to own this car ?
BMW 118i Sport Performance: Peak power of 170hp at 4,800rpm from same 1.6-litre engine; peak torque of 250Nm at 1,500rpm-4,500rpm
(Top speed = 222kph; 0-100kph = 7.2 seconds; same fuel consumption and emissions as 116i)

Do strike a balance between owning your dream car & stressing yourself out every month with the instalments, annual insurance & routine maintenance.

Car value depreciates greatly especially the first few years, unless your are 100% sure you can keep it for a long time else if you want to sell later, the selling price may not be able to cover your loan amount.

How much you intend to pay for D/P or how much of loan you intend to take? If not mistaken, monthly repayment > 1/3 of salary would be quite hard to get approval.

Don't be hasty.. even you can pass the loan, you will not be able to enjoy your car and other things.. because of the tight budget, you will drive slow to save fuel (which means you won't be enjoying the ride).. then skimp on spending on quality things (like using cheap tints, cheap chinese tires etc.)

Get a cheaper car as a start (say, a used Mk6 Golf GTI with few yrs warranty left).. work harder and in 3-4 years time, you might be able to buy 125i instead.. more oomph!

can i ask whether do u hold any Citibank credit card now?? if yes, then u can win the BMW from the contest which they are currently running. firstly, enroll yourself online or via SMS. this is their website: https://www.citibank.com.my/english/promo/cardwidecampaign/index.html?icid=BN2_CC_HM_CARDWIDECAMPAIGN_191113 must read all the T&C first!
then just spend regularly with your Citibank credit card during the contest period, swipe RM50 with your card to get the ticket. The more transaction u got, the higher chance to get more tickets la!
then u can stand a chance to win a BMW 118i Sport Line, OSIM uInfinity Massage Chair, Samsung GALAXY Note 3, American Tourister 25" Spinner and cash voucher. awesome prize huh

Don't be hasty.. even you can pass the loan, you will not be able to enjoy your car and other things.. because of the tight budget, you will drive slow to save fuel (which means you won't be enjoying the ride).. then skimp on spending on quality things (like using cheap tints, cheap chinese tires etc.)

Get a cheaper car as a start (say, a used Mk6 Golf GTI with few yrs warranty left).. work harder and in 3-4 years time, you might be able to buy 125i instead.. more oomph!

A Scirocco 1.4 TSi would also be nice.

With RM7k salary. Get a JDM car instead of german. Unless you have an alternative transport(superbike, low cc car) and keep your bmw as weekend car. If its daily driven your going to suffer with a tight budget.

saw your post at BMW Msia forum.
yeah go for it bro.....if you have done your calculation watsoever go chase your dream.
bmw is not that expensive to own, provided u have the knowledge bout the engine, parts & workshop u need to go to.

parts u can get your own, get it replaced at your regular workshop, but must only be BMW specialist, not those other workshop that does continental cars, they are not specialist.

many ppl complaint that bmw is high maintanance cos when it breaks down they just send it to workshop, kena chop by the owner, recieve the reciept, pay & chow then complaint expensive bla bla bla.

of course la expensive. u must have the passion to own a beemer not just buy to get u from point A-B.
i choosed a beemer over a camry why? be cause its the "ultimate driving machine" :biggrin:

That is expensive for 1.8 liter engine...I read a good 1'er should be 130i & above which have power & fun to drive....best is M135i but might as well go for E92 335i where price is around your budget...much more fun & can beat M3 too if modded...but if want to mod this car, ur salary won't enough heheh....heck, honestly RM7K/month will get u on the edge if you driving a beemer coz when it sick, you will also feel sick haha

this is the contest ticket that u mentioned ? just got it after swiping rm50 and above. so far collected 3 tickets. but im more anticipating the 10,000 units of prizes la..
http://img198.imageshack.us/img198/4429/e8c5.png

Jealous of this Mr. Foo ( previous winner for citi contest ) won this BMW Z4S4! Hopefully I can win in next contest!
http://img560.imageshack.us/img560/7215/41rp.jpg

Many Citi bank promoters here....Last time my wife help a friend to reach quota by applying for Citibank CC, but her application was rejected by Citibank without reasons. After that she told me not to accept any card or hold any bank accounts with them....hahahahaha:biggrin: