Wira absorber

i think my boss got the early batch of that actual wira SE i guess.... 2001 or 2003 i forgot what year he bought that new..

without gt wing
auto vdo
extractor
lower ride
that chrome tail muffler
all 4 disc
front gti style arb

totally 100% for now.... i think i want to poison him getting the proride yellow suspension to replace the worn out oem stuff..and poison him change into 15" wheel

*i remember in KL autoshow at pwtc ....the very first proper autoshow in malaysia i guess...that wira SE is among the spotlight from proton booth....

and i get to sit in the TAKATA JGTC NSX :driver: :biggrin:

mine is a 2004 made Satria SE manual, i suppose it carries the same feats in a Wira SE correct? not sure if its a first batch. things i first noticed was the rear brake discs and interior trim, really had no clue that the springs, extractor and exhaust setup were unique too. it doesn't have ABS and airbag, so confirmed not first batch d :dontknow:

speaking of the ARBs, did all manual SEs come with both front n rear ARBs? also one more question, the suspension for SE, is most similar to which model of car? :itsme:

Yours has rear disc brakes? Nice.

All Wiras came with front ARB. Only certain ones came with rear ARB. Auto all don't have the ARB for 1.5 and below, not sure about 1.6 and 1.8. Wira SE manuals earlier batch had rear ARB (16mm) and front was 20mm (I think.. or was it 22m? forgot)

The Suspension for SE was similar to the Satria GTI one. Except the front absorber spring seat is lower in the Satria GTI.

Yours has rear disc brakes? Nice.

All Wiras came with front ARB. Only certain ones came with rear ARB. Auto all don't have the ARB for 1.5 and below, not sure about 1.6 and 1.8. Wira SE manuals earlier batch had rear ARB (16mm) and front was 20mm (I think.. or was it 22m? forgot)

The Suspension for SE was similar to the Satria GTI one. Except the front absorber spring seat is lower in the Satria GTI.

awesome! guess i'll have to go under the car tmr to find any existing rear ARB and measure the front one :proud:

does lower spring seat mean, assuming i can install gti coils+dampers on my se, it will fit but ride lower than a stock se set?

I dont know which batch is mine or whatsoever. mine is a manual wira se a/b 1.5 that came with front and rear arb, only front came with discs(but i converted all 4 sides with discs), 4-2-1 extractor, s-flow muffler(but no chrome tip), n yes as bro izso said it rusted. not sure about the material though. The interior is all black. The car looks lowered. No abs and airbag. :driver:

awesome! guess i'll have to go under the car tmr to find any existing rear ARB and measure the front one :proud:

does lower spring seat mean, assuming i can install gti coils+dampers on my se, it will fit but ride lower than a stock se set?

The spring seat is the part of the absorber the spring sits on when it's assembled together. On the GTI, the front springs are quite tall so the lower spring seat isn't an issue. If you use the Wira SE one it'll drop the front of the car quite a lot. Just fyi, I scraped every bump I ever came across because of this setup.

And the rear height is the same for all Wiras so front low back high = tonggek and it's fugly, handles like shit and quite a nuisance.

I dont know which batch is mine or whatsoever. mine is a manual wira se a/b 1.5 that came with front and rear arb, only front came with discs(but i converted all 4 sides with discs), 4-2-1 extractor, s-flow muffler(but no chrome tip), n yes as bro izso said it rusted. not sure about the material though. The interior is all black. The car looks lowered. No abs and airbag. :driver:

Sounds like your batch was one of the 2nd last. The final batch didn't come with anything except muffler and 16" rims. Keep those front springs! Precious commodity bro! :biggrin:

The spring seat is the part of the absorber the spring sits on when it's assembled together. On the GTI, the front springs are quite tall so the lower spring seat isn't an issue. If you use the Wira SE one it'll drop the front of the car quite a lot. Just fyi, I scraped every bump I ever came across because of this setup.

If you mean the seat is set lower, doesn't it loosen the spring compression? (more space in between top mount and lower seat) Long ago, most cut springs which is a no no, so I tried lower the spring seat so I can lower the car without cutting the springs. Boy, was I wrong. The spring tension became weak. In a flat straights is nice, car lowered handle pretty well, but come to windy and uneven road (uneven here means the road wavy up and down). Doing higher speed when road is down the car follow and due to weaker compression it compress and go further down until max then when road is up, the car is thrown upwards, the springs opens. Due to the weaken compression the springs cannot help the absorbers damp the ups and downs and so it was riding a horse. After one week I re-seat back to original place......hhahhahahhaha:biggrin:

finally after 6 years of abuse....

my satria hwl adjustable front right side leaking....all other 3 still working good...

-due to nature of my place where got roundabout and massive potholes on all route of my area...this is considered really good...almost like ori OEM quality worrr....

-only changed 2 front oem top mount (absorber mounting) since installed new 6 years ago

(my scooby only 1 year already all 4 pillowball topmount kong and 1 absorber leaking badly as comparison...this one is full set tein)

MALAYSIA BOLEH!!! :biggrin:

If you mean the seat is set lower, doesn't it loosen the spring compression? (more space in between top mount and lower seat) Long ago, most cut springs which is a no no, so I tried lower the spring seat so I can lower the car without cutting the springs. Boy, was I wrong. The spring tension became weak. In a flat straights is nice, car lowered handle pretty well, but come to windy and uneven road (uneven here means the road wavy up and down). Doing higher speed when road is down the car follow and due to weaker compression it compress and go further down until max then when road is up, the car is thrown upwards, the springs opens. Due to the weaken compression the springs cannot help the absorbers damp the ups and downs and so it was riding a horse. After one week I re-seat back to original place......hhahhahahhaha:biggrin:

Does it feel like a boat? :biggrin: hahahah anyway you bring it to engineering shop to mod the spring seats?

stock absorber stock spring seat height + stock springs. Nothing wrong with the setup. Just wishy washy.

You go and play short springs with normal absorbers then sommore lower the spring height even more using lower spring cup/seat - sure la

Does it feel like a boat? :biggrin: hahahah anyway you bring it to engineering shop to mod the spring seats?

Flat straights ok woh! Uneven up and down then mati loh.......hhahahhahaha

My mechanic right hand did for me. Grind out and re-weld.... :biggrin:

Flat straights ok woh! Uneven up and down then mati loh.......hhahahhahaha

My mechanic right hand did for me. Grind out and re-weld.... :biggrin:

i used to have "potong" springs at the rear of my car....i kinda get what you meant hahahah :rofl:
Wow your mechanic have welding machine in the workshop, niceee :biggrin:

And the rear height is the same for all Wiras so front low back high = tonggek and it's fugly, handles like shit and quite a nuisance.

Sounds like your batch was one of the 2nd last. The final batch didn't come with anything except muffler and 16" rims. Keep those front springs! Precious commodity bro! :biggrin:

Sure, will keep it....

i used to have "potong" springs at the rear of my car....i kinda get what you meant hahahah :rofl:
Wow your mechanic have welding machine in the workshop, niceee :biggrin:

Mechanic situated in Light Industrial area. Last time I switch suspension the bottom nut got free space, so go over to engineering shop, did two sets washer to tighten it up.....:biggrin:

I mean keep it if you're looking to lower your car the OEM way. Or sell it for good money for the same reason

Its an old spring..around 7 years..can still be used?or is it something like springs rarely get faulty?

Mechanic situated in Light Industrial area. Last time I switch suspension the bottom nut got free space, so go over to engineering shop, did two sets washer to tighten it up.....:biggrin:

Ahh i see, where is your mechanic shop located? was it expensive to fabricate the washers?

Remember was RM60 for 4 pieces. Slightly bigger then 50sen coin, about an inch thick, best of all is awkward shaped so I think worth the money....:driver:

Thats about the price, yeah awkward shaped things definitely worth it ...nowadays more expensive for some simple thing...last year when im converting to manual, fabricate one cone to support the firewall and clutch cable adjusting screw that part also cost me 100+:banghead: