How to Detail your Engine Bay (Basic)

hi, i would like to ask. In my case, I got alot of grounding cable and voltage stabilizer. It is ok if i just proceed without wrap those things? thanks

Is the car ECU in engine bay or passenger compartment? If in engine bay, wrap that up too.....

Uncle VR? :hmmmm2: :biggrin:

Nice thread but dun have the tools to try yet...just never dare to spray water
at the engine...

Uncle VR? :hmmmm2: :biggrin:

Nice thread but dun have the tools to try yet...just never dare to spray water
at the engine...

Yup, in AW forum, where most know me well, will call me uncle.....hahahahaha

Jap cars especially and all cars that have the ECU in the passenger compartment can safety wash the engine bay. Usually take care of the spark plugs, spark cable and distributor (if any).

Need brush and degreaser only. Whether petroleum based like kerosene or water base degreaser. Water base is best nowadays, as after application can just hose down....

Nice tutorial. How often to perform this?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

aku tadak berani spray my engine... later sensor kaput... habis saya

If ECU is in passenger compartment then no problem. If in Engine compartment then take real care...:thefinger:

I also don't dare spray my engines, especially my Mark X. Even if ECU is inside the cabin but if some sensors or electrical got short then might impact the ECU so I don't want to take any risk.

My Hyundai, Chery SUV and VR all gets their engine cleaned.......:biggrin:

I had bad experience before with my first Lancer 4G67 when the ECU suddenly got fried. We suspect because the engine was sprayed when my dad's driver took it to a car wash.

Easier to take care since dirt and dust din't have time to accumulate. Just wipe with wet cloth. :biggrin:

That one not considered engine cleaning, engine wipe down......hhahahhahahha:rofl:

That reminds me years ago, I think before you were born, the guard at my company, during night shift nothing much to do so he cleans his car. Engine part he soak a cloth with kerosene and wipe. Real squeaky clean......lol

Kerosene can be harmful/damaging certain plastic parts in the engine bay.

For me, I use WD40, removes dirt easily, repel water, and it gives abit of shine in the engine bay. but now WD40 price has gone up.....haih....

Kerosene can be harmful/damaging certain plastic parts in the engine bay.

For me, I use WD40, removes dirt easily, repel water, and it gives abit of shine in the engine bay. but now WD40 price has gone up.....haih....

That was those days long ago. WD40 also oily will attract dust to stick.
Best to detail with water base engine wash, then rinse with water. Wipe or then let dry then prep with Vinyl dressing on the plastic and rubber parts. This will give nice shine.....:biggrin: