Pros and cons of engine braking?

Thanks. Need to figure out a way to do it with the unevenly aligned pedal first. Or I should try adjusting my seating position too because I find it a bit difficult to twist and turn my right leg because I kept on bumping into the steering when I try to do so.
There's no specific seating position for H&T, as long as you are in a conducive position for regular driving, you can execute H&T.

In H&T, the brake pedal is depressed as per normal braking operation so if you are touching the steering, something is wrong imho

You have a video?

Sent from my SM-N9208 using Tapatalk

There's no specific seating position for H&T, as long as you are in a conducive position for regular driving, you can execute H&T.

In H&T, the brake pedal is depressed as per normal braking operation so if you are touching the steering, something is wrong imho

You have a video?

don't be intimidated, sometimes it just looks fast on video
H&T can be done in a slow and peaceful way as well.

great, good to know you've made progress. Now, all you need to do is add the extra braking step with your rev matches, good luck and do update us here

yeap..totally agree with tom...

H&T can be used in any driving condition...race,trackday,spirited drive, and even leisure slowly-peacefully driving condition....

the more relaxed driving speed, the more fluid and smoother movement needed...

if u can do it during relaxed driving smoothly, then in fast pace driving it will become second nature...

and most important...always braking while in straight line....if u find yourself braking while in the corner that means the entry speed was too fast....that would lead to more problem or hazard (if understeer happens)

Agree with Pomen, when try. Should relax. Currently I try, at near cornering. Arghh... my rythm turn to rojak. Hahahaha....
Back to practice.

this morning otw to work. I try to relax as possible. Here got express way, less car as i work at 7am.
At least for starting, i try to get my own preference for heel & toe movement.
Renesis, wira quite spacey for my size. But i use 350mm steering. Stock steering too big, yup it touch my knee.
back to work...hahahaha

You have a video?

Due to uneven height of my pedals, I guess it is difficult to do it if I din't brake hard enough. Maybe I'll take a picture of how it looks like later.

Agree with Pomen, when try. Should relax. Currently I try, at near cornering. Arghh... my rythm turn to rojak. Hahahaha....
Back to practice.

Your pedals are stock or?

this morning otw to work. I try to relax as possible. Here got express way, less car as i work at 7am.
At least for starting, i try to get my own preference for heel & toe movement.
Renesis, wira quite spacey for my size. But i use 350mm steering. Stock steering too big, yup it touch my knee.
back to work...hahahaha

I'm still using stock steering.

Here is how the steering is bumping to my leg when I'm sitting. Perhaps I should try to adjust the seats more backwards? Also this is a picture of the uneven pedals. The brake and throttle pedal only gets evened when I applied more pressure to the brake pedal.

• DSCF0841.jpg
    DSCF0841.jpg
    140.4 KB · Views: 93
  • DSCF0850.jpg
    DSCF0850.jpg
    120.4 KB · Views: 90
  • DSCF0846.jpg
    DSCF0846.jpg
    94.3 KB · Views: 94
  • DSCF0847.jpg
    DSCF0847.jpg
    78.1 KB · Views: 91
Pedal from gsr also. Position ok.
I open my leg to compensate the steering wheel. Sifu, think straight...lol
Try to use more on ankle movement.
How to maintain the floor mat position?? Always moving around.

Pedal from gsr also. Position ok.
I open my leg to compensate the steering wheel. Sifu, think straight...lol
Try to use more on ankle movement.
How to maintain the floor mat position?? Always moving around.

I see. I'll try and adjust my seats and leg position later while driving. See how it goes.

Here is how the steering is bumping to my leg when I'm sitting. Perhaps I should try to adjust the seats more backwards? Also this is a picture of the uneven pedals. The brake and throttle pedal only gets evened when I applied more pressure to the brake pedal.

Your steering cannot adjust higher some more ya? Or if cannot, it seems like the base of your seat is too close for your height, maybe you should move it back more but then make the back support of the seat more upright hence your hands can still reach the steering properly.

You need to tidy up your carpet also, in the photo seems like distracting the gas pedal there.

Both of them are tall....lol:smokin:
Wira I remember cannot adjust steering height one....:banghead:

I'm also 6'ft tall but when I was driving my 4G93 Lancer CB (which should be the same as the Wira chassis), my knee was still quite free, surely not touching the steering like that. But yeah the Lancer can adjust the steering height but I'm pretty sure I did not set at the highest position too, maybe even the lowest actually.

mine one, set to max on wira. hmmm....i got extra flab/fat/oil too....hahahaha:smokin:
anyway, i already get my preference movement. Can sikit sikit heel-toe but sometimes also miss the pedal. :banghead:

Your steering cannot adjust higher some more ya? Or if cannot, it seems like the base of your seat is too close for your height, maybe you should move it back more but then make the back support of the seat more upright hence your hands can still reach the steering properly.

You need to tidy up your carpet also, in the photo seems like distracting the gas pedal there.

6ue5t, my wira floor mat also like to move around. wont stay in one place. No one face this ah ?
Any solution ? :adore:

I guess you can say that you are not unskilled, just the car couldn't match up with your skill. Now, did you try again doing it on your Saga?

Looks like I need to go and search for Senna's video to learn.

ehh nono.... not saying skilled or not... just trying to say that the pedal placement makes a huggge difference... really really big dif. cant remember which was very low on the saga... (kereta tu dah lama jual dah) kept trying over and over, eventually gave up~~

6ue5t, my wira floor mat also like to move around. wont stay in one place. No one face this ah ?
my mat has hole in it which hooks up to a hook on the carpet.

random idea... why not try tie it down to the seat rails? usually the mat slides away from you anyway....

Hmm do you use the thin plastic/rubber carpet? Maybe change to thicker heavier materials so not as easy to move around, also the bottom part of the carpet should have some studs to add friction to the base carpet. Other option is to stick a velcro underneath! :biggrin:

Floor mat easy loh! Change to those rubber band type. Ask accessory shop cut to size then no more running....hhahhaha
Of course make sure those have studs under the mat. Some go supermarket but those welcome mat no studs at the bottom sure will run around one.....:biggrin:

yes, always move to front. i use those cheap carpet, hahaha. cut from big rolls.
tight to seat rail and velcro. sure stick.
Use before black rubber floor mat. Look like a case to retain water, debries..etc....the groove stuck to shoe movement. :banghead:
Unless drive auto, is fine.

Floor mat easy loh! Change to those rubber band type. Ask accessory shop cut to size then no more running....hhahhaha
Of course make sure those have studs under the mat. Some go supermarket but those welcome mat no studs at the bottom sure will run around one.....:biggrin:

yes, always move to front. i use those cheap carpet, hahaha. cut from big rolls.
tight to seat rail and velcro. sure stick.
Use before black rubber floor mat. Look like a case to retain water, debries..etc....the groove stuck to shoe movement. :banghead:
Unless drive auto, is fine.

Even if custom cut to fit the shape, it will still move around if the materials is too light. I'm actually using custom cut carpet that I bought from ACE and cut myself. The materials actually decent, not that thin but still move a bit. But my original carpet from my car has the holes to hook the carpet to the base carpet so they will never move, plus the materials are very thick and has rather high friction bottom. I put the additional carpet from ACE to protect this original carpet so they won't get too dirty and damaged by my heels.

Use velcro will be easy to take out when need to clean it provided the velcro can stick strong enough to the carpet. I've never tried it myself too. :biggrin: If tied to seat rail then more troublesome to open the tie and retie later.

My carpet with studs don't move....the rubber mat type, when old will harden slightly will start to slide slightly.....lol

It is already at its highest position. Just now while driving, I tried a different approach on stepping the brake pedal. Instead of the pressing it with my toe area, I placed my foot further up and used the middle area of my foot to apply the brakes. Almost like how Tom did on his video. Somehow, this is easier for my heel to reach the throttle pedal but because I'm still not used to braking in this way, braking is still not so consistent yet. I should try on this method more and see how it goes.

Thanks for the tip on tidying up the carpet. I did it and it looks better now. Feels easier to press on the throttle too but I haven't tried driving the car yet after doing so.

Here is how it looks now. And also a picture of the steering position.

attachment.php

Both of them are tall....lol:smokin:
Wira I remember cannot adjust steering height one....:banghead:

Mine can adjust.

ehh nono.... not saying skilled or not... just trying to say that the pedal placement makes a huggge difference... really really big dif. cant remember which was very low on the saga... (kereta tu dah lama jual dah) kept trying over and over, eventually gave up~~

my mat has hole in it which hooks up to a hook on the carpet.

random idea... why not try tie it down to the seat rails? usually the mat slides away from you anyway....

So, your Saga had become a bottleneck for you. :biggrin:

• DSC00815.jpg
    DSC00815.jpg
    78.9 KB · Views: 230
  • DSC00818.jpg
    DSC00818.jpg
    73.1 KB · Views: 229