Buying advice for Evo and Impreza

Modern FF cars quite scary in terms of handling. Things like the Megane and the FD2R.

True but in terms of acceleration and putting big power to the ground, ultimately FF is still inherently much more limited and the weakest layout compared to AWD & RWD.

I owned a STi and regret did not go for s series impreza or the spec c series..I can't give you the answer of the comparison between S204 and the evo 3..get a professional to check..i would recommend to check in AE glenmarie if you are getting the s series..subaru will cause a lot of issues if not well maintained.. s series is the best impreza in terms of comfort and power..

bear in mind..recently the carbon seats was sold at 16k..so..if you want to get the s series..make sure you parked your car at a very secure place..

Buy nice car scare this and that....really terrible.....:smokin::rolleyes:

We are living in boleh land..so bear with it..even proton's emblem or kancil's rear wiper can be stolen.. :)

Myvi antenna oso ppl will steal....
Honda City viper arm cap oso biasa kana stolen....

Now, imagine 16k carbon seats.....:biggrin:

No wonder S204 price rarely drops a lot unlike those standard STI. Now the price gap between standard Version 9 and S204 seems to be getting bigger.

Modern FF cars quite scary in terms of handling. Things like the Megane and the FD2R.

True but in terms of acceleration and putting big power to the ground, ultimately FF is still inherently much more limited and the weakest layout compared to AWD & RWD.

Most people hardly access 90% of their car's potential on the road and New-gen FFs today have superior mechanical grip unlike those of before. It is also nimble unlike AWD cars.

Stock to stock, it'll be quite impossible to beat a Megane RS with say an Evo on road or track to be honest.

So Modern FF > Old 4WD

Having said that, modern AWD are lightyears more advanced today like in the Golf 7R or even the AWS + AWD 991.2 C4S.

In this case, Modern 4WD > Everything

Most people hardly access 90% of their car's potential on the road and New-gen FFs today have superior mechanical grip unlike those of before. It is also nimble unlike AWD cars.

Stock to stock, it'll be quite impossible to beat a Megane RS with say an Evo on road or track to be honest.

So Modern FF > Old 4WD

Having said that, modern AWD are lightyears more advanced today like in the Golf 7R or even the AWS + AWD 991.2 C4S.

Maybe but my point is the potential of the AWD layout even in the older cars are much higher than any FWD of today in terms of feeding them more power, so that's where the AWD layout still has the advantage even in older cars. CMIIW.

Most definitely. Just a couple of weeks back I was in a drive where there was a Version 9 STI RAR and a flashed Megane RS. The RAR probably had over 350hp and simply trumped the Megane at the exits and straights at the Klawang hills.

So It really depends what the OP want. To contain 400hp or to access all 300hp

So Modern FF > Old 4WD

But I believe the potential limit that 4WD or RWD can achieve is much higher than FF. Sure, it is hard even for some 4WD cars like Evo to beat a Megane RS provided if both are stock. But we have witnessed the potential of how much faster an Evo is able to go from the results of TTA like the yellow ST Wangan Evo. Even the modified Megane RS or Civic FD2R couldn't come close to the figures achieved by that Evo. If I am not mistaken, the top results are all dominated by 4WD machines like Evo, STI and GT-R.

That being said, I did notice that more Evo seems to be setting a faster lap time than STI despite the similarities between both cars. Why though? Does that mean that STI had a lower potential limit than Evo?

simply just look at the number of performance parts available here locally for both car...

which one is lesser option to choose from....

with unlimited money...possibility is endless :driver:

simply just look at the number of performance parts available here locally for both car...

which one is lesser option to choose from....

with unlimited money...possibility is endless :driver:

So, this is a geographical matter then. Less parts availability and probably less tuning experts for Subaru cars... I actually thought it is perhaps the EJ20 boxer engine is not able to hold as much power as Evo's 4G63T.

In head-to-head tests between brand new stock Evos & WRXs of the same year/generation, most of the time Evos were able to lap quicker, mostly due to the handling. Note also the stock Evo torque peak happens at about 500-1000 lower rpms than stock WRXs for about the same amount of peak torque, so that may also contribute to quicker lap times. But if you're talking about mods then it's open ended coz depends on how smart you tune and how much money you have. If you're looking for outright raw power potential if really maxed out with no budget limit at all, I've seen videos 4G63T producing almost 2000HP, not sure about WRX engines though if also able to reach similar outputs.