boost drop while accelerating..

renxun

wat happened? my car was boosting 1.4 normally and just now when i was boosting i felt my powerband came down so early... even at around 5k rpm towards d 6k rpm mark b4 i shift and then i noticed tat my boost was droped frm 1.4 bar to 1.2 bar while accelerating...

so i shift and press again ... it went up to 1.4 bar and it went back down to 1.2bar.... wat happened? im using hks evc1 with trust waste gate...

my car running on 1jz and t70 turbine...

wat could possibly happened?

im not using actuator.. t70 has no actuator... running on wastegate..

bro..try check any vacuum hose from your intake hose,maybe got small cracks.i experience this b4,my hose that connect from head cover to intake manifold got small leakage.after changing the hose,everything goes normal.try first bro.
btw what car you are driving?

im driving a 1980 toyota corona with 1jz inside...maybe i can go try .... my fren say alot of possibilities.. some say my HKS EVC1 is like tat one la... and say my intercooler piping clamps din tightened enuff....and some say my wastegate break la.... aiyo.... but i try d vacuum stuff there first lor

renxun : should be the EVC , come on , EVC1 is sooo old
by now its selenoids would be in its age to go off

0.3bar small diffrence
i used to get 0.5bar diffrence hehehe 1.bar i get 1.5bar then its scary

evc1 as wastegate setup its diffrent from actuator setup
u know that right ?

jinkl said:
renxun : should be the EVC , come on , EVC1 is sooo old
by now its selenoids would be in its age to go off

0.3bar small diffrence
i used to get 0.5bar diffrence hehehe 1.bar i get 1.5bar then its scary

evc1 as wastegate setup its diffrent from actuator setup
u know that right ?

i dun get wat u mean as wastegate setup is diferant frm actuator setup? isnt it the same..? the evc solenoid output direct to the wastegate... signal came frm intercooler hose and another is somewhere to the throttle body there...wat is d corect setup?

most pl get boost spike on evc 1 but how come i get boost drop? changed d vacuum hoses to silicone type .. still same..

yup...true also got many possibilities,also pls suspect your bov,maybe bocor already.
sorry of topic here:btw renxun..where r u staying?kl?last time got play bike ar?kips?u sound like i maybe know u ler.

yes.. i play kips last time... then i change to thailand cbr400,lagenda and lately the gsxr400...

my BOV impossible bocor la... bought brand new greddy soft hard sound adjustable some more is the biggest i could find for my car application......im still waiting reply for my question...

btw may i know u are..????

wah!now layan turbo already la....ahahaha!!damn kaw2 engine u put lor.
yes i know u,come la we lepak2 like old times.ehehehhe!!!now diff abit,we lepak not as a bikers,now we talk bout cars k?
if u still me remember me la,im staying in shah alam,last time my precious is aprilia RS250.remember me?

u can check this pictures

external20waste20gate.jpg

wastegate.jpg

i use setup 2 , it has a better stability
evc 1 , im not sure since cant find the manual

*sorry to pinjam picture from other member, credits to u man

gotcha raja.. u are acap... hahaha... wei .. i lost my hp and i lost ur contact number le.... maybe we can minum together cuz im transfering tis car to sabah for a battle there on begining of feb... have to get everyting prepared...PM me ur contact la.

normality : for external wastegate , the purpose they put the two nipples
is for u to use it :P , one is to insert the stock boost , one more nipple is to use boost controller and regulate it.

renxun : this are the picture i got from the EVC manual , hope it would help
u may see that the PICTURE 1 is the setup for ACTUATOR
http://img142.imageshack.us/img142/9583/evcly4.th.gif

below are the instruction for WASTEGATE setup

http://img167.imageshack.us/img167/8355/evc2se3.gif

http://img296.imageshack.us/img296/4206/evc3cw3.th.gif

renxun said:
gotcha raja.. u are acap... hahaha... wei .. i lost my hp and i lost ur contact number le.... maybe we can minum together cuz im transfering tis car to sabah for a battle there on begining of feb... have to get everyting prepared...PM me ur contact la.

ya...its me! pls contact! my number is 012-6670813

flushafteruse said:
fuhh...how long u 2 lost contact??......huhuhu lol

ahahha!!long2 time ago la,last time both of us playing with bikes!mat rempit!.....
now both of us gila turbo already!ahahahha!!!we still a speed freaks!
Renxun..next time if u planning to go for drifting pls gimme a call k?then teach me how to drift!im planning to sell off my satria la,looking for pukul belakang punya kereta.then we can together gather side by side around corners ma!..

i got another question to ask jin..

btw my boost drop issue was settled... i check the wastegate and found out tat upper cover 3 out of 5 allenkeys was loose and not tightened well...tightened it.... and my wastegate tapak also still can be tightened.but i remove it and use exhaust sealant gum and retightened the ting including my exhaust housing just behind my turbo..did the same..tightened the wastegate spring a little bit...changed all vacuum hose to samco and do the setup as per diagram... but i do noticed that the changes of boost controller of hi become lo and lo become hi scenario...

i did pop up a question tat y cant we just terbalik kan the hose connection in at the wastegate? for example when i was connecting the "out" to the wastegate i plug in at wastegate outlet 2 like actuator setting... but as diagram i need to plug the "out" to outlet 1 and then give boost to the outlet2 of my wastegate? can i maintain my "out" at outlet 2 and give boost to outlet 1instead so that my boost controller wont have the terbalik setting ..... i tried b4... but seeems my car boost all the way to above 1.4bar all the way.....

pls enlight me on tis... now my setup as per diagram.... only ting is im not too comfortable with the setting of my evc of low become hi ...

hi renxun,

i am driving a 1jz too. From my observation there are a few possibilities :

1. like some of the bro here said, leaking vacuum hose.
2. Leaking Manifold hose
3. Leaking BOV. Original 1jz comes with BOV. or if u have aftermarket BOV, take it off.
4. if this just started to be a problem, it might be your turbine efficiency is out already, need to send for dynamic balancing. I suppose it is a twin turbo with 2 units of CT12.

JinKL... a properly setup of wastegate be it manual or electronically should not give more than 0.05 bar spike. If it does, you need a bigger wastegate.
if you need my help, call me at 012-7177082
ciao

renxun,

changing the solenoid polarity is easier. positive to negative vice versa.

fatty