Diesel turbo want install blow off...can??

David_KIA-Racing

My Sorento diesel 2.5 CRDi Turbo wanna try install a blow off valve...

but i wan install replica SQV...:X-:
i got asking some workshop,i know HKS got SQV special for diesel turbo,but so exepensive.

So wanna asking can i mod the taiwan made SQV to my diesel turbo baby??

thx...

• index.jpg
    index.jpg
    4.5 KB · Views: 190
y not?
sabah here like plenty of them... hilux turbo 2.5, heck, even Land Cruiser 4.3 turbo oso got...

already discussed , please SEARCH for the thread
diesel constantly needs pressure in its intake. u cant fix a bov

average modern petrol engines are capable of running between 6-9,000rpm and this cause the turbocharger to spin at very high speed. blow off valve is used to release unwanted pressure that could destroy engine internals.

on the other hand diesel engines operate at a lower speed with their torque output peaking at between 2-3,000rpm.

thus, not needing such thing as blow-off or wastegate valve.

you still can install them for shiok sendiri factor. not much use though...

I hear a lot of RapidKL buses in town emitting a "ke-cchhhiiuuuu" sound whenever they lift off the gas. Is that aftermarket fitted? The drivers seem to enjoy doing it very much.

diesel engines do not have throttles i dont see the use of BOV installed.
the BOV sound could be air brakes, air is let go from the compressor to prevent overcharging the air brakes.maybe.

I hear a lot of RapidKL buses in town emitting a "ke-cchhhiiuuuu" sound whenever they lift off the gas. Is that aftermarket fitted? The drivers seem to enjoy doing it very much.

ahaha this one really blow off liow... last time i took the double dacker bus to singapore... then i lepak with the bus driver... always hear the sound "kepishhhh" sound when he change gear.. so i ask him le, the bus got turbo izzit, why got blow off sound one... then he say got turbo.... wahhahaha... so i dono la, which is which...

all buses and lorries using air brakes will emit this kepish sound... it functions just like BOV to release unwanted pressure in the system.

problem is why is the sound is produced only when shifting gears?

i know lorries release pressure when it is stationary.but the sound is nothing like a BOV sound.
only BOV sound-a-like i've heard is the RapidKL bus.hehe..

the pressure is released at a preset status and that does not matter whether the bus/lorry is moving or stationary.

the kepish noise is similar because
1) the design and concept is similar between the two
2) they both released presurrised air...thats why the sound is same