Engine Oil...

chinozie

Very Young Member... :D
http://www.castrol.com/liveassets/bp_internet/castrol/castrol_malaysia/STAGING/local_assets/images/products/passenger_car_engine_oil_castrol_gtx_malaysia_375x180.jpg

Castrol GTX is a newly developed, high quality mineral engine oil using the latest additive technology. It is engineered to protect your engine under all driving conditions including rapid acceleration, high-revving and stop-start driving. Castrol GTX provides continuous, round the clock, protection that never quits.

Benefits
# Special anti-wear chemistry to protect against engine wear
# Unique dispersant chemistry to protect against engine sludge
# Extra film-forming chemistry to ensure a continuous protecting film
# Extra detergency to protect against piston deposits
# Maintains engine in great condition and controls oil consumption

Applications
Castrol GTX is recommended for use in all gasoline engines. It is specially designed for vehicles that are used under a wide range of different driving conditions.

Performance Levels
Castrol GTX meets the following specifications:
SAE 15W40
API SL/CF

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

http://www.castrol.com/liveassets/bp_internet/castrol/castrol_malaysia/STAGING/local_assets/images/products/passenger_car_engine_oil_castrol_magnatec_malaysia_375x180.jpg

Castrol Magnatec, a part synthetic engine oil, is a breakthrough in engine oil technology. With normal engine oils 70% of wear occurs during start-up and warm-up because the traditional anti-wear additives are too cold to function effectively. Castrol Magnatec’s Unique Molecular Attraction (UMA) chemistry provides a complete and continuous film of protection during start-up and warm-up and dramatically reduces start-up and warm-up wear. Castrol Magnatec provides protection from the moment you turn the key.

Benefits
# Dramatically improved protection from start-up wear.
# Dramatically improved protection from warm-up wear.
# Maintains excellent wear protection also at high temperatures.
# Reduces engine wear by over 50% compared to conventional oils.
# Ensures engine performance is maintained.
# Ensures that oil consumption is kept to a minimum.

Applications
Castrol Magnatec is recommended for all modern gasoline and diesel sports and family cars where the best in engine protection is demanded. It is specially formulated for vehicles that are frequently used for short trips.

Performance Levels
Castrol Magnatec meets the following specifications:
SAE 10W40
API SL/CF
ACEA A3-02, B3-98 Issue 2
Mercedes Benz 229.1
VW 505.00

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The questions are :

Q1 > which one is better for 20V ?

Q2 > from magnatec, can we change to GTX, mineral oil, cuz some ppl said that to change from synthetic oil to mineral oil, we must flush the old oil first...correct aa?

Q3 > if any other product, please give some opinion...

Thank You

I`m using gze..so my mech recomment me used castrol magnetic..easy to start in the morning..

Originally posted by artnet@Apr 24 2005, 00:04
i'm using the Magnatec on BT too...
[snapback]922089[/snapback]​

so, any opinion using this Magnatec? izzit ok? burn engine oil in high rev?

Thanks!

won't burn engine oil but it won't last long for highly stress engine.

Also it won't last if your engine is running is sloppy cam when you need richer a/f mixture.

Simply to say you pay what you get. It only last me 2000-3000km on normal run.

I would recomend Motul 300V Competition 15W50 or 300V Chrono 10W40 if you want something lighter.

Anyone has a newly rebuild engine after run in can try 300V Power 0W20.

william,
yep next service i will b using motul.. eheheheeh.. make it lighter so as de car can go much more speedier.. ekekekeekekekek! :D :lol:

Regards,
Mike

Originally posted by gto_yap+Apr 24 2005, 05:30 -->
QUOTE(gto_yap @ Apr 24 2005, 05:30 )
--QuoteBegin-artnet
@Apr 24 2005, 00:04
i'm using the Magnatec on BT too...
[snapback]922089[/snapback]​

so, any opinion using this Magnatec? izzit ok? burn engine oil in high rev?

Thanks!
[snapback]922492[/snapback]​
[/b][/quote]

i don find the level of oil drops significantly.
never met this problem for all the cars in my family.
even the 15years old accord. coz we change engine oil
regularly..

eyh..curious laa
castrol gtx is mineral oil ryte..not semi-sinthetic ryte?what abt magnatec?is it semi synthetic???
but obviously laa..magnatec is better den GTX..dat 1 i know
hehe

Likewise I am not promoting anything here, but since u ask I am using the following:

3 Bottles of ACE Hardware Oil 10W40 - RM7.50 per bottle
+ Tufoil Additive - RM60 per bottle

Ever since I switched to the combo shown above I have tested them to the very limit and after doing over 14000km WITHOUT changing oil or oil filter, my car stills behave the same and still revs happily. I am NOT encouraging you to run more that 10000KMs without oil change, It is just that I am too lazy and poor to change oil frequently. Of course I did Top-Up the oil during the period - 1 liter to be exact. And my daily driving will definitely includes continous High-Revving all the way to 7500PRM (Auto gearbox). And of course the oil will look pitch black but the density never deteroriate.

wow man, if like that normaly when u get fresh oil into ur engine..
it will has sound produced.

like some of the cars never change gearbox oil,
900k liao baru change. b4 changing no sound at
all. right after change, walao...

EFN, if he got moolah, he would go for Motul. hehehe. But short on cash, then rojak combo would do. Anyway, the ACE oils are those autoworld guys stuff. They dig it and buy them buy box fulls. Serious!!

Originally posted by wllim5@Apr 24 2005, 09:37
won't burn engine oil but it won't last long for highly stress engine.

Also it won't last if your engine is running is sloppy cam when you need richer a/f mixture.

Simply to say you pay what you get. It only last me 2000-3000km on normal run.

I would recomend Motul 300V Competition 15W50 or 300V Chrono 10W40 if you want something lighter.

Anyone has a newly rebuild engine after run in can try 300V Power 0W20.
[snapback]922588[/snapback]​

what's the average price for both oil...?? how many liter??

hi guys, since everyone saying they r not promoting the oil i would like to tell everyone that all my customer r very happy with the Motul turbolight 4100 semi-synthetic. To be fair, plz ask all the 20V sifus here that is using this oil about the performance. the market price for this oil is RM98, of course i give promotion for first timer. :lol: :lol: :lol:

i wander fully synthetic oil will last longer or not?
will they become dead oil?

whattabout idemitsu 10W40.
currently i'm using it for my BT.
sifu's any advice, which 1 better......

Likewise I am not promoting anything here, but since u ask I am using the following:

3 Bottles of ACE Hardware Oil 10W40 - RM7.50 per bottle
+ Tufoil Additive - RM60 per bottle

Ever since I switched to the combo shown above I have tested them to the very limit and after doing over 14000km WITHOUT changing oil or oil filter, my car stills behave the same and still revs happily. I am NOT encouraging you to run more that 10000KMs without oil change, It is just that I am too lazy and poor to change oil frequently. Of course I did Top-Up the oil during the period - 1 liter to be exact. And my daily driving will definitely includes continous High-Revving all the way to 7500PRM (Auto gearbox). And of course the oil will look pitch black but the density never deteroriate.

haha....will make you more poorer earlier cause you will need to major overhaul if you keep your oil change interval at the same rate....

Old thread reopened?
Anyways, I've just swapped to 4AGE 20V BT and filled up the engine with Toyo Lube Titanium 7000L 20W-40 Semi Synthetic engine oil. Checked the dipstick and it reads at "F" upon filling up. Now after about 1 week of usage, my engine oil drop to almost "L" level :(

There's no sign of white smoke during normal driving. But I can notice some smoke coming out from the exhaust if I rev between 4-5Krpm and lift-off my right foot. This happens only when the car is in parked position, I never noticed any white smoke even during aggressive driving though.

Any idea what's going on? Am I using the wrong type of engine oil? Any specific engine oil best suited for 4AGE 20V BT?