Fuel Cell cars. Are We Ready For Them?

zan

I heard next month a product called Hydrogen Fuel Technology COnverter will be launched.

Meaning, we can use fill in water instead of petrol. very, very cheap running costs!

cost price begins around RM2,000 for kancil conversion (just like NGV) and goes up according to engine capacity.

any opinion?

Later petrol price will drop lor and the water price for sure will increase lor...hahahahahaha....

I don't think the power output will be ANYWHERE near petrol.

Probably have to push the Kancil up the hill, and let it roll down.

Forget fuel cells. We haven't ready yet for the hybrid. And then were expecting fuel cell to pop out of nowhere?

Besides, the government does not yet approve a lot of economical alternatives for cars, such as diesels, bio-fuel, hybrids, electric cars etc.

asda.gif

eh screw those ideas. run methanol la. everyone grows their own corn and distills their methanol providing for their own booze + fuel for car right at home FTW

I'd be happy if anyone can teach me how to brew/distill methanol!

sounds too complicated to me.

RM2000 only for kancil conversion!!!!????

I think 10years more la. Hybrid also not yet popular here oh, eventhough honda malaysia got a civic hybrid at RM130k years back, but never seen that on the road...

I don't think the power output will be ANYWHERE near petrol.

remember, there is hydrogen bomb. hydrogen is just as powerful and sensitive

the new product would be launched by Pak Lah in mid June. such product would be 1st in the world, patented and endorsed by SIRIM.

edward chew, civic hybrid is given only to our police force, 8 units if not mistaken. all using 1300cc engine with built in motor to assist acceleration. power output is like a 1.7-1.8 car but lower FC.

target cost to convert my wira is about 3K (NGV about 2.2K)...and i would be happy not to visit petrol station for a longgggggg time.

If that's true, i support!!! always complain about paying for petrol le... haha

Zan, last time i think i got the price list of honda cars at 1U, got written the price of that civic hybrid lo.

Could you provide more information about the conversion??? Thank you.

yeah, Honda Malaysia did plan to sell the car. but nobody wants to buy a 1300cc car at 130K. those can afford 130K are ppl who wont bother much about FC, rite?

ok, from what I learned...the system is just like NGV. u have 2 tanks (petrol and water) and a switch to control what source u want to use to run on.

the water tank would be located at engine bay, its not that big i believe. then, there's the conversion unit to separate Hydrogen from water(H20) which companies like Honda, Toyota or GM havent come to know yet.

those autombile giants know about the capabilities of Hydrogen, but its more dangerous to install in a car, even with impact resistance tank like NGV.

the secret now is how to separate hydrogen from water (which is easily available at super low price)

the company is looking for any companies or workshops who want to be their dealer (installer). the workshop must be of grade A type lah. big, clean, good location, has good equipment and such. anyone knows, please reccommend them to me.

Zan the Civic hybrid is already on the road. I saw one in KL area last year. You could notice it through the badging and there is a flower sticker with the word Hybrid by the bottom side of the rear door. It was driven by a 20 something lady. I believe the car only came is a shade of light silver. Last i read in The Star newspaper, they only took in 20 units to be sold here. I remember Singapore sold it along with the regular Civics. And its not cheap. I have to dig up my old Autocar mags to confirm.

Anyone remember last year there is a Water powered truck launched in Malaysia? It was in the TV and was covered many automotive media. But the truck wasn't sold or was it pulled off? Now there is news of a hydrogen conversion?

device to separate the hydrogen from water has became portable now????? until can be fitted inside the engine bay???

Biofuel is the way forwards. For now at least.
cooking oil in diesel engine like shown on fifth gear? i do hope that will be our future.. Malaysia produce palm oil.. or any other oil.. then those give to power our vehicle, end up lacking cooking oil, so everyone eat food with less oil = healthier summore..

good good XD

well, bio diesel for road car, alchohol for future F1... thats what i hope lar.. not a big fan of non internal combustion engine..

yeah, Honda Malaysia did plan to sell the car. but nobody wants to buy a 1300cc car at 130K. those can afford 130K are ppl who wont bother much about FC, rite?

ok, from what I learned...the system is just like NGV. u have 2 tanks (petrol and water) and a switch to control what source u want to use to run on.

the water tank would be located at engine bay, its not that big i believe. then, there's the conversion unit to separate Hydrogen from water(H20) which companies like Honda, Toyota or GM havent come to know yet.

those autombile giants know about the capabilities of Hydrogen, but its more dangerous to install in a car, even with impact resistance tank like NGV.

the secret now is how to separate hydrogen from water (which is easily available at super low price)

the company is looking for any companies or workshops who want to be their dealer (installer). the workshop must be of grade A type lah. big, clean, good location, has good equipment and such. anyone knows, please reccommend them to me.

I believe the device is an "on-demand" hydrogen generator, as opposed to the complex hydrogen storage system used by major car manufacturers in their experimental hybrids. Storing liquid hydrogen is dangerous stuff but it's the only way to get meaningful mileage between fillups.

The "on-demand" system cannot provide enough hydrogen for continual combustion and can only act as a booster for petrol engines. However, some underground researchers in the US claimed to have run cars on the "on-demand" system alone. But, soon after those announcements, their hydrogen projects and cars are confiscated by the FBI. Definitely some big oil players behind these incidents.

There are many plans online to build these hydrogen boosters. Do a search on Google for "Stan Meyers" (believed to be murdered by the US Gov), "Daniel Dingel" (this Filipino ran his AE100 on water alone!), "Bob Boyce" and "water powered car plans" and you will find tons of info.

Anyone want to experiment with hydrogen power can PM me. I'll gladly point you in the right direction. I'm not selling anything here; just want to spread the information. I believe we are paying too much for petrol nowadays. ;p

Yeah imolog, that is right. In fact there were many stories that water powered engines did exists since the late 70's and 80's. But somehow they did not surface and remains urban legends. It is also true that many fuel makers use strong arm tactics to push aside whatever inventions that might impact their rice bowl. First off was that water powered truck in Malaysia. Where was it? It was only last year and the truck wasn't sold nor being reviewed anywhere! And it was somewhat a "Proud Malaysian Invention".

Anyway the bad thing is, if engines were to use water, look for new consortiums and companies charging money for "refined" water for our cars. Even worse pricing for our drinking water. And the senario of water purification plants across all of the beaches worldwide.

The best solution is to sell petrol and water engines together. When there is no demand in fuel, the cost go low, but the price for water would go up. Good thing is you could have a choice of fuel for your new car.

Yeah imolog, that is right. In fact there were many stories that water powered engines did exists since the late 70's and 80's. But somehow they did not surface and remains urban legends. It is also true that many fuel makers use strong arm tactics to push aside whatever inventions that might impact their rice bowl. First off was that water powered truck in Malaysia. Where was it? It was only last year and the truck wasn't sold nor being reviewed anywhere! And it was somewhat a "Proud Malaysian Invention".

Anyway the bad thing is, if engines were to use water, look for new consortiums and companies charging money for "refined" water for our cars. Even worse pricing for our drinking water. And the senario of water purification plants across all of the beaches worldwide.

The best solution is to sell petrol and water engines together. When there is no demand in fuel, the cost go low, but the price for water would go up. Good thing is you could have a choice of fuel for your new car.

Yes I was wondering when that truck was going to show up at showrooms so I could go and get a closer look! Government intervention to protect their interests? Maybe.

The oil magnates can't charge our water cause we can get it from the rain. But I suspect they will pass some laws to make collecting rain water a crime!

Actually before the internal combustion engine was invented, oil was a useless product, used mainly for lubricants. Then, Diesel invented the diesel engine. He originally intended for the engine to run on plant oil. Think about that! However, some top government officials found a way to power the diesel engine using petroleum and thus, the oil industry was born. And up until today, we still depend on oil to survive.

There is no way that the oil magnates is going to let us have our water car. The price of oil will NEVER be as cheap as water (unless you're in Saudi Arabia). Think about all the billions that they have invested in the oil industry. They wouldn't give up without a fight, trust me.

What we can do is to get our hands dirty and experiment on our own water powered car. I'm building an electrolyser (hydrogen generator) myself and currently, work is on hold due to my studies. But once I graduate in August, I'm going to pursue this experiment full time (while working of course). If the Americans and Filipinos can build one, why can't we? After all, in Malaysia, anything is Boleh!

Yeah..good point! If its just selling 'water' powered engine, what will happen to the price of waters? Might come to the same as petrol some day. Selling both together is better. Got competitors, petrol n water prices will not hike 'as they like'.

Anyway, any link that show the 'water' powered engine that was mentioned? How did they take care of the safety of handling hydrogen? hm...