spoon extractor!

This is the "real life"

http://img261.imageshack.us/img261/4412/spoonhz6.jpg

somehow or rather aftermarket extractors will help your engine breath better with your mods. most, not all, of the aftermarket jdm extractor are applicable for street and modded setup.

anyone know this extractor performance???

this also 4-2-1 Spoon but its look like 4-1
5-1spoon.jpg

if u compare the factory set (stock cast iron) and the aftermarkets, definitely theres a huge difference feeling on the butt dyno. but then again, if you install a super duper extractors like toda or hytech on a stock engine, the results wont be as nice as a modded engine.

if your question in other interpretation means "is it worth it to buy 4-2-1 or 4-1 and worth every ringgit?". most not all, aftermarket extractors are stainless steel and they crack in time. they were meant for racing use on a modded engine, most of the jdm extractors are meant for track. if u plan to use it for drag then go the american way.

so worth or not worth is when u start to swap extractors that is suitable for your chosen application at the end of the day. u have to try somehow or rather. ppl tend to be biased on their own personal setup and obsession.

lastly, theres no best extractors around since the best extractors are being used on a super duper racing car on a heavily modded race fuled engine. fighting over 4-2-1 and 4-1 dilemmas is a no go. if you make good power, then u should know the answer by then.

actually 4-2-1 and 4-1 make huge difference?

In my opinion, don't bother spending money on a spoon part. Find a 98 Spec Integra R extractor for your car. You'd be surprie the wonders it does. Spoon is slightly better.

if your question in other interpretation means "is it worth it to buy 4-2-1 or 4-1 and worth every ringgit?". most not all, aftermarket extractors are stainless steel and they crack in time. they were meant for racing use on a modded engine, most of the jdm extractors are meant for track. if u plan to use it for drag then go the american way.

J101, I think the cracks are due to wrapping thermal wrap around the headers. So far a few units I've seen on car that has been running for years that don't have thermal wrapping don't seem to have cracking issues.

The couple that do have thermal wrapping cracked. Always have thought it was a hit or miss in terms of buying second hand goods, but it was not until I read something from honda tuning did I put 2 and 2 together.

I couldn't find the article link, but it was quoted by john romero that build that 200mph landspeed civic.

but I did find another link which may prove to be some food for thought for those running thermal exhaust wraps.

All About Header Wraps

I've heard them a while back too, which is why my headers are unwrapped, and it's not because of the bling2 factor.

Shiroi is right here. Heat wrap does crack you headers after a while. I've seen them crack in 6 months. If you don't want this to happen but cut down the heat in the engine bay, HPC coat it. Looks the parts and doesnt have any cracking problems. There's only slightly a bit more heat but the difference is to small to feel it.

On top of that, buy a better header as cheap ones tend to crack after a while

headers are good to leave it unwrapped regardless of mild steel or stainless steel. if you are running on constant high rpm on a track then it would benefit you. with the changing and moody weather in malaysia, the moist and heat will kill the header.

i know the idea of keeping the heat lower under the hood and keeping the temprature for air velocity in the header but if ure not racing, its not worth it. prolly due to the fact ppl get misleaded about this matter as most, not all jdm race cars are wrapped. race car that is.

Shiroi is right here. Heat wrap does crack you headers after a while. I've seen them crack in 6 months. If you don't want this to happen but cut down the heat in the engine bay, HPC coat it. Looks the parts and doesnt have any cracking problems. There's only slightly a bit more heat but the difference is to small to feel it.

On top of that, buy a better header as cheap ones tend to crack after a while

You also forget the poor welding jobs, though from the last copy I've seen made locally, I may have to eat my words on that. :P