Birthplace of Mivec Turbo was in Kepong?

InitialD

The following statement came from this website:
SEAN-THE-MAN.blogspot.com: 2008 Mitsubishi Lancer - Specifications-only Review and Launch Videos

"In my opinion, the answer lies in a small tuning workshop in the heart of Kepong, Malaysia - called Forge Racing (formerly KCK Racing). It is the birthplace of the first street legal Mivec turbo engine... ever. In 2000, several years before Mitsubishi rolled out its first Mivec turbo in the Evo VIII - Forge Racing crossbred the block of a 1.8 litre 4G93 turbo and the cylinder head of a 1.6 litre 4G92 Mivec. That resulting 1.8 engine output over 300hp at 8000rpm with a boost of only 1.5bar. But what was the main lesson learnt from that little pocket rocket?"

Is this a true fact? If it is.. then wow! Malaysia BOLEH!!

yeah but does it say how robust the set up was or how many problems the car had? how many returns to the workshop?

dont be too quick to celebrate for malaysia boleh, there is alot in the background u need to know

off course there will be problem especially when we don't even have an engine factory or rnd centre, so we make do with whatever available to come up with something innovative

don't be too hard to our fellow malaysian, actually malaysia really boleh....

Only 1.5 Bar of boost? Most cars with stock turbo off the factory doesn't even touch 1 Bar. How can it be only...1.5 Bar?!?!?

Maybe once tried the engine straight away blow kot...

Like that ar.. then um... ok lah.. Malaysia's Rojak the best in the world.

Doesnt really matter whos the first to thought of this concept Mivec Turbo..
Most important is it can pull some serious horsepower and have good handling at the same time..
Mivec turbo is a good combinations..
Vtec turbo is not ideal as compared...

Did you guys know that KTZ restaurant started in kepong too? And they've got one of the best snacks in town together with their tong sui's. hehe

Who knows if those jipun-kia alr start to R&D mivec turbo way b4 2000 n they alr blow a lot of engines in the process to get the most ideal setup...

ah beng started from jinjang.. then spread to kepong... fstrader was one of the baggy pants 'yau chee chai'

mauhahahahah

pioneer of BAGGY PANTS FASHION! = fstrader

Did you guys know that KTZ restaurant started in kepong too? And they've got one of the best snacks in town together with their tong sui's. hehe

I really miss that tong sui la.. long time never been there already...hehehehe

I think this will be laughing stock once the Japanese heard this...

Doesnt really matter whos the first to thought of this concept Mivec Turbo..
Most important is it can pull some serious horsepower and have good handling at the same time..
Mivec turbo is a good combinations..
Vtec turbo is not ideal as compared...
i dont get it why you said mivec turbo is a good combination, while vtec turbo is not ideal to be compared?

both are variable valve technology with turbo charger as forced induction.

hallo dimsum weii :biggrin:
how to dim sum when nobody wanna dim sum with me ler.... haha

mag9556
yeah, the tong sui is nice there. some of the snacks are nice too. the small deep fried crab thing is nice too. and on weekends, got chicks to see too hahaha Anyway, speaking of jap laughing at this mivec turbo thing that started in kepong, maybe many many years ago, the japs already started using mivec turbo to power the conveyor belts at sushi places. hahaha Imagine you see the dish you wanted just passed you and has one big round to go, you press the "turbo" button at your table. Then you can hear "pppprraaaa.... pppiiissshhh" and your dish is right in front of you again. hahaa