BMW e36 318 or civic 1.7?, getting either one

matte

hi guys,
i'm new here:biggrin: i'm just started working n getting myself a car. budget is abt 70k. thinking of getting e36 318 second or civic 1.7 2003 second. just want ur opinion esp those who own these cars, better buy e36 and then mod or just buy the civic?...i know the price diff about 20 k. ho'w d performance,maintenance n FC?.really apreciate ur opinion..thanks...:driver:

heyy...better go for civic..low maintanance plus gud luck summore..dunot waste ur money by that e36 la...huhuh..better get Vtec..haha..
my 2 cents

vitrous,
i tot civic 1.7 all vtec, rite?n what vtis? saw some civic got that.thanks vitrous...anymore zth sifus n gurus?...can share ur tot?

it's totally different class dude. if u think u can bear the difference, and the maintenance, go for e36. maintenance will be very high, considering 2nd hand, as most things start to give way.

i'm driving a 1.7 now, almost 4 yrs old, maintenance is low, not much problem. in fact, no major problem as yet. but power wise, it's nothing. believe me, it loses to 1.6 manuals and top speed is not fantastic. well, what do you expect from a 1.7 that's supposed to be fuel economy (although not too).

well, it's your call, if u hv faith in maintaining e36, or already hv ur choice of workshop, by all means, go for one. it's totally different class, n you'll nvr regret the quality of the car that u'll get.

if you are ok wif a somewhat underpower jap, but giv u very little trouble, go for 1.7

thanks oldhag...never tot civic would b underpower...fc on hiway how much?...any e36 owner?...care to share? =)

btw, e36 don cost 70k, it'll cost 40k+.. maintenance wise it's kinda high... i dunno about civic, but the last civic i owned, it aint cheap either. vitrous, u owned e36 or civic before? u compared the maintenance cost??

not sure bout fc on highway n normal way, but it's bout 18 - 20cents for mine. (70++ for 350 - 400km). not cheap to maintain in honda authorised, but normal service would do. nothing very expensive, except when changing original parts of cos (proton's ori parts r not cheap either)

blackhowling,
u own e36 is it? 318?...how maintenance n performance?...if buy 318 then send repair...replace old parts etc...abt 50k enuff or not? n spare part easy to find or not?

oldhag,
fc quite high yah...like waja 1.8...ever regret using civic?..=p

jineil2en,
EK 2 doors rite?...price how much now?..fc & maintenance how?..size inside same big as satria is it?

daniel1688
what car EG?...never heard b4..hehe...

thanks guys...really interested in 318, but scared of maintenance..hehe...dont know much abt cars...really aprreciate ur infos..keep them coming...=)

blackhowling,
u own e36 is it? 318?...how maintenance n performance?...if buy 318 then send repair...replace old parts etc...abt 50k enuff or not? n spare part easy to find or not?

oldhag,
fc quite high yah...like waja 1.8...ever regret using civic?..=p

jineil2en,
EK 2 doors rite?...price how much now?..fc & maintenance how?..size inside same big as satria is it?

daniel1688

thanks guys...really interested in 318, but scared of maintenance..hehe...dont know much abt cars...really aprreciate ur infos..keep them coming...=)

if u can spare 50k simply for maintainance, u better put it down as d/p for a new car. say you're willing to take 70k loan + 50k d/p, u can even buy the latest civic 2.0 (at 120++) u add the ++ la. or u also can get the lancer gt 2.0

50k for maintainance is better spent on modding or others, if you take EK 2drs or 4drs, that kind of money is more than enough to mod to all type r parts...

ek and eg are honda civic. EK is sixth gen, the one with big eye, while EG is fifth gen, the one that have small eye... relatively.

next option you can get E46, say you have 50k cash + 70k loan you can afford, take E46 at 95-100k and the extra 20k caould be used for maintainance and even upgrade of parts either cosmetic or performance.... then you can enjoy the luxury and quality of german technology

the selection is based on you yourself, what do you actually want and what you really can afford.

my conclusion would be
take a jap if u have a thought of selling it later
take a conti if u plan to keeeep it

contis value drops like shit lol

harpoon,
what i mean was 50k cost to buy n repair the e36..hehe..can't afford new civic or lancer bro..huhu..anyway thanks for ur opinion and infos..i'm considering EK now..hehe

jinkl
plan to use d car for 4-5 years,then get a better,new car.but if e36, mayb keep loger if no prob..how low can d price get?

still can't decide yet.i'll try asks around about these cars n any other options.want to test drive,but havent got any chance yet...thanks guys...appreciate ur help...n as usual..keep the infos coming... =)

blackhowling,
jineil2en,

daniel1688

yup, EK/EJ 4/2 doors.\. both oso nice, depends on ur liking. price for 4doors-96yrs auto non-vtec around rm33k+-, while 2doors at the same -rm38k+-.
maintenance?, for normal SOHC Vtec/non-Vtec, cheap la of coz...just doing normal oil change enuf liao. size inside cabin of coz bigger a bit than Satria. very good car to start mod to...cheerz...

EG is oso honda civic, just older batch than EK.

jineil2en,
ic...thnks a lot bro..will try test drive d car...been in one, but nvr drive it..hehe

any more comments abt e36? anybody?... =)

From the choices that you stated, for sure i would say Honda Vtec.
Got power and economy fuel consumption. :)

if u looking for nice EK, just PM me la....got some to sell..:biggrin:

a seller aa u..hehe...where ur shop?...whats the price range of d EK?...nice means engine's good and got bodykit , sport rim etc?..

karl 5511,
u drive vtec is it?...which one?...e46 cannot la bro...have to makan pasir then..hehe..