EK or EG with K20A??

KAY 3333

is there any k20a in ek or eg at northern side??
WTA !!!
1.can jpj approve??(heard johor done few unit wit jpj approve)
2.can list out wht need to do the whole conversion??
3.how may things can be use if buy whole halfcut??
4. for whom have done the convert around how much money spend ??

TQ for every reply from sifu sifu
newbie for k20a TQ TQ

i can tell u the rough figure of how much the halfcut would cost. rm25-30k if u can afford it, i believe the rest wouldn't be a problem. :confused:

i know!!
tht y i need to know how much part can be use if not i buy jus engine tranny ecu and wiring set oni mahh!
ty for letting me know bro

only a few things only that can be use. i recommend engine kosong with hiring/harness (like what u mention). then the rest u source out. best to have a reliable mechanic. my eg should be out soon on it :biggrin:

cool sites lightning but they are all from USA. going to be really expensive to get em i suppose. do u know how much are the tax rate for automotive parts if i may ask?

yeah its from the states. and as u know americans have been doing extensive R&D of K-conversions for pre-2000 civic. so the parts from america are dominating the market to make the conversion perfect.

check out chasebays web during year end. they probably would slash the prices for most of the military-spec harness.

import tax rate for automotive parts should be between 5% - 40% from invoice value. its best if you can negotiate with the seller to declare the parts as low as possible or as a gift or sample.

thats just great light. u seem to know alot. i take that u have experience on this?

The K series amused me for sometimes now. And the idea of having a 220hp naturally aspirated stock engine in a lightweight civic chassis is just orgasmic. If money was not an issue, I would have pursued K20 in my EF. But after considering many things and whatnots, I decided to scrap the idea. (K conversion in an EF chassis would require many work than on an EG or EK and theres only 2 results will prevail: success or failure. That simple). So I bought myself a DC5 instead. ha ha. Whatever the mod or conversion is: DO IT RIGHT THE FIRST TIME. :wavey:

ballistic and lighting tq for your opinion!!!
just wonder podium still have the k20a engine lantai want sell with wiring ecu and gb??
ballistic do u hv problem with the jpj endorsement?? how much total u spend on a stock k20a into your car!!!

LOL thats funny light. i was about to do the same thing. i had a little extra cash and i was about to go for a nice dc2 or a 2nd dc5 but i kinda like the lightweight thingy. so i opt for the crazy idea. well yeap money is an issue actually (for some of us i guess :biggrin:) to be honest, i wanted a high strung freaking wailing k20 at one time. *pst idea was to frank a k20 head with a f20 block, rumored to be as high rev as 11k. but then again we need to have the right amount of money and the right ppl to do this. so i opt for this. well light i think we should meet up someday and have some ridiculous discussion on these... seems fun :driver:

kay, u have to prepare at least 25k but thats the start. i think there might be more. jpj endorsement shouldnt be a prob as i have check the jpj rules and regulation and its within it if ya original car is at least a 1600cc to start with. anything lower than that its going to be a no no. besides the runner says can be done. any question do pm me. if ya living in the klang valley i would have ask u to come out and have a look for urself. but its sad that ya up north

Bump: oh btw light have u ever used a toyo ra-1 tires bfore? i know its out of the blue but i was just wondering

hell yeah the K20/F20 hybrid is a beast. 11,000rpm on a 2L block aint a rumour no more as it has been proven by Spoon on their FD civic. The revs are so happy to it just woudnt go lower than 6,000rpm. LOL. and as you said, we need the right amount of money and the right person to do it. then we look at the reliability and drivability factors..i mean if u ever managed to get the built successfull, i dont think you can go up to 11,000rpm at jalan yap kwan seng on monday afternoon right? haha!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A8b1kh61vpU

so ballistic, when will your car be out? for sure we can meet up and talk about many things hehe.

kay, if you wish to get a very nice workmanship i recommend you to send your car at tung chun in JB. they have built numerous civics with K20, K24 and even K26 over the past few years. it might be a bit far but its worth it. have a chat with ah boon or ah shiong and from there you can get your project cost estimation.

should be out in a week or so. but i would still have work to do on it. (fine tune and all the other cosmetic stuff which i will have to start saving up again for lol ). but i think my main prob now is the traction issue that i will have to try and overcome. so i have to live with the knowledge that i cannot launch the car for a while :rofl:
ah agreed since this we are not talking about a weekend car we cant leave out the reliability and drivability factors. and i dont know anywhere in central KL where u can rev ur car to 11k rpm unless its done in the neutral gear position :biggrin:
well kay its best u find good mechanics for this honestly even tho its going to be far. but if u want, can come and have a look at my car then see if ya wanna take a chance with my mech that could be arrange too...lol

btw light when its out i will pm ya my contact and we can have a meet up. got a few things i would like to ask about ur DC5 too :driver:

ballistic if you still running on 15" u should put these sticker at the back of your car. "T.I.A.M.I: Beware of Unintentional Burnouts" (T.I.A.M.I. = Traction Is A Major Issue) hahah!

u got pm by the way.

sadly yes im still on 15. the best i think i can go with would be 16 with a 205 width MAX without killing alot of the other geo prob on the car. but like i said i have to live with it first for the time being lol.
ah light is it your friend that pm me?

light mine b20 engine build by tung chun too but i sold mine engine liao want play kseries type R original oni . dun wan k24 and k26 . Got 1 eg k24 white colour plate JEB is myfren car the black coloyr K26 track car also belong to him i sit b4 very hard to find traction so plan k20a ori type then enough lohh can go track some more no worry
ballistic if i got go kl i go see ur car
now have to solve the jpj prob first before start purchase anything my car is eg3 !!!now b16a back no power ZZzzzz

yeap prasath sick in a nice way. but to actually handle it like a pro is another thing. next adventure then i suppose rofl
well kay if its eg3 im not sure how u r going to pass the inspection. it would be better to sell your eg and get a 1.6 eg then do the conversion. but thats alot of hassle. yup tractions the prob here. does ur friend have any idea on what to run? or any idea to get hold of the traction prob? or do u have any idea on the traction prob?