Tires best for the GTR?

omaroDDin

I use to use tyres which came stock with the car(not sure what it is though). then changed them too Advan AD07. They were good. but alot of people also said Potenza Re-01R were the best(unfortunately the price tags did not agree with my wallet.

Now after the recent Tokyo Auto Saloon held in january, a few new threads were revealed by the tire companies. Such as the Advan Ad-08, Hankook Ventus TD, Toyo Proxes C1S, Dunlop Direzza Z1, Goodyear RS sport, Nittto Invo and NT05 and Potenza RE-11S.

what do u guys think bout these and also, feel free to put in ur input bout ur fav tires and why too. would help me alot to decide for the next one. :biggrin:

currently on Falken FK 452 18/275/35

good grip, surprisingly comfy, better in wet

best tyres? racing slicks.

then when it rains, i stop the car by the road, call my pit crew, they come by in a van with my wet tyres, change em and im on my way. perfect.

hahaha.
yeah, slicks are the best but also cost a bomb. LoL
AD07 not so good in the rain. kinda skidded 360 on some lightly wet road one day. scary as hell.

currently on Falken FK 452 18/275/35

good grip, surprisingly comfy, better in wet

best tyres? racing slicks.

then when it rains, i stop the car by the road, call my pit crew, they come by in a van with my wet tyres, change em and im on my way. perfect.

I'm surprised you're happy with the FK452s. I used to run those and I didn't like them in the wet. Comfort was good as you say plus I ran 19s at the time.

Perhaps my comparison is unfair cause used them on my 350z so I'll wait for you to take me for a ride. I'm a nervous passenger so no speeding ok?:driver:

hahaha.
yeah, slicks are the best but also cost a bomb. LoL
AD07 not so good in the rain. kinda skidded 360 on some lightly wet road one day. scary as hell.

Bro,

I ran AD07s on my STI for a month. Gave them away and used Falken RT-615s. Awesome grip in dry conditions and in the wet, provided you're driving normally then you should be ok.

However, I was changing them every 3 months so that's another thing to bear in mind. Out of the list you posted, I went to check out the Goodyear RS (265/35/18) and it looks like a good tire to try out but I've long since stopped using semi-slicks due to the W speed rating.

Currently I run Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric. Have had these tires for more than 9 months already; in fact I believe it was the first set to arrive since the Goodyear shop which I went to for fitting them complained to HQ LOL.

Good grip in both wet and dry plus comfort is pretty good with not much road noise (engine/audio loud hahah). You're welcome to ride with me if you need help making up your mind.

wah, nice.
how much ar for a set of 4 of these eagle f1? 18 and 19 inches.

Best tire i ever had was the Falken RT 615, enormous grip on dry and acceptable in wet. However it was hard to find the right replacement size (previously 235/40/18). Not sure down in Singapore whether they have 245/40/18 or 265/35/18 which is the size that i want.

Heard the Kumho's are pretty good and quite reasonable on the pocket. Anyone had experiences on Michelins? Our country rain too much nowadays so have to consider wet tyres...:banghead:

Yea.. I prefer Wet type tyre
looking to change new tyre nowday

but on kecik miau 15" tyre only
:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

Hi Guys

Just a suggestion, why not everyone help post up the current price, size and where is the best place to purchase tyres. At least this shared information would be beneficial to every forummers.

My last purchase was early 2008 for Falken 912 size 245/40/18 @ RM 500/pc. So far the treadwear is around 70% left due to my driving style.

since driftmeister asking about michelin ...

using pilot preceda 2 on my car (235/40 and 265/35 18") and i must say that i am very satisfied with its performance. very good in both wet and dry condition. not bad at track also.

since driftmeister asking about michelin ...

using pilot preceda 2 on my car (235/40 and 265/35 18") and i must say that i am very satisfied with its performance. very good in both wet and dry condition. not bad at track also.

Thanks Jahax..thats the tire combi which i want. how much is it retailing for?

it cost me RM3500++ early last year at michelin dealership in sungai besi ... managed to get couple hundred of discount as i paid in bank notes not plastic ... huhuhu

michelin dealership in sunway quoted me for RM4K++ for the same combo

Using Bridgestone Potenza RE-001 adrenalin. bought from brunei (japan) the price is dirt cheap!! All 4 265/35/18 for RM2800++ to your doorstep. Sorry, price applicable to KK, Sabah only. :biggrin:

How I ended up with this set? I ordered Re01R and they sent me the RE-001!!! Duh! No complains.. so-so.:banghead:

Using Bridgestone Potenza RE-001 adrenalin. bought from brunei (japan) the price is dirt cheap!! All 4 265/35/18 for RM2800++ to your doorstep. Sorry, price applicable to KK, Sabah only. :biggrin:

How I ended up with this set? I ordered Re01R and they sent me the RE-001!!! Duh! No complains.. so-so.:banghead:

when did u ordered the RE01R bro? ... was told by bridgestone dealership last time that its production has been discontinued ... that might be a reason why they send u the RE001

by the way, used RE01R last time, it came together with my car from japan. what i can tell abt it is that, very grippy on dry but kinda scary on wet

when did u ordered the RE01R bro? ... was told by bridgestone dealership last time that its production has been discontinued ... that might be a reason why they send u the RE001

by the way, used RE01R last time, it came together with my car from japan. what i can tell abt it is that, very grippy on dry but kinda scary on wet

Was on Re-01R previously. I dunno, It was pretty stable when wet. ( I was lucky perhaps) Ask S-tune, before my re-01r wore out I went pretty fast under heavy down pour on a normal road. That's why I loved the re-01r but they don't last long.

I think your dealer's either too lazy or just couldn't be bothered ordering a new set for you. (Happens most of the time. I get that too) I've asked Top Fuel, Japan and they said they could order it for me but then they come with a price!! The thing is, they include the Jap tax with it. :banghead:

semperfi ...

i was kinda surprised whenever u said that ur car was pretty stable on wet cond with RE01R ... well,thinking abt it again, u are using GTR and im only using GTT ... duh

well, whenever i picked my car from dealership in 06, it came equipped with 225/40 and 255/35 18incher RE01R rubber and it was in a very good. enjoyed whacking the car on dry tarmac but was very very nervous on rainy days

have to agree with u that RE01R worn very quick

That pretty much answered why the car was stable. :smokin: Semi slick comes with cons as well, huh?

You are pretty lucky to have a RE-01R on your ride!! My previous GT-T came with standard tires. Didn't bothered checking.

That pretty much answered why the car was stable. :smokin: Semi slick comes with cons as well, huh?

You are pretty lucky to have a RE-01R on your ride!! My previous GT-T came with standard tires. Didn't bothered checking.

RE-01R is a fantastic tire but the bridgestones are considered premium level. Anyone has current prices for Falken RT615 for 18 inch? Whether its in Malaysia or Singapore. Don't mind the less grip on wet since im always slower than a kancil whenever it pours.

Haven't tried Falken yet but seems to me you boyz are all over Falken, I'm going try it next!!

Driftmeister ... go for michelin, u wont be regretting it ... pilot preceda 2 is good enuf but if u have extra greens, pilot sport 2 ... friggin awesome man

Wouldn't it be awesome if we could try out every tires there is and pick the ones which is most suitable for us? That way, we need not cough up those extra dead presidents. :banghead: