Boost meter or engine fault?

turbolover

Hey sifus and petrol heads,
Very noob question here.Already driven my turbo for nearly 2 years and recently installed a boost meter.What i want to know is when i installed the boost meter and started the car it reads below the '0' bar but not till -0.1bar.When i go full boost it's somewhere around 0.75bar of boost.But then i also realised sometimes it when idling it stays at '0' and when i go full boost it touches 0.8bar.Is it normal?

if ur car is a diesel then it supposed to be always at 0 or above
if ur car is a petrol turbo car, then i guss ur meter is spoilt of u have fitted the vacuum
hose at the wrong place or u have placed a one way valve

fitting the hose before throthle body will give u only +boost , no vacuum
fitting a one way valve can eliminate vacuum reading too

Hey sifus and petrol heads,
Very noob question here.Already driven my turbo for nearly 2 years and recently installed a boost meter.What i want to know is when i installed the boost meter and started the car it reads below the '0' bar but not till -0.1bar.When i go full boost it's somewhere around 0.75bar of boost.But then i also realised sometimes it when idling it stays at '0' and when i go full boost it touches 0.8bar.Is it normal?

What type of boost meter u use? electrical/mechanical? stepper motor i.e. defi like?

what engine?

Hehe use a cheap ass auto gauge stepper motor.Eh i think those guys might have wired it worngly la.nvm when i get back will go see them to fix the problem.thanks.

Bump: Hehe use a cheap ass auto gauge stepper motor.Eh i think those guys might have wired it worngly la.nvm when i get back will go see them to fix the problem.thanks.

bro.. not the wire... i suspect the sensor hose is placed at a wrong position...

Ya i was to meant the guy who did the wiring and hose as he supposed to connect the wire to my battery but he connected it to my ignition instead.so now it gives out a loud and long beep during the opening ceremony for the meter.did it in kl but i'm in penang.and also like u guys said the hose is probably the worng one.hate how some mechs say they know how to fix it but turn out otherwise :mad:

Help!
I noticed that the vacum hose that is tapped to the sensor is after the turbo?right or wrong?i got another advice is to actually tap from the fuel regulator vacum hose?can anybody pls help as i went to 2 accessory shop in Seberang Prai and nobody got a clue as to how to connect the right hose.I myself am clueless:confused:

just take any vacumn hose from the manifold lor... Boost meter is to detect the manifold pressure mar... That's why got vacumn reading when idle and cruising.

Agreed to speed2horizon...

here's an example in my car...sorry that's the pic b4 i install the turbo meter

http://i42.photobucket.com/albums/e346/papagoines/My%20Car/EngineSwap/Engine/IMG_1961-resized.jpg
JB-JL 660cc Turbo

look at the hose marked "One Way Valve" and trace it to the intake manifold....there to the right u saw a smaller hose... that's the hose i tee'd to my boost meter hose....

turbolover: waa got the stepped motor version aaa? compared it wif my pomen's omori... seems pretty accurate...

not like my autogauge smoke series model....b4 the stepper motor... the reading kinda off by +-0.1bar

autogauge seems to progress from a lousy cap ayam brand to a good product... :smokin:

Hey thanks papa for the photo.At least i have a idea of where it should be tapped from.no wonder the blardy meter takes so much efford and so much time to reach maximum boost.No i can go tell the mech where to fix:listen:
Ya ya auto gauge smoke lense with stepper motor.ok la for taiwan made.Maybe when i get my dream ride a supra will fix something like defi.hehe.

Bump: Papagoines,
Just check my engine bay and noticed that the vacumn hose from the throttle is actually connected to the BIV.So is it correct to say that i can connect the T joint there?

Hey thanks papa for the photo.At least i have a idea of where it should be tapped from.no wonder the blardy meter takes so much efford and so much time to reach maximum boost.No i can go tell the mech where to fix:listen:
Ya ya auto gauge smoke lense with stepper motor.ok la for taiwan made.Maybe when i get my dream ride a supra will fix something like defi.hehe.

Mind telling us what engine u use?

better u go to a pomen that accustomed with turbo engine... they might show you which the best source to tap for the boost signal..

I'm running a 4g93t.Stock standard.
Oh ya one more thing guys.If i do run on aftermarket BOV like HKS SSQV with i have probelm like engine stalling?I'm currently using a BIV.

Haha i already have an aftermarket sheep dog BIV.The reason for changing is because i have revert back to stock filter and the flutter cant be heard anymore.I want to make some noise or else i have to wind down my window and 'pisssshhhh' everytime i release throttle.haha.
Jinkl,is it because of the sensor near the intake?how do i eliminate the engine stalling problem?