The soul Of the R35 GTR

Dr.D

I'd like to bring up an issue of discussion regarding our passion as drivers.. some drivers prefer the experience of hearing the rumble of exhaust, twitching of the steering wheel telling every nook n bump on the road, vibration from the ponies living under the bonnet even though they dont have to be the fastest car around. some drivers just want a fast car from A to B with out having to experience all that havoc... the new GTR R35 is made so refined n electronically controlled,it is said even an old lady can clock good times around the track. its even quiet at 280kmh... unlike the r32,r33, r34 which was made to be the alpha male of the street scene, monstering every scenery,ripping the corners as if it was made from cheese.. skyline has a colourful history of road n track racing to a point it was banned from many event for being so good n fast. look at the kpgc110 with its high pitch straight six howling at suzuka.. such a elevated experince even by hearing it..so, the question is, has nissan gave up the soul n passion of driving in the r35 gtr, as it has taken the name of skyline from the gtr.. hope r35 owners would like to anticipate in this topic.

Perhaps we should study more on Mr Carlos Ghosn..sorry if my spelling is incorrect.

I reckon he has got a totally different idea on how the GTR should be compared to all previous GTRs, which were more "Oriental" if i know how to describe them. Soul given up or not, i believe GTR are still working their hard way to keep up or even surpass all the so called "Supercars". And perhaps that's why the R35 is not from the "skyline" family this time..

previos gtr were developed from skyline model chasis.. the r35 also was develop from skyline v35 chasis.. well, like u said, maybe its for the benefit of a more continental feel.. to broaden the market.. kinda sad to think if nissan would sacrifice the charisma of the gtr for sale sake... but then again its just my 5 cent opinion.. any takers?

KNN you all
people build skyline.. powderful car.. you all complain cannot tapau porci

people build Se kine line GTR 34.. tapau porci .. but cannot match porci status
people build GTR. tapau porci terus mati.. you complain the ride like shit, better get porci.. ride comfort and can tackle gal easier

so what you all want ?
:rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl:

from what i have read from the previous posts... now they want the "soul" apparently..

IMHO, Skyline is NOT about soul....

as cmng very wisely said, skylines are about TAPAUING the other cars that have very much soul.... so they become more soulful :burnout:

hahahaha..... :rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl: wat a good explanation cmng & gobiz
is something like u ta pao me or i ta pao u...... so far can ta pao the car then is become more soul...... R35 V-spec dy out for sure the porci can ta pao kuaci dy kekeke :driver::driver::driver::driver:

Skyline is a soul eater. Eats other japanese sports car for bfast and European car for lunch. Everytime it pass wiralution or kancilution, it sucks their souls out from their ride and spit it out to their windscreen!

Its really depend on each individuals personal point of view, and we can't speak on behalf of others vision of GTR or Porsche. One might belong to a hard core Porsche fans, and for sure he/she will sure back that brand up 100%! This also same to GTR fans, sure will speak till Porsche won't worth a single cents...:smokin:
Honestly speaking, no doubt GTR35 had beat 911 on the track time, but its design had gone into more European looking and style..yes, it's sad as the legendary look of a GTR had vanished! I personally tested the GTR35 and felt that it is too big and clumsy in term of handling, and this might be 1 of the caused there are so many accident involved that model! Most importantly, the clutch sound is really irritated, when its switch to a higher gear, then the noise can be herd from inside the car, and it really sound like a broken or loosen parts! It is a design fault and can you bare with that sound in a RM600K plus car or would you paid that amount for it?? :confused: :confused: :confused:

hahaha...thanx cmng... nismo,u tested the r35gtr..lucky u.. would like to hear more about the test.. well, the hardcore version coming out soon.. hope its more charismatic...something ferrari has been holding on for a long time... call me a purist but for me the last gtr is the one racing using the original production eng...

but given the choice..
i put my $$ on porci
a normal porci 996 non turbo
Peel off the model spec plate
kasi paint itu caliper Red .. let people think it is Turbo model

biar slow.. janji gaya

:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

When the Z-tune R34 GTR is launched, the builder has claimed that even though it bears a price tag then one can actually buy a Ferrari or Porsche, the R34 GTR is never meant to be a supercar contender. It is the symbol of very fast and efficient street car, that represents the soul of GTR.

Drop of the name 'Skyline' from GTR has elevated its status, not there yet as a supecar, but it's not too far off. Yes, it is heavy, bulky and quiter and more comfortable that make you doubt that has it lost its soul. I would say that it hasn't. It's still very fast, be it on the street or on a race track. So, the passion is still there, the GTR never compromise when it comes to speed, just that this monster has soften its outer shell; so that more people can share the thrill it brings. You need to be quite bold if you want to bring the most out of this monster though, isn't that every GTR mimics when you fire up its engine?

Cheers. :wavey:

hahaha...thanx cmng... nismo,u tested the r35gtr..lucky u.. would like to hear more about the test.. well, the hardcore version coming out soon.. hope its more charismatic...something ferrari has been holding on for a long time... call me a purist but for me the last gtr is the one racing using the original production eng...

Here we go:
Overall GTR35 is bigger than R34 but when it comes to interior, it is very SMALL! The back seats is there but useless...you can't even fit a 5 yrs old kid at the back, and what the seats are there for?? Doesn't make sense at all. When it come to handling, the car seems clumsy to me, just like driving the newest Ninja King (big and clumsy). Personally, I think that the steering is bit too small and heavy for a that car and its required you to turn more when you are parking or making a u turn. Worst of all, like I mentioned before, whenever the gear changed, you can hear a clicking noise from the transmission as that is the clutch. That sound really makes the car felt cheap caused it cost more than RM550K to own it :confused: When you open up the bonnet, you can't open it more than certain degree as this will set off the warning system and all the warning light inside the car will come on! :hmmmm: :hmmmm: :hmmmm: Then, you will need to reset it with a diagnostic machine (if you own one of it)...or else...not sure Nissan can help you on this issue or not!?!?
BUT, the G-Force feeling is very impressive at initial took off and there is no complaints about it, actually, I love that feeling!! AT when changing gear is very fast and almost no lack time in between, also same to the triptronic gear change at the steering...that's really felt like Ferrari :biggrin:
I can go on and on in this topic, but this is only some general that I personally felt about the car..again, this is my personal opinion and I don't speak on behalf of others!! Cheers...and no hard feeling!!!

so cmng, why u choose porsche even though its slower then the gtr? i would too.. but i would choose the r34gtr over a porsche.. nowaday, i see alot of skylines for sale? i wonder why? most people buy a car for its image, its history it carries, its charisma...

Err.. you go pick up chick
park at club..

ask the chick.. which car she pick up ? porci or skyline ?

worst..
the chick might say (from what i heard from a forummer during chit chat session)
eh uncle.. the car so nice everything but why you didnt paint the bonet ??

hehehhe..buy kenari also pick up chicks... buy pulsar gtir more chick esp bright red one..hehehe

that pulsar pick up more guy more than chick since it driven by a lady
:rofl::rofl::rofl:

hehehhe..buy kenari also pick up chicks... buy pulsar gtir more chick esp bright red one..hehehe

In fact from the land where I sit right now, kenari's, Myvi's and those similar annoying flies-like cars pick up more chicks than skyline's ... Skyline's (esp. gtr's) are for old, ship-docked, pot-bellied, family-men .... :mad:

To pick up chicks, need an upgrade from Ah Beng Wiralution, such as Evo's, STi's, or Silvia's, RX-8, and even Smart .... :idea:

cmng ...

u are the man ... by the way, im a big fan of 911 ... if i were given a chance to choose between 35GTR and 911 GT2/3, i would definitely go for the 911 ... no doubt

i reckon journos who have only had the GT-R for a day, are not the best ppl to listen to re. the car's soul or true character. you've gotta live with the car, exploring your limits and the car's limits as you rack up the miles. The GT-R will usually shock or impress on first acquaintance, but it doesn't reveal all its cards upfront, especially handling-wise, as it takes time to build up trust in what the AWD is doing and finding a higher level of handling balance beyond outright grip.

I've got 2 close buddies with R35s, and one of them won a previous SGtrackies Supercar Class time attack with a 2m 26s lap around SIC - those of you who are familiar with Sepang will know that it's a quick time for a road car - although OEM tyres are sticky, it's a heavy car. With VDC set to off, the GT-R has a nice 'on tip toes' feeling, with cornering line being adjustable from the rear like a RWD car while still having the traction of AWD. On the limit, it is not that easy a car - and it figures that Porsche's test drivers had to cry foul as they couldn't lap the car around Nordschleife as fast Nissan's Suzuki-san, who's put in thousands of miles on the limit of the car.

Anyway, here's a short clip of the other mate's GT-R. Whilst he didn't push the car, hope you enjoy the sound back from his 1st test drive of Garage R's GT680 tuning package. IMHO, the sound alone is enough to tick the 'soul' box ;)