DIY Cold Air Intake Hose with Super Heavy Duty Industrial 3" PU Hose

sr18autech

Banned
Bought 3" super heavy duty industrial PU hose from Huakenny (Bought some times ago, but no time to do the CAI, until today). It's so durable and tough, and it cannot bend more than 80degree, so I have to come out with a DIY, thus this morning, did all the process below.

And the result was Superb Engine Response !

The Finished Product

DSC00331.jpg

Stuffs - 3" PVC Elbow, 3" PVC Pipe, Drill Saw, 3" Alloy Funnel, 3" & 5" Hose Clip, Pipe Tape & PVC Glue
DSC00306.jpg

Bosch Drill Kit
DSC00307.jpg

Circular Saw, variable sizes
DSC00308.jpg

Choosing the right size of the Circular Saw

DSC00309.jpg

Close up of the Circular Saw
DSC00310.jpg

Circular Saw mounted on the Bosch
DSC00311.jpg

The location of the funnel intended to be placed
DSC00312.jpg

Ready to drill

DSC00313.jpg

Drilling (Only took less than 10 seconds!)
DSC00314.jpg

Done!
DSC00315.jpg

The 3" Elbow and the Pipe
DSC00316.jpg

The 3" Heavy Duty Industrial Flex Hose
DSC00317.jpg

Fitted perfectly
DSC00318.jpg

Applying PVC glue
DSC00319.jpg

Attaching the elbow to the flex hose, with a 3" hose clip
DSC00320.jpg

Elbow in place, fitting the 3" Aloy Funnel
DSC00321.jpg

Wrapping the Aloy Funnel with white tape
DSC00322.jpg

Fitting the Aloy Funnel to the elbow
DSC00323.jpg

Very-very tight fit, need some effort...
DSC00324.jpg

A view from inside
DSC00325-1.jpg

Fastened the 3" flex hose to the airbox
DSC00326.jpg

Airbox connected to the flex hose

DSC00327.jpg

STOCK engine bay, hehe
DSC00328.jpg

Be sure, to make the CAI airtight, amazing effects will happen.

PS: They are ppl debating whether it will suck debris or water into the CAI n damages the engine, but HEY, if there's flood or really dusty/sandy area, everyone is SMART enough not to drive over those places.....right ?

Adios :)

haha, actually there are a few concerns

- Front bumper, not enough flat spread for the funnel to reside properly
- Facing front, anything could sucked inside including debris, sands, birds, squirrel and etc
- Facing front is obvios fugly
- By using an elbow facing side, during rain it prevents water from sucked into the airbox

by the way, the concept is base on my puny brain, so nothing to shout about. but the effects was better throttle respond during a hot day, especially traffic jam. tapping the pedal and the car moves :)

any shop around jalan ipoh tht selling those hose and funnel?

one hint for u my brother , go visit shops that does industrial air cond , pipes etc etc , it's very very cheap and durable , i bought mine like less than RM19 but no funnel.

i was planning to put it 4 my wira...on da front...was thinkin bout da rain n dust too...my fren told me to put a fine cloth on top of da filter...cover da passageway...it will b jst nice...wen its dirty...can jst take it owt,dust it,thn put it bck on...is dat ok?

this time dun put water inside ur airbox wor... CAI intake should give u sufficient cooled air....

Actually if u dont mind, go to hardware shop and buy PVC pipe connector, those 4" to 3" connectors, it's also can be used as a funnel.

How to DIY making it look "automotive" is up to your skills and creativity. No point spend so much buy aftermarket stuffs if it doesnt worth the money.

As long as the hose is 3", it really works well no matter the funnel facing side or forward.

---------- Post added at 09:57 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:55 AM ----------

Anyway, if you guys needs a drilling, you can contact me, I can do it FREE for you, but ofcoz in return u belanja me a drink or anything....hahah !

Coz I felt shops givin a drillin n ask u pay RM30-40 is nonsense, the circular saw I bought for RM45 only, and so much size I can drill....haha

water is not an issue unless its a flood
little bit of rain wont hydroclog ur engine, chill guys
we pump water injection into the intake more than droplets of water hehehe

nice 1 bro.. got use... if punch a small hole at the L shape there better. water can drip out.
just my opinion ya

i did my own DIY CAI in less than 20 mins with a washing machine hose.
no drilling no poking holes. Just ziptied

ill upload pictures if anyone wants to see my super not clean and unprofessional work

thank you jinkl, that is called water injection, i know that setup. depends on individual what they want to out perform with their engine.

momoko, washing machine hose is too small and they flex too easily coz too soft......3" hose will give significant engine response.

---------- Post added at 11:19 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:18 AM ----------

nice 1 bro.. got use... if punch a small hole at the L shape there better. water can drip out.
just my opinion ya

thanks, but I think that is not neccesary, unless its a flash flood.if there is, simply pop the hood n disconnect the hose attached to the airbox, kautim

---------- Post added at 11:51 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:19 AM ----------

anyway, these are american CAI kits......

http://www.aemintakes.com/air_intakes.htm