Gt-rs turbo & f-con v pro tuning questions

pimpin, sounds like water pump just sharted itself. Better hope its not, coz if it is, its the 5th R34 i've heard with a failed water pump.

Won't be your oilpump then since Tomei is No.1 ranking for oil pump in the world.

U running oil cooler with stat? Maybe some blockage?

Let us know what happened then.

Anyways, today I went to my car and checked the radiator which was low and reserve tank was just under full. So I topped up the radiator and started up the car then... nothing. It ran normally, water temp normal and warmed up just like any other day.

I didn't see anything leaking from the radiator but I guess once its warmed-up the leak will reappear. Didn't have time to take for a short drive nor did I want to risk it. I'll tow it to the workshop on Monday to be absolutely certain. Will update, wish me luck! :biggrin:

Pimpin, you need to reduce your weekly 300kmh run lah... oh and stiffen your shocks too

Yeah, yesterday I drove with my damper on a softer setting (12F/16R) on the EDFC. As for the weekly runs, this was the first time I've been out in awhile. But I'm still in my quest of tripling the speed limit!

pimpin, sounds like water pump just sharted itself. Better hope its not, coz if it is, its the 5th R34 i've heard with a failed water pump.

Water pump is 5,000kms old, brand new N1 water pump but if its failed then it'll have to be replaced I guess. Fingers crossed either way.

Won't be your oilpump then since Tomei is No.1 ranking for oil pump in the world.

U running oil cooler with stat? Maybe some blockage?

Let us know what happened then.

I don't know why you think its the oil pump, the oil temp hardly ever goes over 90.

Running twin Blitz oil coolers btw.

[PIMPIN];3918216 said:
Tried the dipstick and there was no oil in the block...YET (hahah fingers crossed!)

This is why I thought oil system.
Thot u had oil starvation...anyway, I'm not mechanic and it now seems a simple problem with the rad rather than anything serious...

u still running stock radiator? what are u planning to upgrade to?

[PIMPIN];3918216 said:
Well on MEX, as I approached the Putrajaya toll, I bottomed out pretty hard. After the toll, I pulled over and saw water temp going up. But soon it started to drop so I figured was due to the high speeds. After that we stopped at the rest stop. When we left to go home, on the highway my water temp kept going up. So I pulled over to the side, it still did not come down so I played safe and killed it.

Popped the hood and saw some coolant in the bay and looked under the car and saw coolant leaking from bottom of radiator. Called Desmond around 2.30am (N1) cause I had one tow truck guy and he was off. After about 15 mins finally Desmond called back and said tow truck on the way. During that time, I crossed over to the other side of the road leaving my car cause I suddenly remembered Leonard's story of some woman killing 3 people by the road side LOL. At the time, it felt scary so I went to the emergency phones across the road which of course do not work.

I called a friend and he came from Bukit Antarabangsa. This was at 3am already. Then a police car drove by and stopped. I went over and we were chatting and they said they would wait with me until my friend arrived. One of the cops asked me "Ini R34 kan? Kenapa tak lepak dengan budak-budak Silvia dekat rest-stop tadi?" Hahahah not bad man. They were very nice and friendly guys.

Anyways, by this time the engine was cool and we checked the radiator overflow bottle was empty. Tried the dipstick and there was no oil in the block...YET (hahah fingers crossed!). Tow truck arrives at 3.30ish, and so got home by 4am. End of the day, what can you do? It's the name of the game. Adat bermain kereta, the Malays would say, comes with the territory.

If I'm lucky, the damage would be limited to a new radiator which I can live with. Since I did shut-down very quickly, I'm hoping there is no other damage. If there is, then well I guess I'll have to live with that as well LOL.

Lucky is POLICE CAR drove by. I have been told that nowadays many robbers will act like police, normally they appear by normal motorcycle/car, they will ask u to show IC and rob; wallet is nvm, juz worry their target is your GTR..... (sry for off topic)

No, the worse could have happen is when the bogus police turns out to be homosexual, and drag you into the bushes.Our brother Pimpin will never walk the same again.

This is why I thought oil system.
Thot u had oil starvation...anyway, I'm not mechanic and it now seems a simple problem with the rad rather than anything serious...

u still running stock radiator? what are u planning to upgrade to?

Nah not stock bro. Only thing stock on my car is the steering wheel and seats LOL

No, the worse could have happen is when the bogus police turns out to be homosexual, and drag you into the bushes.Our brother Pimpin will never walk the same again.

End up like this LOL :bootyshake:

what ally rad u got bro? have a done a leak test?

i'm still running stock rad i think... definitely will need to upgrade for tropics. Still I forgot how strong the fans are for rb26s. Whenever I open the boot, the angin is kuat one :rofl:

Back on topic:
You got brand new gt-rs didn't you? Could u pm/email me how much they were? Did u get the full kit or just the turbos?

What's shuffle like? Have u got a balance pipe?

With the ever weaker pound, I'm praying a used pair of gt-rs or 2871r comes on the market...

pimpin...if u decide to change ur seats...let me know!!! :)

Sorry bro, my seats won't work in your car cause they come with side airbags. That's why they are different from Leonard's.

what ally rad u got bro? have a done a leak test?

i'm still running stock rad i think... definitely will need to upgrade for tropics. Still I forgot how strong the fans are for rb26s. Whenever I open the boot, the angin is kuat one :rofl:

Back on topic:
You got brand new gt-rs didn't you? Could u pm/email me how much they were? Did u get the full kit or just the turbos?

What's shuffle like? Have u got a balance pipe?

With the ever weaker pound, I'm praying a used pair of gt-rs or 2871r comes on the market...

I've got an Fwin radiator. Have yet to bring the car to the shop cause I got a late start today and still no chance to do it.

Yes, I bought brand new GT-RS kit. I doubt what I paid for them matters cause it was 2 years ago and the price would have changed ALOT. Even now I look at the prices of stuff coming out of Japan and I'm thankful I got my HKS stroker kit before the Yen shot up.

No balance pipe and no shuffle. I don't get why some people claim shuffle exists while some have no idea what it is. My guess is that it all comes down to the tuner. If it means anything, I do have the HKS Racing Suction Reloaded intake.

yeah, looks like it gotta be sourced from UK or down-under...

rips rb30 is looking damn cheap right now :rofl:

just saw darkchild's pics at gtr uk...
cant wait to see how my rustbucket (with it's taped up front bumper) rolls with the shiny r34 nurs of the rich boys club :rofl::rofl::rofl:

yeah, looks like it gotta be sourced from UK or down-under...

rips rb30 is looking damn cheap right now :rofl:

just saw darkchild's pics at gtr uk...
cant wait to see how my rustbucket (with it's taped up front bumper) rolls with the shiny r34 nurs of the rich boys club :rofl::rofl::rofl:

I'm not the one with the RB30 stuffed in the engine bay... :thefinger:
No forged internals. No knife edged crank. No bigger displacement.
All I did was slap on some slightly different turbos and upped the boost to 1.2/1.3 bars. Budget ok. So what rich boys club you talking about? :biggrin:

I'm not the one with the RB30 stuffed in the engine bay... :thefinger:
No forged internals. No knife edged crank. No bigger displacement.
All I did was slap on some slightly different turbos and upped the boost to 1.2/1.3 bars. Budget ok. So what rich boys club you talking about? :biggrin:

Hehehe, thanks DarkChild, with you in here I've managed to attract the attentions of the 3 biggest bosses/taikors of gtrs in KL to this thread - You, Farizio and Pimpin... :rofl::rofl::rofl:

Just to clarify, the car I bought in the end is totally different from the one I initially made a noise about (sorry :bawling:) .... The one with the rb30 and running 2835 turbos was too rich for my blood at £15k.

Amazing car tho and extremely nice owner... but too much of a risk for me since I've got to sort out the AP stuff (won't be in my name!)

The one I bought is a cheap one but surprised me with the bits in it.

Seriously though, you guys are living the dream.... :adore::adore::adore:
maybe after 5-6 years working hard in KL after I get back I can offer one of you a price for the R34s.....I'm sure by that time each of you will have gone up to a R35 with CF goodies.

Where are these rich boys? They can't be THAT rich if they drive GTRs. They should be in a Bentley or Ferrari or Lambo.

If you are talking about DC then you are mistaken cause the proper term for him isn't rich boy but toy boy.. Hahahahahahahahah:thefinger:

---------- Post added at 06:46 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:18 PM ----------

Don't know if you are interested but I do have a pair of Bride LowMax seats. Instead of the usual brown Bride, this is finished in black with carbon fibre backs. Used for maybe 3 months. Forgot I had them so if you are keen let me know.

[PIMPIN];3918216 said:
Well on MEX, as I approached the Putrajaya toll, I bottomed out pretty hard. After the toll, I pulled over and saw water temp going up. But soon it started to drop so I figured was due to the high speeds. After that we stopped at the rest stop. When we left to go home, on the highway my water temp kept going up. So I pulled over to the side, it still did not come down so I played safe and killed it.

Popped the hood and saw some coolant in the bay and looked under the car and saw coolant leaking from bottom of radiator. Called Desmond around 2.30am (N1) cause I had one tow truck guy and he was off. After about 15 mins finally Desmond called back and said tow truck on the way. During that time, I crossed over to the other side of the road leaving my car cause I suddenly remembered Leonard's story of some woman killing 3 people by the road side LOL. At the time, it felt scary so I went to the emergency phones across the road which of course do not work.

I called a friend and he came from Bukit Antarabangsa. This was at 3am already. Then a police car drove by and stopped. I went over and we were chatting and they said they would wait with me until my friend arrived. One of the cops asked me "Ini R34 kan? Kenapa tak lepak dengan budak-budak Silvia dekat rest-stop tadi?" Hahahah not bad man. They were very nice and friendly guys.

Anyways, by this time the engine was cool and we checked the radiator overflow bottle was empty. Tried the dipstick and there was no oil in the block...YET (hahah fingers crossed!). Tow truck arrives at 3.30ish, and so got home by 4am. End of the day, what can you do? It's the name of the game. Adat bermain kereta, the Malays would say, comes with the territory.

If I'm lucky, the damage would be limited to a new radiator which I can live with. Since I did shut-down very quickly, I'm hoping there is no other damage. If there is, then well I guess I'll have to live with that as well LOL.

Ok here's a little follow-up. I haven't managed to get the car to a workshop cause of some moving house stuff this week but earlier this week I inspected the car and there was coolant around where the radiator cap is so I topped-up radiator and got the drivers to run the car around my housing area. The temperature hardly went over 75. It crept slightly higher when sitting in afternoon traffic but once moving and driving normally, the temperature drops to about 70-73.

Today I took the car for another drive around the house and everything seems fine. I believe the radiator cap maybe showing some signs of wear which led it to leaking coolant under extreme temperatures. Nevertheless, I will only feel much better once I've had the car examined properly, hopefully on the weekend. :biggrin:

I looked under the car and engine and I'm inclined to believe that the bottoming-out of the car was coincidental with the temperatures rising and not the cause of it. It was only after I bottomed-out and was sitting by the road after the toll did I realize that the water temperature was high. For the radiator to have suffered any damage seems unlikely given how high its mounted and the fact that the supports are not even dinged.

---------- Post added at 05:21 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:14 PM ----------

I have a pair of these, hardly used! :biggrin:

http://image.nengun.com/catalogue/original/nengun-0902-02-bride-gias_-_low_max_-_gradation.jpg

Bride Low max
if ori.. expect to pay a bomb for it

if fake.. which i doubt for you
i think 1200 to 1300

Yeah, original Brides. I'd let them go for 4.5k but you need to sort out your own rails.

Tell you what, let me get the seats from storage first then you can come and sit in them or something.