A32 30GV - High RPM after Gearbox Change

yes, paying the repair with all the clutch replace is better and is especially true when 3L g.box is hard to come by. And is even better for me since my autobox is LSD is even harder to get here in Malaysia and even in Japan.

LSD mostly avail in 4 season country

nope, LSD give you better control in corner especially take high speed corner

What i did was changing only the clutch plates....Using the 3.0L spare kits.
In Total i spend like 3.3k including the gear oil, parts and workmanship.
Did it in Setapak.

Works like original...Happy now.
Clutch plates? Yours manual trans is it?

---------- Post added at 09:59 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:57 AM ----------

LSD mostly avail in 4 season country
LSD very rare in Ceffie unless u can import it from ur friends/relatives in the US (Nissan Maxima)

SB3.

---------- Post added at 10:14 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:59 AM ----------

Maybe it's bcos Jap Gbox is cheaper to replace than to repair
Repairing Gbox would require workshop to provide warranty, time wastage in dismantling the gears again whilst replacing the whole gbox with a used unit from ie ; Japan does not come with any or with minimum warranty period. Meaning, if your replaced used unit Gbox gives any further problem , the particular workshop will wash its hands thus, you have to get another unit and to pay for further cost incurred.

How long have u replaced the gbox ? Did you change the AT ECU as well? Sometimes, the ECU needs sometime to adapt to your driving habits as well as to interact with the electronics for new calibration.

Hi sb3,

I've been using the gearbox for almost a week now, now on the 2nd tank of fuel. Previous gearbox gave me almost 650km/tank, but this one around 500~550km/tank. So, it's at least 15% extra in fuel consumption, which will be a significant cost in the long run, considering i actually travel at lot (>5000km/month).

Is there any AT ECU there? Does it requires some tuning? I think after one week, the car ECU should be adopting to my driving habits already, if it really can learn it like a fuzzy logic thingy.

---------- Post added at 10:32 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:30 AM ----------

by the way, i heard my mech mentioned about LSD and he actually wanted to point it to me but at that time i didnt care much. Will an LSD caused increase in RPM and thus high fuel consumption?

---------- Post added at 10:32 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:32 AM ----------

by the way, i heard my mech mentioned about LSD and he actually wanted to point it to me but at that time i didnt care much. Will an LSD caused increase in RPM and thus high fuel consumption?

Hi sb3,

I've been using the gearbox for almost a week now, now on the 2nd tank of fuel. Previous gearbox gave me almost 650km/tank, but this one around 500~550km/tank. So, it's at least 15% extra in fuel consumption, which will be a significant cost in the long run, considering i actually travel at lot (>5000km/month).

Is there any AT ECU there? Does it requires some tuning? I think after one week, the car ECU should be adopting to my driving habits already, if it really can learn it like a fuzzy logic thingy.

---------- Post added at 10:32 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:30 AM ----------

---------- Post added at 10:32 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:32 AM ----------

There are actually many types of LSD ie; one way , two ways , 1.5 , If you choose the wrong one you'll have problem doing the 3 point turn ( remember driving license test?). Some of the LSD are excellent for track use but will accelerate your tire wear depending on which side you turn most . Try to check further with your mech b4 installing it on your GB or you already have it installed?

P/s : Increase in RPM will certainly increase the fuel consumption.
SB3.

i been driving full and semi lock LSD, 3 point turn is never a problem for me. One just need to know how the full lock behave and sound when doing turning.

LSD is easily source in Japan.

---------- Post added at 09:46 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:43 AM ----------

LSD will never increase rpm, is nothing to with engine RPM.

yes, the gearbox is already in the car. The fuel consumption is 15% more than the old one. The engine roaring at 3000rpm while cruising at 120km/h, although merely audible. Still undecided whether to stick to current one or take the unknown risks to replace another local 3.0 box. My ori box has minor crack at the factory weld joint, and dont think worth to repair.

Anyway, just confirmed with my mech, there's no LSD in the current box

if the crack is only on the casing, you can send it to engineering shop to weld it.

:biggrin:
yes, the gearbox is already in the car. The fuel consumption is 15% more than the old one. The engine roaring at 3000rpm while cruising at 120km/h, although merely audible. Still undecided whether to stick to current one or take the unknown risks to replace another local 3.0 box. My ori box has minor crack at the factory weld joint, and dont think worth to repair.

Anyway, just confirmed with my mech, there's no LSD in the current box
Something is obviously wrong if your fuel consumption increases by 15%. If you have the time and money , weld back your original gb and swap it back and see if it improves ur consumption.

On second thought , I think its ok if your GB comes with no LSD .It doesn't help much in our cars coz we r not pro-drift racer or track car driver (Are you?) unless you are telling me that you r a member of touge drifters who goes sideways at Ulu Yam roads to Genting Higlands every Saturday Night at tire screeching speed!, hehehe just joking..

Since both gearboxes are yours now, you can swap it to suit your driving needs and satisfaction. Good luck.

SB3.:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

Hi sb3,
swapping back to original gbsure will improve fuel consumption. The main culprit of current high fuel is due to high RPM, nothing else. Unfortunately, my old box not only has the leaking problem, it also engages gears very slow, I think a total overhaul is required. That's why i opted for full repacement previously.

labor cost will be expensive and gear oil will definitely cost a boom.

Please use original Nissan gear oil. you need 7 liter if you take out the box.

Hi sb3,
swapping back to original gbsure will improve fuel consumption. The main culprit of current high fuel is due to high RPM, nothing else. Unfortunately, my old box not only has the leaking problem, it also engages gears very slow, I think a total overhaul is required. That's why i opted for full repacement previously.
Engaging gear slowly? You mean sluggish engagement during load and uphill task or it refuse to change to higher gear after certain high rpm? My AT is sluggish too and it tends to hop to higher/lazier gears when you need power to overtake and its very frustating. And only when you floor the pedal (to the metal) it will drop a gear or 2 to build up the rpm hence, power.

I did get opinions from a few veteran ceffie users . All of them gave me the same answers , these gearboxes were build in such a way to reduce jerkiness and increases ride comfort and don't expect the VTEC auto-box kind of performance , we wont get it. Its a different kind of driving experience.

So, I have no choice but to live with it. (However, at times I will push the power button just to let off steam after a hard days work, hehehe...)

At this juncture, since you already swap the gbox either you get another used gbox(extra $$$ again), repair/overhaul ur ori gbox(strongly not recommended) or just live with the existing Gbox(replaced unit) and go easy on the gas (Not many people can do that, eh...).

P/s: You can always trade-in the existing (high-rpm) gbox to reduce the cost of getting another used unit. This time make sure u have thoroughly tested the gbox (ie; cruising, uphill, downhill, WOT or whatever..) b4 paying the Mech.

SB3.
:biggrin::biggrin:

quick pickup = high torque = hign rpm = syok = press more = high fc

Strongly agree. This set of gearbox-engine combination is like always inviting me to step on it, cos it's really revv-happy, all the way to 4000rpm

---------- Post added at 08:39 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:35 AM ----------

sb3,
thanx for the advice...

Anyway, my prev case of slow engagement is during cold engine, where i shift to D and have to wait for a few seconds b4 the gear engages. This problem seemed to be getting serious (engaging time getting longer), that's why i opted for the gearbox change

you should rev all the way till engine cut. The push is fantastic. It cut somewhere 6k rpm.

BTW, did you check is your OD working?

Weikee,

yes, my OD is working. However, I noticed there's no difference in switching on or off the POWER mode, have not tested on the SNOW mode though. Could it be some wires that have not connected to POWER button that has caused the engine to revv high to provide sufficient power??

Power will hold just hold the gear longer, maybe to around 4000 - 5000 rpm depend how hard you step on the throttle.

Snow will start at 2nd gear.

strange enough, i tried on the Power button today, nothing much difference from non-Power mode. I tried on my old box last time, it surely different from the normal mode. The engine revv higher all the time b4 gear change, but not anymore. I wonder what's wrong...