Guys, i recently did an interesting write up. Just wanna share...
--
Clubs. What's a club? Under the m-w.com dictionary, the definition of clubs are:
3a : an association of persons for some common object usually jointly supported and meeting periodically; also : a group identified by some common characteristic b : the meeting place of a club c : an association of persons participating in a plan by which they agree to make regular payments or purchases in order to secure some advantage
Let me share the experience of a WELL KNOWN SPORTSCAR CLUB that 'my friend' has joined couple of years ago. He has always been a solo driver hanging out with his friends or driving out alone whenever he wants or can. It was simple, fun and precise back then. Then, he got to know some of the drivers that drives similiar 'grade' of cars. After few months of convicing and hanging out with them, he decides to join. It was fun for the 1st couple of months. I mean, hey, how often to you get the 'sense of belonging' where people are some what near your age and drives similiar type cars. I think those who are like my friend knows what I mean. I.e, WOC, BLM, Altezza clubs, etc.
Then, he realised something a miss. Apparently, the friends that he knows well sorta flagged him for joining these clubs saying that 'hey, isnt the purpose of driving a sports car to enjoy the ride quality and chilling out with your buddies? why do u need to pay for membership? the club's not even registered?? does it have annual declaration of its account / treasury??' ... But evertheless, the ignorant friend of mine shrugged them off and continued. The time came when the 'previous webmaster' mysteriously 'dissapeared' and totally quit the car scene. He was kinda anti the club actually. So my friend who were consulted at that time in need, (because there was an event coming up and they needed a new website) what and how it will be done. So he happily said "Ok I'll do it!" the requirement was : be able to have LOTS OF PICTURES! Now guys, it's simple mathematics that more pics = more space. Hence he opted 100GB of online storage capacity. 4 years ago, per annum hosting of that capacity aint cheap right? but he blatantly went for it and bore the cost himself saying that 'ah what the heck, it's just a couple of hundred bucks'...
Soon after, he was promoted to a "committee" status.
As a committe, he has to help out with club activities. There's this particular one that he helped. More than 100 cars showed up (all paying cars as the dinner is held in a famous hotel). Even he himself had to pay. Guess what? When he was at the dinner with his girl friend, he was asked to 'do this, do that, do this and do that'. He didnt get to spend time with his girl and by the time he's done, it ran out of food. Not only for him, some of the paying guests also didnt get to eat much. Most bore grudge but kept it to themselves only venting it to the 'closer ones' they had. There were a few consolation though, there was 'lucky draws'. He told me, he particularly remembered, it was a sad day for a very 'spirited' friend of his who came from Ipoh just to attend the dinner. He stepped out for a cigarette, his name was called up for a set of tires which he was forfeited because he was out for a fag..wtf? He came all the way and nothing? the prize was given to another fella.. And a number of the prize given was recycled porn cd from other members. Great night eh?
My friend felt really fucked up... and beyond words to describe.
As years past, he realises that the 'gearing & frequency' of the members aint that 'right' with what he had on mind. He really aint into the 'illegal drag racing' macho shit especially when his car was 'quite modded' while the rest was just BPU. Imagine, if he wins, people will say you bloody bully! or when he loses, you bloody idiot! spent so much still lose. What's the point right? I totally agreed with my friend. My friend got married and soon he had a full fledged family. He realised that it's too much of a risk to go illegal night drag racing. What if he ends up on Berita Kini with his hands behind his head and cuffed? it's not exactly the prime role model to set for his kid right?
Even so, he was constantly reminded that he's a committee member and he should be helping the club to do this.. that and etc. Which he does.
Soon, he slowly faded away into 'other groups' who drives their car just for the fun of it. i.e night cruises and etc... but still, he attends the weekly or bi-weekly meet ups at local hot spots. Some members have 'migrated' to better cars, some to more expensive rides, some have quit difinitely... that's life isn't it? it's about moving on.. respecting people's choices. There was one time, he went over to 'the next door' stall to chill with his friend. He got flagged by the 'committee' members for NOT SUPPORTING THE CLUB! He was like huh? what? apparently, only 'endorsed' mamak are allowed as the mamak pays for our parking. He was like wtf? he just sat there to catch up with his friends and got flagged?? and he's also a committee member too! wtf?
Ok, everyone's an adult so chill. He just forgive and forget. Then his effort to sponsor the club website has back fired. Apparently 'some people' has spread the news that he's using the website to 'earn money'. Adui, i told my friend, dude, the only lucrative website i know off is ZTH. bwahahaha... (sorry Tom, but seriously, u've done a bloody good effort, my respect to u). Anyone who has that idea is either out to sabo u or plain brainless. So he got abit unsettled and ask the committee members what they think. There's this particular 'average jo' who always try to be neutral and solve issues but always causes havoc. He came out and say, "Why you pay? u mean president didnt pay u ah? wtf, they say u sohai wei.. coz u never give invoice..." so my friend got abit upset and submitted the 2 years invoice that he has paid for the club to the 'president'. Wow.. the reaction was priceless. Saying overpriced and all. IT fellas should know that the cost is justified for 100GB hosting - 450 per annum + domain name registration. Great.. serves my frend right for being such an idiot. Anyways, he got his money back in a very peculiar manner... but that's another story la.
So, as times go, soon after due to budget issues (wat budget? this club dont even have a transparent accounts of the treasurey expenditures of the club), they stopped the hosting and went on to facebook. Yep, famous big club, no website but on facbeook. Even SAVOC has website (no offense, i'm saying this because of pride per model/ make ratio). Anyway, soon the members who has migrated to facebook as well start questioning my friend, why that club only has activities for certain members and not all? aren't every one of them paying members? He was asked because he inherited the 'admin' role from his previous hosting position. Such unfortunate role. He ignored these replies but what can be ignored on the web cant be missed in reality. Sometimes when he meets up with these members, he gets to be asked questions like "Oi Committee! why no activity! tipu kaaa!?" He'd shun away and say, dunno man.. go ask the President.
Then, members starts to dissapear and decline... but recently there's a ressurection of activities as the club has reached a decade in age and a 'bash' is coming up. When he helps spread the activity around, he gets a slap in the face by his friends by saying "Another round of gold digging kaaa" but he politely says, "i dont know man". This declination of activity happened after a big event, a launching of a debit card. Apparently there was a fall out within the committee members and some 'loaded' members as well. They did some investment bla bla etc etc but things went sour. As to details of it, my friend dont know.
Then this 'average jo' decided to give this "club's" a rest and start of on his own. At first, it was only the same make, then he kept asking my friend to gather his group and merge with his. He got a backing of a very powerful and rich person. I told my friend, dude, u on weed or wat? since when u need power and money to have a happy session with your friends? u can be poor and unknown, yet have your own cliques AND HAVE FUN! WTF man?
So ok la.. he couldn't give a shit about it and rolled on. Then one fine day, he got a msg from a famous 'group of people'. Not clubs, but famous group of people. Well known, resourceful and 'able to deliver but no nonsense' type of people. They need 20 cars from my friend as he knows that my friend can deliver these cars as he has not done it once before but many times. You see, my friend has contacts with cars that looks .. well, extra ordinary looking cars. So he asked, is this a club thingy or what? but these group of people say not really, they just want 'wild ones' .. the type that he has conjured up in the past.
So he contacted his friends, who so happened to be 'NOT A PART OF THIS CLUB'. Soon after, 'the club' found out about it and also gets invited. Out of the blue, this 'average jo' dude called up my friend and say, "ok, how many numbers u got? coz our club bringing 10 cars" my friend was like wtf? he already has 14 cars and what? this club brings 10, that equates to 24? best part is, the 'not part of this club' attendees are not exactly 'favourable' to the presence of 'this club'. So he gets stuck in the middle and he made a call to the organizers and told them about it.
A few days later, he was told by the organizers that they will still take in from both sides but will be displayed at different locations. So 'no worries and no problem' dude! So my friend thought. Then 'average jo' posted on a private facebook event page that my friend created that "10 cars from 'this club' will come" and got flagging from some of them. My friend got in, and explained the situation. Guess what? this 'average jo' made a call to the president of this club and god knows what he said, the president went balistics and posted some macho retaliation shit on his facebook wall. Even his wife posted there and called (suggested) my friend "snakes, tigers, lions' etc.. basically stands for weasel? Then this "Average Jo" go post a link of the private event with one of the members stating that "this is not 'the club' event".
Is this plain arrogance? this event is marked private. Moreover, why must it always involve that club? Must we all bow to that club? it it because it's assumed to be high and mighty? Do BLM go beside the road, go on their knees and sembah V6-sixers? No right? it's about mutual respect, mutual tolerance... 1Malaysia. 1CarClub.. 1 purpose = to enjoy the rides!
It's just a simple outing. You see the mentality of these so called committee? the president instead of calling my friend, he go post it in facebook (which later my friend tried to call him, he say driving, need 'longer time to chat' out these issues-wtf?). The "average jo" who happens to be the vice president, instigated matters by posting the details of an EVENT marked 'PRIVATE' out in the open. That directly violates the term 'private'. If a club is run by people like these, i guess there's no future.
Stop the ignorance AND plain arrogance. My friend has had enough. Within this short period of time, he has been labelled so many things that he's just plain fed up. Honestly guys, next time you wanna join a club, especially a big sports car club. Think twice. You may be happier driving yourself or with your friends.
-- All names are fictional. Any similiarity is absolutely 'coincidental'
--
Clubs. What's a club? Under the m-w.com dictionary, the definition of clubs are:
3a : an association of persons for some common object usually jointly supported and meeting periodically; also : a group identified by some common characteristic b : the meeting place of a club c : an association of persons participating in a plan by which they agree to make regular payments or purchases in order to secure some advantage
Let me share the experience of a WELL KNOWN SPORTSCAR CLUB that 'my friend' has joined couple of years ago. He has always been a solo driver hanging out with his friends or driving out alone whenever he wants or can. It was simple, fun and precise back then. Then, he got to know some of the drivers that drives similiar 'grade' of cars. After few months of convicing and hanging out with them, he decides to join. It was fun for the 1st couple of months. I mean, hey, how often to you get the 'sense of belonging' where people are some what near your age and drives similiar type cars. I think those who are like my friend knows what I mean. I.e, WOC, BLM, Altezza clubs, etc.
Then, he realised something a miss. Apparently, the friends that he knows well sorta flagged him for joining these clubs saying that 'hey, isnt the purpose of driving a sports car to enjoy the ride quality and chilling out with your buddies? why do u need to pay for membership? the club's not even registered?? does it have annual declaration of its account / treasury??' ... But evertheless, the ignorant friend of mine shrugged them off and continued. The time came when the 'previous webmaster' mysteriously 'dissapeared' and totally quit the car scene. He was kinda anti the club actually. So my friend who were consulted at that time in need, (because there was an event coming up and they needed a new website) what and how it will be done. So he happily said "Ok I'll do it!" the requirement was : be able to have LOTS OF PICTURES! Now guys, it's simple mathematics that more pics = more space. Hence he opted 100GB of online storage capacity. 4 years ago, per annum hosting of that capacity aint cheap right? but he blatantly went for it and bore the cost himself saying that 'ah what the heck, it's just a couple of hundred bucks'...
Soon after, he was promoted to a "committee" status.
As a committe, he has to help out with club activities. There's this particular one that he helped. More than 100 cars showed up (all paying cars as the dinner is held in a famous hotel). Even he himself had to pay. Guess what? When he was at the dinner with his girl friend, he was asked to 'do this, do that, do this and do that'. He didnt get to spend time with his girl and by the time he's done, it ran out of food. Not only for him, some of the paying guests also didnt get to eat much. Most bore grudge but kept it to themselves only venting it to the 'closer ones' they had. There were a few consolation though, there was 'lucky draws'. He told me, he particularly remembered, it was a sad day for a very 'spirited' friend of his who came from Ipoh just to attend the dinner. He stepped out for a cigarette, his name was called up for a set of tires which he was forfeited because he was out for a fag..wtf? He came all the way and nothing? the prize was given to another fella.. And a number of the prize given was recycled porn cd from other members. Great night eh?
My friend felt really fucked up... and beyond words to describe.
As years past, he realises that the 'gearing & frequency' of the members aint that 'right' with what he had on mind. He really aint into the 'illegal drag racing' macho shit especially when his car was 'quite modded' while the rest was just BPU. Imagine, if he wins, people will say you bloody bully! or when he loses, you bloody idiot! spent so much still lose. What's the point right? I totally agreed with my friend. My friend got married and soon he had a full fledged family. He realised that it's too much of a risk to go illegal night drag racing. What if he ends up on Berita Kini with his hands behind his head and cuffed? it's not exactly the prime role model to set for his kid right?
Even so, he was constantly reminded that he's a committee member and he should be helping the club to do this.. that and etc. Which he does.
Soon, he slowly faded away into 'other groups' who drives their car just for the fun of it. i.e night cruises and etc... but still, he attends the weekly or bi-weekly meet ups at local hot spots. Some members have 'migrated' to better cars, some to more expensive rides, some have quit difinitely... that's life isn't it? it's about moving on.. respecting people's choices. There was one time, he went over to 'the next door' stall to chill with his friend. He got flagged by the 'committee' members for NOT SUPPORTING THE CLUB! He was like huh? what? apparently, only 'endorsed' mamak are allowed as the mamak pays for our parking. He was like wtf? he just sat there to catch up with his friends and got flagged?? and he's also a committee member too! wtf?
Ok, everyone's an adult so chill. He just forgive and forget. Then his effort to sponsor the club website has back fired. Apparently 'some people' has spread the news that he's using the website to 'earn money'. Adui, i told my friend, dude, the only lucrative website i know off is ZTH. bwahahaha... (sorry Tom, but seriously, u've done a bloody good effort, my respect to u). Anyone who has that idea is either out to sabo u or plain brainless. So he got abit unsettled and ask the committee members what they think. There's this particular 'average jo' who always try to be neutral and solve issues but always causes havoc. He came out and say, "Why you pay? u mean president didnt pay u ah? wtf, they say u sohai wei.. coz u never give invoice..." so my friend got abit upset and submitted the 2 years invoice that he has paid for the club to the 'president'. Wow.. the reaction was priceless. Saying overpriced and all. IT fellas should know that the cost is justified for 100GB hosting - 450 per annum + domain name registration. Great.. serves my frend right for being such an idiot. Anyways, he got his money back in a very peculiar manner... but that's another story la.
So, as times go, soon after due to budget issues (wat budget? this club dont even have a transparent accounts of the treasurey expenditures of the club), they stopped the hosting and went on to facebook. Yep, famous big club, no website but on facbeook. Even SAVOC has website (no offense, i'm saying this because of pride per model/ make ratio). Anyway, soon the members who has migrated to facebook as well start questioning my friend, why that club only has activities for certain members and not all? aren't every one of them paying members? He was asked because he inherited the 'admin' role from his previous hosting position. Such unfortunate role. He ignored these replies but what can be ignored on the web cant be missed in reality. Sometimes when he meets up with these members, he gets to be asked questions like "Oi Committee! why no activity! tipu kaaa!?" He'd shun away and say, dunno man.. go ask the President.
Then, members starts to dissapear and decline... but recently there's a ressurection of activities as the club has reached a decade in age and a 'bash' is coming up. When he helps spread the activity around, he gets a slap in the face by his friends by saying "Another round of gold digging kaaa" but he politely says, "i dont know man". This declination of activity happened after a big event, a launching of a debit card. Apparently there was a fall out within the committee members and some 'loaded' members as well. They did some investment bla bla etc etc but things went sour. As to details of it, my friend dont know.
Then this 'average jo' decided to give this "club's" a rest and start of on his own. At first, it was only the same make, then he kept asking my friend to gather his group and merge with his. He got a backing of a very powerful and rich person. I told my friend, dude, u on weed or wat? since when u need power and money to have a happy session with your friends? u can be poor and unknown, yet have your own cliques AND HAVE FUN! WTF man?
So ok la.. he couldn't give a shit about it and rolled on. Then one fine day, he got a msg from a famous 'group of people'. Not clubs, but famous group of people. Well known, resourceful and 'able to deliver but no nonsense' type of people. They need 20 cars from my friend as he knows that my friend can deliver these cars as he has not done it once before but many times. You see, my friend has contacts with cars that looks .. well, extra ordinary looking cars. So he asked, is this a club thingy or what? but these group of people say not really, they just want 'wild ones' .. the type that he has conjured up in the past.
So he contacted his friends, who so happened to be 'NOT A PART OF THIS CLUB'. Soon after, 'the club' found out about it and also gets invited. Out of the blue, this 'average jo' dude called up my friend and say, "ok, how many numbers u got? coz our club bringing 10 cars" my friend was like wtf? he already has 14 cars and what? this club brings 10, that equates to 24? best part is, the 'not part of this club' attendees are not exactly 'favourable' to the presence of 'this club'. So he gets stuck in the middle and he made a call to the organizers and told them about it.
A few days later, he was told by the organizers that they will still take in from both sides but will be displayed at different locations. So 'no worries and no problem' dude! So my friend thought. Then 'average jo' posted on a private facebook event page that my friend created that "10 cars from 'this club' will come" and got flagging from some of them. My friend got in, and explained the situation. Guess what? this 'average jo' made a call to the president of this club and god knows what he said, the president went balistics and posted some macho retaliation shit on his facebook wall. Even his wife posted there and called (suggested) my friend "snakes, tigers, lions' etc.. basically stands for weasel? Then this "Average Jo" go post a link of the private event with one of the members stating that "this is not 'the club' event".
Is this plain arrogance? this event is marked private. Moreover, why must it always involve that club? Must we all bow to that club? it it because it's assumed to be high and mighty? Do BLM go beside the road, go on their knees and sembah V6-sixers? No right? it's about mutual respect, mutual tolerance... 1Malaysia. 1CarClub.. 1 purpose = to enjoy the rides!
It's just a simple outing. You see the mentality of these so called committee? the president instead of calling my friend, he go post it in facebook (which later my friend tried to call him, he say driving, need 'longer time to chat' out these issues-wtf?). The "average jo" who happens to be the vice president, instigated matters by posting the details of an EVENT marked 'PRIVATE' out in the open. That directly violates the term 'private'. If a club is run by people like these, i guess there's no future.
Stop the ignorance AND plain arrogance. My friend has had enough. Within this short period of time, he has been labelled so many things that he's just plain fed up. Honestly guys, next time you wanna join a club, especially a big sports car club. Think twice. You may be happier driving yourself or with your friends.
-- All names are fictional. Any similiarity is absolutely 'coincidental'

... i can see snobbish ppl ... =)