3S-FE,GE,GTE Discussion/Gathering

ST185 ? Whoa I was thinking of getting it too .. around May need to add another car to my family cause sister wants my st171 .. Your celica is with 3S-FE ahh .. Wait and see hows the response from 3s users

that the best engine i can get with my budget =( , i prefer N/A from turbo, rite now, if there is money i would like to change my cam, =D, if its cheap =P

---------------------------
some info about 3S generation 1 to 7

Change to hi-cam ? 3S-FE is built to provide low-end torque. If you change to hi-cam, during hi speed or revving above 6k, engine might damage faster because the redline for FE is 6k rpm only. The engine might not provide the optimum output. You want acceleration or top speed ?

---------- Post added at 03:35 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:29 PM ----------

Where is your location ? The gathering should be around Subang area

yeah, my friend said i should try if i wanna performance, dunno about the damage i risk for the engine, so, i cant do anything with my engine? /sweat, huuuuuuu~

im at shah alam,

hey guys...i would love to join in the 3s owners club... am transplanting a 3sge in to my st150... just waiting for the wiring to get done! and subang area would be great!

i think driving NA car is more enjoyable..
can rev high rpm without woring damaging the engine..
previously drive ae92 with blacktop..
always rev near to redline before shifting..
and only did +-5500 rpm to reach 180 km/h

in my st171 with 3sgte, also need +-5500 rpm to reach 180km/h but the redline only 6500rpm..
blacktop redling is 8000 rpm..much more to go..
and when want to overtake, with NA engine, just drop gear and you will get the power..
with turbocharge engine, need to drop earlier and develop the boost so can have huge power to overtake..
but overall, for long distance, hillclimb, 3sgte perform better..
fuel consumption not really differ..almost same between 3sgte and blacktop
but when it come to very sharp corner road like at genting, NA engine have advantage..
just my opinion..
different person will have different opinion..

Hi guys :itsme:, Im 3s owner too. Nice to meet u all at here. Current own a Gen 5 Celica with 3S-GTE. Cheers..:biggrin:

i c, so NA perform better, while cornering, i like to drop where ever i like, redline then shift, but, with my current absorber, it feel funny, seem like i wanna turn upside down, haha, i just start driving, so i dont have experience (BTW my tachometer is broken, i cant c my RPM, i depend on my engine sound, but now, it have funny sound, like a jet, "zriiinnnggggg" when i overram or speeding), so is my engine ok? or it almost sprlit to half? huhuhuhu, help me,, i dont know where the sound come from

hi eric, =) .. is your car color grey + black?

Hi nick.. My car red color..See Avarta photo.. hi hi.. :biggrin:
Regarding ur suspension is soft, is that original??if wan to increase stable during coner suggest change to Adjustable type if u dun mind lost the confirtable. By the way, RPM meter is improtant for u to monitor ur engine top rev, if over will lost power range. Wish u to replce or bolt on type also can..

Nice to meet u too.:biggrin:

Whoa, tachometer spoiled? Go halfcut shop check see if got replacement or not la ... the sound of your "zriiing" i also experienced before .. you shifted little bit earlier & then step on the accelerator hard. Thats the sound you get. I think the clutch slipped or maybe its the drivetrain chain sound

Nice, we got more response now :D Whoever wants to join the mamak session, pls fill in this form:

Name:
Car:
Engine:
i c, so NA perform better, while cornering, i like to drop where ever i like, redline then shift, but, with my current absorber, it feel funny, seem like i wanna turn upside down, haha, i just start driving, so i dont have experience (BTW my tachometer is broken, i cant c my RPM, i depend on my engine sound, but now, it have funny sound, like a jet, "zriiinnnggggg" when i overram or speeding), so is my engine ok? or it almost sprlit to half? huhuhuhu, help me,, i dont know where the sound come from

i have 1 st185 meter to sell if you are interested

my clutch sound? dont really know, coz i dont shift any gear when i rev,

st185, isnt it turbo? my engine is FE, can suit well? if so, pm me the price =D

that the best engine i can get with my budget =( , i prefer N/A from turbo, rite now, if there is money i would like to change my cam, =D, if its cheap =P

---------------------------
some info about 3S generation 1 to 7

hi bro,

if u are a racing kaki, dont spend on N/A engine specialy for 3SFE which i used to have. Get at least 3SGE or 3SGE BEAMS, 3SGTE if u wanna go turbo

plus 3SFE is not the best N/A engine.....its meant to be economical

my 2 cents

---------- Post added at 04:55 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:50 PM ----------

i think driving NA car is more enjoyable..
can rev high rpm without woring damaging the engine..
previously drive ae92 with blacktop..
always rev near to redline before shifting..
and only did +-5500 rpm to reach 180 km/h

in my st171 with 3sgte, also need +-5500 rpm to reach 180km/h but the redline only 6500rpm..
blacktop redling is 8000 rpm..much more to go..
and when want to overtake, with NA engine, just drop gear and you will get the power..
with turbocharge engine, need to drop earlier and develop the boost so can have huge power to overtake..
but overall, for long distance, hillclimb, 3sgte perform better..
fuel consumption not really differ..almost same between 3sgte and blacktop
but when it come to very sharp corner road like at genting, NA engine have advantage..
just my opinion..

different person will have different opinion..

hi bro,

whats the advantage of NA in corners? just curious:hmmmm:

so how much if im gonna spend if i wanna performance (N/A) type? like 3S-GE BEAM never heard of them, ( are they st202 model? or 205?) is it available in this country? how much for half cut - including wiring dashboard, etc.. etc...

right now my car seems to be high rev when idling, dunno whats wrong =(, is it normal?

3S-FE not for racing. Its built for low-end torque & fuel efficiency. But anyway, still consider a powerful engine compared to other NA. Yeah i suggest at least a 3SGE if you want performance.

---------- Post added at 05:14 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:09 PM ----------

3S-GE Beam is from Altezza. 3S-GE mostly from MR2 & Celica.

just tried 3S-FE from KL to kuantan, RM 40 x 2 for 120 ~140kmph, is it okay? performance? just 170kmph i tried, , im not kaki racing, also afraid of summons

altezza, =( seems expensive, hmmm~ guess i just stay with my FE till blown up, then i change other

http://www.mudah.my/Altezza-3SGE-engine-4853868.htm http://www.mudah.my/Altezza-3SGE-AT-halfcut-5198703.htm
Ask the seller :D I also want to know the price for it. :biggrin:

hmm, no ecu, not for me, need to wait till i have my budget,

this one interest me, but dunno i should take or not, hmm

http://www.mudah.my/MR2-3SGE-engine-3888786.htm?last=1