Brakes - Single pot, twin pot & 4 pot

foofis

Hello zth ppl,

Yesterday I went to chat with a mech who is very pro mod halfcut into local cars, I was asking his opinion on braking system best for hillclimb and downhill. I said I want a kind of brakes that, press half slow down, press all lock the wheel. This is what he share with me;

Single pot (big caliper)
- Act just like stock factory single pot, press half to slow down, press 80% to stop the car, press all to lock the wheel.

Twin pot (big caliper)
- This one very powerful, apply some pressure the brake will stop the car, but more like "on-off" switch and ezily lock the wheel and might skid during emergency.

4 pot (Big caliper)
- This one acts like single pot, very very responsive and give feed back to the driver. But the braking power is better than twin pot, yet doesnt lock the wheel easily, driver can feel it thus giving maximum control especially hillclimb n downhill.

So, I hope if any zth members already change to twin pot and 4 pot, hope to get some feedbacks on how accurate the above statements is. Thanks :)

thanks bro, so anyone out there is using 4 pots ? I need some experience sharing, thanks

my opinion, for street use twin pot is more than enough..4pot is too hard core for me unless u want to go for track..plus 4pot brake pad is more expensive..

i was using single pot (1.6/1.8 brakes) on my wira last time n then changed to twin pot...
feels dat the initial braking response for the single pot is better (minimal) compared to twin pot....
but then, twin pot is more consistent on hard braking, where it wont get heat up or faded as compared to single pot....
n i've tried driving my fren's car where he moded nissan 4 pot in...the brake feels doesnt feel good at all...need to press the pedal quite a lot to feel the brakes....i didnt try on hard braking....coz got no confident at all.....
this is my personal experience la...hope it helps....

btw, twin pot and 4 pot brake pads is more o less the same ma...correct me if i'm wrong...

big difference between twin pot nad 4 pot, if you are on the track. Twin pots wont do any good after a few laps and you will be heading into the sand trap.

For street use and mild mannered driving, twin pot is more than sufficient.

i agree too.....twin pots are better than 4pots......

..for normal driving, 2 pots with reliable brake pads are good enough for braking. So far so good for my drive...

4 pot have more progressive feel compared to twin pot. 4 pot anytime.

if money not objection....4pot is the brake to choose...

especially who likes spirited drive (touge trackday mini race etc)

Don't need 4pot la...after some explanations from friends, I get to understand more about it. Actually like what the bros have mentioned.

Twin Port for street use is good enough. You are not driving a 300 or 400HPcar...don't need 4pot which you are actually overdoing it and wasting unnecessary money since it is not cheap.

I tried my friend's SEG before with twin port. Is really good enough for me. Very responsive and kinda got poisoned after trying his car's twin port brakes. I would say is really good and recommended.

I almost whack a car when I was driving his car and he was driving my car that time. Cuz a car came out from a junction all of a sudden when I was so near. Managed to brake comfortably without car jerking in front cuz traveling at 80km/h+ I think. Is like you are really controlling the car and perform what you wanted it to do.

In short, is really good enough for street use :top: :wink:

this morning i saw g wish with upgraded brembos.looked like 4pots 2 me...will take some shots when able.belongs 2 a manager where i work.wonder how much it cost him...segan wanna ask hehe

when i 1st saw oso tot is caliper cover but when walk nearer can see huge rotor n wat looks like 4pot caliper.confirm not chiplak haha.my eye not that bad kot :rofl:

haha, could be ori then....waiting for u to upload the pics bro......

ori single pot and evo twin pot and aftermarket 4pot, which one heavier?
cos aftermarket using different material so im not sure...
but lighter always better for handling right? :driver:

ori single pot and evo twin pot and aftermarket 4pot, which one heavier?
cos aftermarket using different material so im not sure...
but lighter always better for handling right? :driver:
depends... normal iron cast twinpot is alwiz heavier than single pot... but fc3s 4pot seems to be lighter than evo iron cast twinpot....