Brakes - Single pot, twin pot & 4 pot

yeah nissan r32gtst 4pot can fit in 15inch rims. its the same as the previous "brembo" pic posted earlier... if i'm not mistaken. FC3S 4pot can also fit 15inch rims...

I previously used a 2 Piston front & single at rear for my previous satria turbo and the braking was good, considering the weight of the car and its a hatchback (heavy at the front), changed the servo to evo's brake servo as well, excellent & sufficient set up i must say.

My current car comes with 4 Piston caliper front & single for rear, also upgraded the disc to slotted disc at front and oversize rear with steel hoses. The braking feel is excellent, but considering that this car is a coupe, the rear overhang + the braking power creates a nervous feel for sudden hard braking on public roads, however on track or twisty roads its good because u can just tap the pedal to get more braking power instead of stepping the pedal for a few seconds.

thanks mkmd,
nice/thick wallet is not the question, may refer on the first post, the topic's agenda. there are plenty of 4pots lying in halfcut shops which is ranging 600-800 which is not expensive as new ones, and with the help of machineshop everything is possible. im researching between 2pot and 4pot braking respond. so far alot 2pot users. now like to hear some 4pot users' experience especially track n downhill/rally drivers. appreciate if any 4pot users can share the maximum braking effiency like from 80kmh to 20kmh in a very late braking way, and how much distance needed to slow down..hit a corner, the out of it (more techically experience sharing)

:)

ya bro, i agree with u..lots of 4 pots lying in workshops..BUT they are heavy. unless you are not meticulous about power to weight ratio, it should be no problem. thats why i stated the floated ones, (project mu, alcon, etc...) are less heavier but needs some money fork to get in touch with it.

---------- Post added at 05:00 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:58 PM ----------

if the context is proton, i think twinpot + pmu rotors + pmu pads + evo twin layer servo will be more than sufficient already. fade resistant, excellent pedal feel, not too heavy sprung weight.

this setup will be a bit expensive due to the pads n rotors. but guaranteed to give u braking confidence in whatever driving conditions, be it on trackdays, winding roads, open highways etc...

proven in his ol' days...hihihihi

---------- Post added at 05:02 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:00 PM ----------

yeah nissan r32gtst 4pot can fit in 15inch rims. its the same as the previous "brembo" pic posted earlier... if i'm not mistaken. FC3S 4pot can also fit 15inch rims...

yup i second that. confirmed it is from R32.
combined weight of em' is approximately 20-21kg. i've already weighted em'.

mkmd,
thanks, there is also a friend mentioning to me 4pots are heavy, also fear understeer while hardbraking. but I like to hear more ppl share especially 4pot on a heavy sedan. the most important is the braking consistancy respond, and the limit of 4pot in resisting brake fade.

massive,
your sharing is most valueable bro, thanks ! but according to your setup 4pot front n single pot rear, do you experience and understeer during hardbraking from 80kmh - 40kmh (especially hairpins) ? and can share what size of rims/tyre using ? if 16" would be perfect, 15" will much better for hillclimb/rally/autoX.

lets guess,
Merz E-Class wit AMG 4 pots front & 2 pots rear, while BMW 5 Series wit single pot front & rear...
which 1 do u guys think will given more bite & more shorter distance when braking from 100kph-20kph...???

aturo, me thinks the rim is too big for the rotor to brake in time for performance driving. normal street use, emergency brake also might face either brake fade or sudden lock. hmm hmm

i also think the rims too big...but some ppl prefer looks to function. one man's meat is another's poison. as long as they happy enuff la haha

wah...sa70 tuh...
but from my opinion ah. if those brembos are original, will costs a bomb rite? at least rm4k....
but y u using taiwan sa70's? he could afford ori ones....
to me it looks like fake...i might be wrong....

to get the truth, u need to ask him bro...

---------- Post added at 03:16 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:15 PM ----------

if its real it could be twin pots...cos that rim cant clear 4 pots

i dun think the rims ori...i wanted to stuff my phone in between the spokes so can get the inside photo but the guard was already looking at me one kind so better not...wait he report to the mgr n i got some explaining to do hehehe. i'll ask him one day when i pass him..but never deal with him b4 so a litle wierd if suddenly ask if rims n brakes how much hahaha

those are definitely not brembos. the SUMITOMO logo clearly written there. those are nissan r32 gtst (RB20DET) 4pot brakes hahaha...

thanks. i was wondering about the sumitomo embossing there. so his secret exposed...means he send his calipers for re-spraying...but gotta say the workmanship is good...

lets guess,
Merz E-Class wit AMG 4 pots front & 2 pots rear, while BMW 5 Series wit single pot front & rear...
which 1 do u guys think will given more bite & more shorter distance when braking from 100kph-20kph...???

i wanna say the 5 series will win but by logic the AMG should win cos better brakes...but how bout prolonged braking?

all...i am just wondering bout this...i always tot unsprung weight is really really bad...so if lets say i have a 6pot, a 4pot, a 2 pot n a single pot which all weigh the same and installed on the same car with no other variables...which would perform best? in terms of best single braking session n like newbienissan said...downhill braking with continous hard braking...

also, how does the heat dissipate differently between 1,2,4,6 pots? wont more pots help average out and magnify the force applied onto the rotors by the pads? also wont more pots cause more of the heat to be transfered onto the calipers which help dissipate the heat?

good question, i like to hear from ppl's experience on this too :)

massive,
your sharing is most valueable bro, thanks ! but according to your setup 4pot front n single pot rear, do you experience and understeer during hardbraking from 80kmh - 40kmh (especially hairpins) ? and can share what size of rims/tyre using ? if 16" would be perfect, 15" will much better for hillclimb/rally/autoX.

The setup of 4F & 1R is a standard feature of the car, the only upgrade that i did is the slotted disc & steel braided hoses. Understeering not really affected by size of calipers (what I understand, correct me if im wrong) under / oversteer setting is adjusted at my Dampers & tyre press. At the moment Im using 17inch rims 215/45 Series tyres.

For my previous satria, it uses a 4 pot caliper which i belive is a nissan 4pot caliper at the front and single at rear. however the caliper is jammed and will not release when u step off from the brake pedal. So i decided to change it to a 2pot Evo caliper. if i can recall, the 4 pot at satria does not gives an understeer feedback when cornering. That time im using a 16 inch 205/40 size tyre.

allright, so rectified that 4pot front, single pot rear wont cause understeer during hard braking entering corner...hmmm. anyway, can u remember how much was the nissan 4pot's brakepads cost ? thnx

The brakepads, was around RM 250-400 depending on the brand, but I recalled my regular workshop offered me RM 250 for a 500 degree C brake pads for the front 4 pot caliper. The brand was puma... something :biggrin: can't recall. Used it during trackdays & genting. Not bad. Also considering the car was light :biggrin: what car are u driving bro?

newbienissan....

4pot or single pot infront wont cause understeer or anything...

but brake-force distribution would "introduce" to understeer or oversteer....

thats mean when there's more brake force in front compared to rear..front tyre would locked..thus cannot steer...then the car tends to understeer...

when more brake force on rear....when braking the rear tyre would locked easier thus the car prone to become oversteer....or worse...snap-oversteer.....(which happens when less expected)

-this explains why most race/rally cars would be equipped with manual brake-force distributor control knob in the cabin....

the most important is the braking consistancy respond, and the limit of 4pot in resisting brake fade.

the size of calipers doesn't directly affect brake fade. it is the brake pads, the rotor and also the brake fluid that affects brake fade. you can have a good caliper on a stock rotor and stock pads and still get brake fade when you go through multiple corners hard and fast.