MGB GT 1969 engine

DuKe

anyone knows wut other engine can i use on a MGB GT 1969?....wanna rebuilt da whole car back...dad hasnt use it for years and da engine kaput dy...anyone know which other engine can fit??...pls help

http://www.mgbexperience.com/phorum/index.php?f=28

my friend trolls there.

thnx for da info ..but anyone knows wut other engine can fit in it?..anyway its a 1.8liter car...rear wheel

I'd say rebuild the ori engine ... then it'll become a true classic. Check out those Brit classic restorer. Parts are plenty ... as long as there's $$$$$$$$$

too exp ler if wanna rebuild da entire engine...and da parts are hard to get in malaysia,gotta import and da delivery cost will kill me..sigh...sumore wanna use as drift car..hehehe

I've a 3.5 Range Rover V8 engine if u're interested hehehe...

Beter than the crappy 1.8, lighter and faster. Hehehe
Thats the ideal engine plant for the MGB GT.
Why do u want to use that car for drifting...
Yours a 4 speed or does it have the over drive option?
Yours the chrome bumper?

I dont think parts should be that costly. Did u take the trouble to check out the parts yet?
U could try going down the Sin Tong Bee near Times Square.
What ever it is dont mess up a classic..
U want some old junk to drift get something like a KE70 lah....
Or u can buy an MG Midget Mk I or a MkII from me.
Keke.

waa...3.5 v8 engine...heard of it from da mgbexperience forum...3.5 wor...damn... da roadtax damn high ler..sumore im jz a student..no job aso..
Anyway its da 4 speed version wif crome bumpers..ive been checkin out parts on ebay and sum overseas mg forum..its expensive ler..sumore im settled in ipoh...
hehe no $$ to buy and rebuilt KE70 so try dizz car lo haha chasis sudah ader...btw wut u selling la..got MG midget Mk sumore...hmm how much is da rover engine...hehe jz to enquire

BabyGodzillaGTi-R said:
What ever it is dont mess up a classic..
U want some old junk to drift get something like a KE70 lah....
Or u can buy an MG Midget Mk I or a MkII from me.
Keke.

Totally agree. Don't mess the CLASSIC. You will regret it if you did that. MGB is one of true classic car. If no money now ... there's no harm to let the thing lying there ..... do full refurbish when you collec enuff $$$$$ :smile:

Join the local MG Club here lah..... Honnestly i think its dumb to mess up the origins of a car unless u really have no sentimental value then go ahead....
Some more if u're really interested in drifting how the hell are u going to find an lsd for it? U will end up welding the diff and when the axle break then where are u going to find the parts?

Range Rover engine? going rate just for engine alone for a 3.5 is 5k.

Why everyone like drifting so much....... Just only to show off to people. Spectator sport.

got da website of da club?
haha ur rite...im jz playing around la..ish..my dad will kill me if i do stuffs to da car...now it jz needs an engine...any other engine beside da rover? 3.5cc is too much ler...i mean da cc

Hey bro... dont mess up a GT la..... sighs... if it is in such a condition that you say it is, dont la....

can almost feel pain already imagining someone cutting the frame to fit in a V8 Landy engine... :) :)

the MGB GT 1969 has all mechanical engine... shouldnt be no problem after oil change, carburettor cleaning, new battery for the ol skool... i wish u didn't mutate it wit other engines... and juz keep it stock. FYI, the MGB GT is quite precious vintage in its original condition and once modded off the ori spec, it'll no more be the special car it is.

da engine really really in bad condition ler...sigh..dunno wher to find da another ori replacement engine...i found some on ebay but dey dun deliver....if dey do aso....delivery cost!! haha damn

Boink Boink said:
Hey bro... dont mess up a GT la..... sighs... if it is in such a condition that you say it is, dont la....

can almost feel pain already imagining someone cutting the frame to fit in a V8 Landy engine... :) :)

Just curious why do u say its sounds quite silly to drop in a Rover V8? It is just a suggestion as it is a common conversion to drop it in and very straightforward. No cutting of frames. And its actually lighter than the original A series engine on the contrary to what most ppl think V8s are heavy...
Bottom line there is such a thing as a MGBGT V8 off the factory.

Hehehe.

BabyGodzillaGTi-R said:
Hey Boggysv,

u by chance into classic cars too?

I'm not exactly a "classic car" person...but my neighbour is

He once introduced me to a miura owner...sat in the car and I wet my pants on the spot.

ok, back to main topic.

I had a talk with him about this topic just now, and this is all I can remember

V8 IS THE WAY TO GO...ONLY THE V8 IS THE OPTIMAL CHOICE...V8V8V8V8....NOTHING BEATS THE ROVER V8 IN COMPABILITY.....V6 ARE FOR WUSSIES.....

1) the rover(either from rover, land rover, or range rover) 3.5 V8 is one of the most popular/simple choice, I believe you dont have to worry about roadtax due to the classic car tax exemption?

He said:"If that lad has to ask , he will find himself in a puddle of shit if he goes for the 3.9 and above engines.(has EFI, better emmission and FC, but you are not gonna drive it everyday, right?)"

Engine mountings may be "similar" , but things such as pumps cranks and wirings will make it very very susah. The car would be "drivable" after the engine conversion, but not complete...lots more to be done.

2) Induction/Electrical systems are a PITA.

3)Heat problems..especially in malaysia.

4)..our conversation steered off to women and other stuffs due to the booze...sorry dude

he sent me these few pages, but I'm too dammed lazy to read.

enjoy yourself.

http://www.mgcars.org.uk/mgb.html#MGBGT

http://www.mgcars.org.uk/v8_conversions/rogv8.html

http://www.mgcars.org.uk/pdf/v8_mgb.pdf

BabyGodzillaGTi-R said:
Just curious why do u say its sounds quite silly to drop in a Rover V8? It is just a suggestion as it is a common conversion to drop it in and very straightforward. No cutting of frames. And its actually lighter than the original A series engine on the contrary to what most ppl think V8s are heavy...
Bottom line there is such a thing as a MGBGT V8 off the factory.

Hehehe.

yup, even easier than our wira>evo conversions....well...sorta

jpj wont really "know", coz you still have the "rover" sign there:biggrin:
mg rover, land rover, range rover..heck, even TVR use the same base for their V8 engine

thnx alot for da useful info bro's...really appreciate all of dem

Yeah lor i'm damn tempted to do that conversion too.... Well one day lah.... But the thing is that the car wont be original anymore. Hehe i like Rover V8s..... Best kept secret... Just lurve the sound.... Well it was just a crazy thought as i've a 3.5 EFi lying around thats from my Classic Rangie... Would be interesting if its a 4.6 or better still a 5 litre V8.... But the thing is i sadly dont own an oil field... Still dependant and a poor student. Ppl here love high screaming, rev the shit out feeling of ponies..... I love low end shove. Pity we Malaysians miss that no thanks to our road structure.
Suddenly that even got me thinking, is it possible to drop in a Mini Cooper S 1275GT engine into a MG Midget?

So lucky i want to sit in a Muira. Glad to know there are some ppl in ZTH who knows a thing or 2 about classic cars. Now if only there were off road kaki and Landie kakis in ZTH... Now thats certainly lacking.