Water loss in EVOI coolant spare tank?

PutraEvo

halo! i hav a question regrading the water in the coolant spare tank. my current engine is EVOI in putra.
the problem now is wheneva i refill the water in the spare tank, the water was found half loss after 24 hours. i wonder why is that, and what is the mistake? where was the water gone?

thanks!!

I kena like tis also last time, i tried to check the leakage area but couldnt find. So everyday b4 journey,i top up water into spare tank as water level in radiator was ok. But what i noticed, after journey, the hot water from radiator expanded n went into my spare tank, until it full n the water went out via small hose (in spare tank). When the engine cold, the spare tank is empty maybe bcoz cold water went back to radiator tank. I believe maybe blockage or watsoever. I continued drive drive until i notice my water temp goes more than '9 o'clock'..then after a week, the needle went to max line..KNN...pucat already...

Then, i went to my mechanic workshop..he open the radiator tank fill with water...then start the engine...the water came out like air pancut..

confirm my gasket leaking. So change the gasket n did PnP...plus top overhaul change all the old hose n valve seal..KNN Terbang my 1K...

Now ok already...suggest u to go check it earlier b4 getting worst.

if ur coolant box no leaking

check ur radiator cap..see got leaking or not..mine las time is radiator cap rubber gone oledi..so leaking

or else, maybe ur water pump leaking.....u can check it..

when i was driving my gsr last time,the reservoir tank will drop to min after one day of driving no matter how i top up but it will never drop beyond min..then i read somewhere that this is normal for mitsu engines..somewhere in www.lancerregister.com

well, have to prepare for the worst first lor. like crocky said, prepare for burnt gasket lah.

but there are small problems that are similar to your complaints,

among them,

radiator cap faulty,
thermostat jammed,
cooling system failure.

crocky's mechanic did the correct way of testing. fill it up with water first, then start the engine. if water pancut out from the spare tank, then bye bye RM. time for metal gasket upgrade! :D

make sure u fill it till max o mayb alittle more than that.. if u fill more than max the water will come out from the reservoir cap by pass..

1) leaking radiotor
2) loose connection hose
3) water pump leaking
4) radiotor cap defective

best solution, do pressure test, sumtimes its very hard to c small little leaks.... (tiny which rough eyes cannot detect o c it..)

thanks for ur suggestions!

i wonder why if the gasket is really burnt or torn, there must be an obvious engine oil reduction, right? other than that is the black smoke from the exhaust muffler, right?

i check the engine oil three times weekly, and i find no reduction of oil at all. but there is a weird sound just like water flowing after my engine is turned off. the flow of water keeps going on a few minutes...and the sound comes from somewhere near the turbo,manifold, radiator...donno where exactly but it was from the front portion. WONDER WHY AND THERE MUST BE AN ANSWER...

PutraEvo said:
thanks for ur suggestions!

i wonder why if the gasket is really burnt or torn, there must be an obvious engine oil reduction, right? other than that is the black smoke from the exhaust muffler, right?

i check the engine oil three times weekly, and i find no reduction of oil at all. but there is a weird sound just like water flowing after my engine is turned off. the flow of water keeps going on a few minutes...and the sound comes from somewhere near the turbo,manifold, radiator...donno where exactly but it was from the front portion. WONDER WHY AND THERE MUST BE AN ANSWER...

the sound izzit like 'boiling water'???

las time my radiator defective oso got sound...the whole spare tank will shake n got wap coming out...after check..then only realize radiator cap rosak oledi...change it n ok oledi..no sound

boiling sound?? i think its radiotor cap, try changing the radiotor cap... it doesnt cost must anyway.. good 1 can get around rm 20... better than blowing up ur engine rite... when i was working at hiper racing, i remember doin this problem but i cant recall wat i did... the same thing as well... customer complained after he turns off the engine there boiling sound.... like i said, im sorry i dun recall... sumtimes its because of a small hole on the radiator, o loose hose to ur turbine will cause it as well.... like i said rough eye wont b able to c it... try doin pressure test... thats the best way to find out the problem.... http://zerotohundred.com/newforums/images/icons/icon7.gif

thanks again. pressure test on radiator normally costs me how much? i donno the market price.

im not quite sure of the price to do a pressure test.. but i dun think it will cost much too... depeding the place where u go to... another way u can try is too, find another radiotor cap the same 1 as urs n try it.. borrow from ur fren o ur parents car.. muahahahha as long it fits then u can try it.. 0.9 o 1.1 doesnt really matter... its just to test only... u get wat im trying to say rite? if there's no problem after that then u r lucky, if not just go n do pressure test...:tee:

hi .. i had a problem like this before .. very lucky get it's solved before s'thin worse happened

try this maybe it help .. spend some buck and save big buck later ..

1) i change the stopper water .. down at the radiator .. 1 times

2) i change the radiator cap ... 3 times using variety model
The result .. prob still happened

3) i change radiator hoses .. 3 times n remoced the thermostat
The result .. prob still happened

4) i change stock top radiator ( i also dun know the exact name ) from carbon to alluminium
the result .. OK

5) if the last step still cannot solved your problems .. maybe you have to go to the mechanic to get ur metal gasket tighten measured,
my fren result .. OK

6) this is the critical laa .. ur engine overheat ..

maybe you can try this step .. my car never lost any water since that day ..

my current ..

1) new stooper water
2) radiator cap .. 0.9 ( dun know what brand .. but it orange sticker )
3) radiator hoses from mits A174
4) alluminum top cover radiator

good luck .. don't get overheat ..

p/s: if u go to the workshop they will tell you that u alredy have a burnt gasket .. better check urself first before get CONNED .. [ basically they knew but it's fast than looking for a problems one by one .. n fast money too :) ]

what happend if we remove termostat?

By the way, u can also service your radiator..

remove thermostat? ur engine will never operate in normal temp. ur engine will take longer time to worm up, ur temp might go high during hot days, will use more fuel thats for sure... dun remove ur thermostat 4 no reason, if emergengy its ok... :wink:

guys,
my evo also encounter the same prob, water keep losing in the spare tank. do all the checking and finally i found out the my radiator fan sometimes not working due to burn conector :)

my problem had been terminated...it was the leaking at the radiator cover (not radiator cap)..so i replaced with denso original (new) plus labourship all together were RM160.

my car oso facing this problem now.
When i travel around cyber back to klang, my spare water was almost empty.
But on this weekend , my car wast moved , just put it on my house, the strange part is the spare water look ok ? got any idea what was wrong with my car ?

Please advise ..

after whole night parking,next day morning try to check any leak stain on floor or not?
then try to trace the leak.
it happened to my car,1 leak at waterpump for proton and another leak at the radiotar drain valve for perodua.