180sx sr20 vs a31 rb20

huh?

hello..
i'm new here.iwanna ask you guys some q
hrmm...basicly i'm buying a new car.
what is the average fuel consumption of these cars?
between 180 and a31 which is easier to maintain.
less headache.
anyway, i'm going to dirft this car..

Wah my friend, like the chinese say

"You want good horse but don't want the horse to eat grass" where to find?
My thinking, both are quite easy to maintain, but if you say to take take the car for drifting, I think the A31 parts are more easily availabel than the 180 sx.

I own neither cars but from friends feedback Id say go with the A31. Cefy parts are abundent and lotsa R32 aftermerket parts can be used as well. PS13 body parts are abit scarce and more expensive compared to A31. Just IMO.

Parts-wise.. the A31 might be a better choice.. but drift-wise.. the 180SX win hands down.. much lighter and much better balanced than the A31..

hey guys between these 2 engines sr20/rb20
wich wan is tougher i mean 'tahan lasak' ..

yeah ..... i agree to cefy also cz the car body is longer n stabil than 180sx but i'm not means 180sx not good la it is a very nice car for drifting also !
when come to drifting cefy advantage is on more angle n looks fierce! thus sr20 n rb20 compare i think is rb20 more tahan (my exprerience) ! but both engine provide totally different power and perfomance ! parts wise of course cefy much better than 180sx but not all ! kekekee

ooops

*****am i rite? correct me if i'm wrong thx*****

Longer cars do tend to swing out more.. explains people drifting with Toyota Chasers.. Although smaller cars are lighter and more agile (Initial D anyone?) You can brake later, have faster approach speed, and turn easier than bigger cars.

As for the engine, both engines are just as strong.. The only difference is the amount of cylinders and the fact that SR20s use a timing chain instead of the usual timing belt (no need to change until 200,000km) The RB20 has 6 cylinders, is heavier and usually comes with a bigger turbine than the SR20.. Bigger turbo means more turbo lag, and slower response.. and that happens to be where the SR20 wins.. Engine response.

Both engines have their pros and cons, it's up to you to choose the engine that fits you.. With proper tuning you can improve the engine response, or the maximum torque, and such. So you shouldn't really worry about how the engine work stock. I just prefer having a fast responding engine.. that's why I have an SR20 :D

do the fact wisely
on Engine
SR vs RB
in real life SR is more cheaper to play than RB in big ( forget the RB26DETT)

on Car
A31 vs 180sx
check the figure around
180sx is more affordable to play than A31

mizuchi, cmng : woooo izzit ..... mind to make more compare or
explaination? but sr20 always heard the engine easily blow woh
but rb20 /rb25 less loh....... tat y i choose rb20! but rb engine pick up
really can't fight with sr20! jz like ppl say when two ppl start counting
then walk ..... i person count from 1 - 4 then walk then another from 1 - 6
then walk hahahahah this my fren explaination for me izzit rite ! mind to
tunjuk tunjuk ajar a bit ?

SR or RB stronger or not stronger depend how you abuse it
in reality RB25DET it stronger than SR20DET
but when come high HP part. SR is more cheaper
6 piston vs 4 piston.. you know the part will cost extra

RB is Cast Iron block
SR is aluminium block

it depend on what purpose you want on the car
brutal power and cheap 500hp is SR ( forget the RB26DETT)
smooth power delivery is RB25DET

Yes. I can't really say SR20s are stronger than RB20s because at the end of the day, it all comes down to how you abuse it. For drifting, I would say that 250bhp is enough in most cases.

Engine blows? Ask your engine management system.. FYI there is much to do when dealing with high boost.. Most engine blow cases have much to do with the car's cooling system.. High boost and a crappy radiator is the best recipe for a hot engine blow with steaming engine oil..

stormlcc
it is very difficult to compare and proof RB is more durable than SR

if stock vs stock. both is same

when come to high hp .. nothing it durable
the durable engine is how deep is your pocket and how durable your pocket as well

May i know which one pickup more faster and have quick respon in stock condition ?
And modd to 350hp which things have to change for both engine ?
:confused:

yeah agree ....... don't high boost if not mod anything on ur engine ..... coolling system also the same thing ...... my engine now is facing this prob but not yet blow ! it just the water always less .....after check only know there is leaking from the turbine and the gasket oledi gone ! so must take out the engine overhaul looooo !

MizuChi said:
Yes. I can't really say SR20s are stronger than RB20s because at the end of the day, it all comes down to how you abuse it. For drifting, I would say that 250bhp is enough in most cases.

Engine blows? Ask your engine management system.. FYI there is much to do when dealing with high boost.. Most engine blow cases have much to do with the car's cooling system.. High boost and a crappy radiator is the best recipe for a hot engine blow with steaming engine oil..

RB20DET could probably take more beating but then again it depends on so many variables. As cmng said, when it comes to higher bhp and torque thats when parts start to break. Another thing you need to consider is the age and condition of the engine, an older engine which has been walloped alot will not last you. If you are going to buy a halfcut or just the engine make sure its not too old, mileage not too high, and it probably came from a sleeper.

Parts wise RB20 can get abundantly, SR20 also can but maybe slightly costlier...
Power wise SR20 on a 180sx has a better power to weight ratio then the lumbering a31

heheh, being an owner of an A31 myself i have to be a bit biased lar so i'd say go for an A31. Distinguish what your power goals are, then slowly start building it up. You can upgrade the fuel pump, turbine and lsd first..tht would make your a31 driftable for starters. Later on you can slowly upgrade more...run it just below 1 bar of boost and you will really have a lot of fun.

Whatever your choice, all the best!