2348.3km On a single tank

i drive from setapak to Port Dickson n from port dickson back to setapak.....rm35 petrol....ok or not?

Dremel ... pls have abit workout by finding at yahoo .. type "2348.3km on a single tank" and click on search ... u think me and mu24 got no other work and type for u guys ah ... he he ;)

yea cool.. thanks..

p/s - at least just copy/paste the url together with the article..it ain't that difficult though.. heh

i'm still studying so i gotta save fuel when i drive, especially with fuel prices going up. So this is what i did:
1) I took out the spare tyre of my car.
2) I service the car once every two months, light service... spark plugs and engine oil only...
3) pump my tyres damn kau hard... (it's dangerous if hit anything hard on the road... they might blow up...)
4) I am drivin manual so when i am on a straight road or going downhill i let the car run on free gear... means the car is rolling on it's own momentum and the RPM meter shows idling rpm...
5) I try to avoid all roads with obstructions... traffic lights, bumps, thick yellow lines, and tight turns.
6) I try to get to high gear as soon as possible and only shift gears when i hit between 2500rpm to 3000rpm. If shift anywhere outside that rpm range my car will consume more fuel... I find that below 2500rpm my car no power... if above 3000rpm like racing so consume more fuel... (i dunno abt other cars, my engine is stock 4G15 only)
7) When on top gear... i maintain rpm at 3000 @ 100-+ km/h...
8) I try to keep my temper cool... if not i will race wif every car that LC on the road... makan minyak betul...
9) I try and time my journeys on the road at non-peak hours... if u get urself caught in traffic jam at 5pm to 7pm... say bye bye to fuel economy...

so that's how i save fuel, but i'd like to know more... :biggrin:

suprafire said:
4) I am drivin manual so when i am on a straight road or going downhill i let the car run on free gear... means the car is rolling on it's own momentum and the RPM meter shows idling rpm...
According to Clarkson, when you're coasting like that in neutral, the engine still has to use a little bit of fuel to keep the engine running. But if you leave it in gear and coast (without applying the throttle), the modern engine uses no fuel at all.

Now, I'm not sure about this. Only heard it from Clarkson on Top Gear.

True .. heard him saying that also .. but iam not sure Malaysian cars can be considered "MODERN" enuff ...

Wont your engine stall if u leave it in 5th gear and go downhill ?? ... looks like need to do a lil experiment on this then .. :biggrin:

Downhill in 5th, stall? Tak betul lar. Ada tarikan graviti mar. Car still moving, won't stall. Uphill lain cerita lar.

this is where his wife is useful maa... that's why he wants his wife to follow... hahahaha :D

yolk said:
65km/h ... my GAWD !!!!! die of boredom !!! hahahahah

suprafire said:
not a good practise from safety point of view.

actually just wanna tell you all... if he can do it with 2000km on one full diesal tank, i think we can do at least 1000km on one full patrol tank.

Dremel i got this from The Star newspaper, no idea whats the url. Peace

yeah yeah ...
but they can live withotu aircond , becasue it is cold over there ...
in malaysia .. u wish .
summore , the test is being done on an highway . ... something different from our normal life .

jeremy clarskon tried once on an audi a8 V8 . 800 miles on one tank .

im not about to sacrifice my time growing old going at 60 and planning a quiet long-cut road just to save a few more bucks. without a/cond summore. crazy issit?

2000km with diesel, can do 1000km with petrol? wah so simple?? get out of that dream lah. do u even know the difference in property and operation of these 2 fuels? 1000km drive at constant speed go where?? live in penang and work in JB ka :lol:

try la without a/cond. lets see if fuel consumption is that badly important compared to driving pleasure, enjoyment and prompt arrival. safety in this topic, of coz win hands down :rofl:

its good to take some tips from the venture and adjust it into our daily practices, but to 100% follow and expect to replicate the results in daily driving scenario... its pointless from a practical point of view :lol: but thats just my 2 cents.

here's another tip on how to save fuel indirectly... the government is reducing road tax for vehicles with and below 1600cc... so drive engines that are 1.6 and below... personally i was thinkin of upgrading my current 4G15 but then again i had second thoughts. Now the next most viable engine seems to be the B16 series by honda... i checked out the market prices for a second hand EG 4 door and some of them are lower than second hand wiras... Any advice regarding EGs? if i play B16 i can get to enjoy Vtec power... I tried to find out about 4G15 with MIVEC but it's extremely rare and only available on the Mitsu Colt... bummer... so the B16 vtec alternative seems attractive at this moment...

suprafire,
Y not u go for 4G92 DOHC or MIVEC? I think JPJ will approve this.

EG is 10 years car dy. U better stick with ur own car la.

Yeah, the Honda EG is more than 10 years old. But i'm driving an iswara and lookswise even the Honda EG looks a lot better! Haha! Plus i think the EG has better chassis and handling than any iswara and there is more space for me. The low profile of the EG is attractive to me as i find it rather sporty and aerodynamics-wise should be nice and fast on the road. I was initially hooked by the looks of the EK but after finding out, it seems that the EG is lighter and i'm looking for a lighter car. I have thought of the 4G92 MIVEC as it's quite a popular setup. I've been also toying around the idea of a MIVECed 4G91. However im not just looking for an engine to replace mine, i'm looking for a whole car. I have just one more doubt left man... concerning reliability, is the Honda Vtec engines expensive to mantain? if it costs a bomb then i'll just stick to Mitsu Engine platforms... yes the 4G92 or 91. Please advice, thanks a bomb! :biggrin:

Not surprising as the model the Iswara is based on is a lot older.

Honda's VTEC engines are as reliable as they come. I don't think it is any more expensive to maintain compared to any other Japanese built engines of similar capacity.

in that case, i'll be cashing in on the Honda EG! Put in a B16 engine... hopefully can get B16B :biggrin: . I love how the car looks, it can look pretty menacing with the right bodaykit. thanks silverfish.

Oi...don't be so hasty, mate. I'm no Honda expert like some of the guys in here. I just have some general idea. Buying a car is a big decision. Maybe you should get some opinions from the guys at the Honda section.