A-Pillar

simon

hi , i am writin on behalf of my friend.....his car met accident 2 mts ago....he slept off in highway & car got stuff beneath a trailer & the passenger side A-Pillar got damaged quite severely.....ok now i hv some questions.....

from what the workshop (panel workshop of the insurer) told us they are going to reweld a new entire a-pillar (the whole set) of the passenger side & are waiting for the part from japan/singapore as malaysia dont hv such parts or due to no stock........are there really new a-pillars manufactured for cars (the car is a wira) ?? will it be really strong if the workshop weld it together?? are they really going to use a new a-pillar or some potong kereta part ?? Is it usually done this way ??

me & my friend are confused...after waiting 2 mts for the a-pillar now the workshop say due to no parts they are going to use locally manufactured a-pillar ?? i want to make sure we are not conned....pls enlighten us in this matter

thank you

hi,

wat is ur car fren? and u fren car lying in which workshop? kl areas?

anything do to the pillar gotta get approval from jpj.

after ur car is done, i believed ur panel workshop wil sent the car to puspakom for inspection.

just make sure u ask for the jpj approval letter and puspakom result.

and yes, those pillar or panel are selling separately by most of the manufacturer(depends).

and there is a warranty period for evey car owner, i guess it is 3 or 6months by panel workshop as request by insurance. some workshop may extend the waranty period to 1 year. so within tat time, u can send the car back if u think there is a problem.

before receive or sign any discharge voucher, test drive the car 1st...if everything ok, then only sign. if not, then ask them to re-check properly.

I do not trust any work being done to not only the A pillar but also the chasis of the car.
I think after welding a new / recon A pillar, the car will not be structurally strong compared to the original.

if the car is seriously damage, then i guess it will not be as strong as before accident.

just take ur arm for example, u broke ur arm n doctor help u 'sambung' back....it will not be as strong as before as well...

correct me if im wrong:_:

i dun think A pillar is alloewd to be cut and join...
refer to some post ago got someone psoted pic off the star paper showing how kereta potong is potong

i dun think A pillar is alloewd to be cut and join...
refer to some post ago got someone psoted pic off the star paper showing how kereta potong is potong

hi,

alot of ppl misunderstanding bout kereta potong n those accident car repair...

kereta potong is where u buy the rear part and front part of a car n joint it....tats kereta potong as it is illegal n didnt go thru jpj procedures..

whereby, all accident cars that required to cut or change any wheelhouse/chassis or side panel. it has to be apply thru jpj n once it is approved. the workshop will carry out the job n sent the car to puspakom for inspection.

once it is passed, u will get the puspakom result and attached it to the car owner.

this is how PIAM workshop doing...follow the rules and regulations.

any cars that involved in accident i believe will not be as strong as before accident...so if u dun wan tis happen, drive carefully..

any PIAM body repairer workshops are required to give 6 months warranty to any repairs done as a result of accident claim.

actually, the workshops would prefer to repair anything rather than replace bcoz

1. its easier and cheaper.
2. they may had claimed the parts like A-pillar and they make more profits if they repair instead of changing.

and it is correct - changing any welded parts may weakened body structure strengh as nobody in he world could weld as precisely as a robot in a factory.

the A pillar are allowed to be changed, like Huakenny mentioned subject to puspakom approval. they must be cut according to the original lines whis is zig-zag instead of straight cutting. the zig-zag patterns will add more strengh as advantage.

i dont think the reason for no parts and have to wait that long is very reasonable reason. try call Proton parts centre and ask whether they have the parts available or not. if they say available, then its time to fire to workshop loh...

here is the part number

382 Front Pillar Assembly LHMB945451466.19
[All] Front Pillar Assembly RHMB945452466.19

huakenny...the car is a proton wira 1.3 & its in a workshop in sban...yep they mentioned abt puspakom ispection/approval once its done...we checked the car on saturday & they hv cut out the whole roof section...the top part only & rewelded another roof but the a pillar assembly is still unavailable & they asked whether we want to wait or agree for a second hand assembly which they hv standby there itself......

zan tks for the info....i will check out today.....

seremban? what worskhop?

loong car? soon fatt? seremban auto? chee kong? bengkel pertama?

bro...ar u fro sban as well....you knw all workshop names !!! its officially chee kong...but they hv sent over to kenderaan HIN in the senawang light industrial area....

anyway i did call up the proton part centre in S.A & they said no stock but if order can get within 2-3 weeks !!!! but the car is already in chee kong for 2 mts....i called up chee kong but no proper answer ??? im going there 2mrw....

if the car is seriously damage, then i guess it will not be as strong as before accident.

just take ur arm for example, u broke ur arm n doctor help u 'sambung' back....it will not be as strong as before as well...

correct me if im wrong:_:

my broken leg not strong as b4, but still can carry on many skills, hehe..

my fren's car hit by tree b4 n got serious damaged on pillar A also, the workshop just repaired it n after dat he sell out the car.. wira also, donno wat happen to the car now..