air cond without compressor

georgett

hey. guys.. what if a car air cond ran without an comprrssor, but the car still got cold air. this will increase HP? fuel saving? I working on this project. any ppl got same ideal or already did to share....?

An aircon without a compressor is not called aircon anymore, call it blower. Coz you're merely sucking air from outside to blow into interior.

Instead of going thru the process of thinking hard, why you not just press the "A/C" button off and you have a bower already as the compressor is not working anymore. That is as simple as it gets, and you must be content with hot air just to sacrifice some fuel savings.

However, DO NOT misunderstand horsepower gains just from switching off your aircon. You do not gain any horsepower by doing so. Your engine only feels more free and extra revvy thats all. When there's less load on the engine, you do not have to depress the throttle that much to obtain a certain speed and therefore you save abit on fuel.

well.. i tried on a kenari 1.0 auto, usually 1 fuel tank RM60 can ran abt 400km, by switch off the a/cond totally, it can go extra 100km. all my pant get wet.. hehehe..
i am travelling every day... here & there... 1 mth used 6 to 8 tanks, it mean 600 to 800km extra a month. i safe RM 90-120 a month. 1 yr rm1080-1440. do u c d diff...?
engine load draw ur hp by 5%, throw away d compressor, u gain back 5% of hp, will this mean increase in hp???
beside, i'm working on a "thing" that which can replace d compressor to obtain cold air... ... ... open ur window and be innovative,,,, dont be a follower.

LOL....just remove the compressor n install a electric fan in ur dash....

u get more mileage coz ur engine less load when u OFF aircon....

I dont think can lo.....i juz replaced my wira air cond compressor + serviced + Coller + Gas + ect....coz me around RM900, if can i'll felt very sad......ha

ryukeong said:
I dont think can lo.....i juz replaced my wira air cond compressor + serviced + Coller + Gas + ect....coz me around RM900, if can i'll felt very sad......ha

u can remove the comporessor if u r willin gto drive without aircon under hot weather....confirm ur pants wet kawkaw all the time...:_:

huakenny said:
u can remove the comporessor if u r willin gto drive without aircon under hot weather....confirm ur pants wet kawkaw all the time...:_:

Yup i know that feeling coz i've been driving without air-cond for almost 2 months, damm.....think back also feel hot........ha, but not only that when its raining heavily that time its more worse, cant open window, although not hot but all my windows will be blur all the time coz this will happen when outside raining the outside weather is coller than inside.........

georgett said:
well.. i tried on a kenari 1.0 auto, usually 1 fuel tank RM60 can ran abt 400km, by switch off the a/cond totally, it can go extra 100km. all my pant get wet.. hehehe..
i am travelling every day... here & there... 1 mth used 6 to 8 tanks, it mean 600 to 800km extra a month. i safe RM 90-120 a month. 1 yr rm1080-1440. do u c d diff...?
engine load draw ur hp by 5%, throw away d compressor, u gain back 5% of hp, will this mean increase in hp???
beside, i'm working on a "thing" that which can replace d compressor to obtain cold air... ... ... open ur window and be innovative,,,, dont be a follower.

Dude, there's no such thing as gaining HP by switching off aircon. Say your car is 100HP, it does not mean when you switch off aircon, your car's HP rises to 105HP. Its just that your engine load has increased due to the some load being distributed by the belt to the compressor.

As for being able to run extra 100KM from existing 400KM, i really think thats impossible unless you start to drive real slow, careful, keeping the revs below 2500RPM, avoid traffic jam, engine in super tip top condition and so on. If you tell me just by switching off the aircon and driving to your work just as usual as you drive with your aircon on, then i highly doubt this claim. Thats a saving of 25%. I've not heard of any manufacturer or read in any website that quoted such a large amount of fuel efficiency gained just by clicking the aircon off.

And i don't understand people who have perfectly working aircon system that wind down the window so that they can gain better fuel efficiency. Have you got any idea which part of the world do we live in, the equator and its possibly the hottest. On a hot day, its almost unbearable just to open the window for a smoke. How are you gonna stand driving half an hour with your windows down. And then you have all those haze and pollution. Imagine being stuck behind a bus with its exhaust spewing black smoke. And then you get all those small particles and dust that gets into your car interior. You end up cleaning your interior every 3 days due to the dust. You may say it isn't that hot when you're in the highway but heck, when you open the windows, you have extra drag from the wind that gets into your car.

And i'm glad that you're working on a "thing" that can replace the compressor. Way to go mate!

prodigy said:
Have you got any idea which part of the world do we live in, the equator and its possibly the hottest. On a hot day, its almost unbearable just to open the window for a smoke. How are you gonna stand driving half an hour with your windows down. And then you have all those haze and pollution. Imagine being stuck behind a bus with its exhaust spewing black smoke. And then you get all those small particles and dust that gets into your car interior. You end up cleaning your interior every 3 days due to the dust. You may say it isn't that hot when you're in the highway but heck, when you open the windows, you have extra drag from the wind that gets into your car.

Yeah wey, damn... Tak tahan doh. Damn hot ! I can only wind down windows on a non-sunny day or just after rain... Nice. lol ...

I reli cant understand how some cars, it's blazing hot outside even the air is HOT with the windows down but they can still drive.. I had no choice but to turn on my aircond n just drive slow n enjoy music.

nitrus really or not? u can tahan meh?

when people challenge u..straight off aircond without winding down the windows to reduce wind drag...hahaha

Is there an electric aircon compressor in the local market?

prodigy said:
Dude, there's no such thing as gaining HP by switching off aircon. Say your car is 100HP, it does not mean when you switch off aircon, your car's HP rises to 105HP

agreed. engine 100hp will always be 100hp. the difference with aircond on and off is just that, with aircond on, maybe 5hp is eaten by the compresor to spin it, and you get 95hp left to run your car. but with aircond off, you get all the power to drive your car (ofcourse there's the drive train lose lar).

this is true because long time ago toyota did "downgrade" the compresor cuz the customer is complaining that it is robbing too much power.

there is theorically posible way to get cold air without using a compresor. That is to use your current blower and cooling coil, but instead of using aircond gas pump in by the compresor, use a tank of nitrogen or liquid nitrogen instead. just pump some into the cooling coil (assume it won't freeze too much and crack instead) and you'll get freezing cold aircond, and let the extra gas release to the atmostphere from teh engine bay like a normal aircond system

catch is that you'll need an N2 or LN2 generator, and the extra weight carried in the car for the tank, all gonna cost you a fortune.

i'd rather turbo or supercharged my car and pay for the extra petrol bill instead of using those methods.

oh.. just for the record, i do have my aircond off 70% of the time because of my driving condition. all my trip is short and i usually try to get to the destination before the car cabin get too hot.

it did saves me 10-15% in fuel consumption, but that is because my engine is not stock, and all the pulley is from a different car so it pulls much harder at low rev and rob alot more power. engine will die easily cuz the low end of my engine got no torque. so i adjust to idle valve for aircond on to crank the engine up 200-600rpm (engine will idle at 1400-1700rpm when still cold and aircond on, 1000rpm when hot, 900rpm when no aircond, anything below 800rpm engine jerk and die) to prevent engine dying. thats why i can get 15% petrol saving, and my car got no aerodynamic anyway so going fast with window down doesn't make anything noticable.

gohkokeng said:
nitrus really or not? u can tahan meh?

when people challenge u..straight off aircond without winding down the windows to reduce wind drag...hahaha

why cannot tahan ? doesnt mean anyone who tiong me i have to main right? im not so insecure about my ride.. if they nak overtake let them only la.. just making a fool out of themselves lol..

anyway i think shud stick to the topic...

nitrus said:
if they nak overtake let them only la.. just making a fool out of themselves lol..

good good. even better you slow down let them pass, maybe they might think you scared of them, but if look at the other way around, they need you to slow down baru they can overtake you hahahahhaa