Air Filter

alpha_hoe

hi all kor kor n jie jie,ii'm just wanted to ask the difrence within kn air-filter n others air filter....anybody tell me?please...

Im no sifu, but from what I understand KnN uses some kind of oil to trap dirt on its I think fiber-based filter. Good performance and flow but needs to be re-oiled, and some say after long periods of usage the oil gets sucked into the engine and decreases its performance.

Apexi (open pod) is a dry-mesh type that is highly effective and clean, Im using this one. The entire filter needs to be changed once worn out. Blitz uses washable metal mesh which gives good performance and induction noise but bad filtering quality, same for HKS with their foam-based filters, but for HKS you need to replace the foam once it gets worn out.

Other filters, dunno. :) But I generally avoid foam based filters as they rupture after some time and tiny bits and pieces gets sucked into the engine. Sifus correct me if Im wrong...

My 2 Sen. BTW you might want to check out Racecraft CF Airfilters, if your car is suitable for usage. Currently Protons with Mitsu MAF sensors cannot use unless a custom intake is made (Will cost a bomb).

oh yeah baby... apexi is da best aftermarket air filter u can find around... I'm selling it too... :lol: my fren using the apexi for 3yrs already on a vtec 2L... very good indeed.. myself using HKS... cannot change to apexi coz need to change the piping.. sigh... if not early early i change to apexi already... cheersssss

Apexi still don have any drop in model for EK rite?

Originally posted by sasuke@Mar 29 2005, 22:25
Apexi still don have any drop in model for EK rite?
[snapback]852046[/snapback]​

at japan website got drop in model...

but malaysia dun have... :( no ppl bring in? :(

Originally posted by ftzone@Mar 29 2005, 21:57
oh yeah baby... apexi is da best aftermarket air filter u can find around... I'm selling it too... :lol: my fren using the apexi for 3yrs already on a vtec 2L... very good indeed.. myself using HKS... cannot change to apexi coz need to change the piping.. sigh... if not early early i change to apexi already... cheersssss
[snapback]851966[/snapback]​

hey hey hey,did the air filter suit 4 carb car??

Yeah yeah... Apexi is some good stuff....
Interms of induction noise is not that noisy, but performance wise.. is good.... but as with all these open pod filters, when the weather is hot... ur car will feel abit sluggish.. compared to drop in. but at night :) :) goodla....

btw, i highly recommend ftzone... friendly fella, very helpful, even help me find the mounting after i can't seem to locate one. good price, good products, good dealer with good service.... what else can 1 ask for eh?? hahahaha.... damn like advertisement liao...

Originally posted by nx7010@Mar 31 2005, 01:22
Yeah yeah... Apexi is some good stuff....
Interms of induction noise is not that noisy, but performance wise.. is good.... but as with all these open pod filters, when the weather is hot... ur car will feel abit sluggish.. compared to drop in. but at night :) :) goodla....

btw, i highly recommend ftzone... friendly fella, very helpful, even help me find the mounting after i can't seem to locate one. good price, good products, good dealer with good service.... what else can 1 ask for eh?? hahahaha.... damn like advertisement liao...
[snapback]855350[/snapback]​

ahh?? brother u got buy things from me ah? :lol: danny? :P so how... izzit installed?

Originally posted by alpha_hoe+Mar 31 2005, 00:29 -->
QUOTE(alpha_hoe @ Mar 31 2005, 00:29 )
--QuoteBegin-ftzone
@Mar 29 2005, 21:57
[snapback]851966[/snapback]​

hey hey hey,did the air filter suit 4 carb car??
[snapback]855235[/snapback]​
[/b][/quote]

carb ah? suits la.. but mounting mana mau cari? :ph34r:

installed.... and working very very well... hahahaha :P :P

how a drop-in filter look like ? I planned to change mine ( stock ) to drop-in type. I talk to my mechanic, but he is blank ........ so can anybody describe or post some pic..10Q

What brand is good for drop-in type, and how much i expected to spend for a good and reliable, good performance drop-in filter ??

thanx..

hehe
i'm using pipercross drop in
washable
so far so good
didnt give me any prob