Alpine CDM9801 or PIONEER DEH-3750MP

wah...no crossover.... no wonder burn ur tweeter lar....

it's a must to put crossover for your tweeter.... to determine what frequency your tweeter is playing.

a component set ranges from around RM100 to RM20000 oso have...
all depends on your budget for your component set....

wah!that mean my tweeter kong already?so no matter what brand or what model of tweeter that im using,i need to have a crossover to set the frequency,if not den i have to prepare money to get a pair of new tweeter right?

what can i get for the component set if my budget is below RM200?

thanks calvinhpk for your information...

yes...no matter what tweeter u're using.... u need to feed right frequency to it... that's either by using passive crossover, or active crossover to filter the unwanter frequency going into the tweeter....
this goes the same to the mid and sub

calvinhpk said:
yes...no matter what tweeter u're using.... u need to feed right frequency to it... that's either by using passive crossover, or active crossover to filter the unwanter frequency going into the tweeter....
this goes the same to the mid and sub
I don't think that is exactly right
I used to use this set of tweets I got at the price of Rm55 and I did not even run passive. It works very well. On a pioneer HU with no blak blak sound. It worked fine until the day I sold my car. Now just dreaming of dyn. hehehehehe
:P

thanks guys,

how about those speaker come with 2/3way? does it need the crossover?so i need to get a pair of crossover to tune the right frequency for mid,sub and tweeter?if not ill damage it?

so for stock setup,if i get a tweeter,ill have to connect it to a crossover to get a nice sound?

which tweeter is good and budget?or guy can recommand me a component that is more to budget and with a nice sound...thanks

I think you misunderstoof the whole idea of crossover

even if you install a pair of tweets you will not necessary get nice sound. It depends.

Which tweeter is good? Go for components Normally those tweets selling individually isn't that capable of producing a very good sound. If you are on a budget then I suggest you save up first. Also what is your budget?
No one can really recommend you which comp. produce the best sound because what I like may not be what another person like. Also you might not even like what both of us likes.

3 way do not need a xover.
if you wana tuen for the tweets mids sub then you might as well go active.

Pioneer Deh-3750mp

HI all,
I'm just bought the PIONEER DEH-3750MP 2 months ago. Nice and quality is good compare the others. I'm using the lightning audio speaker for my satria SE....hope u can test it before u buy. Last time the price around rm 600++. OK thanks . bye

sorry man,im still quite blur about ICE,so hope can learn something for you all.

so to be able to get a better sound,just go for component will do,am i right now?im not going for the best sound,just some nice sound will do.budget is around Rm200 for a set of component,what can i get?i just wana some idea,so that when i go to shop,i know what i wanted.

can i know what is active and what is passive,i heard before,but dono what does it mean,mind telling me?

thank you...

rodneyk said:
I don't think that is exactly right
I used to use this set of tweets I got at the price of Rm55 and I did not even run passive. It works very well. On a pioneer HU with no blak blak sound. It worked fine until the day I sold my car. Now just dreaming of dyn. hehehehehe
maybe u dun know what is the crossover function, and what freq your tweeter shall play, or mid and sub.....
a normal tweeter...i mean normal one in the market.... can play from around 2.5khz and above....
in audio frequency spectrum, you are looking at around 20hz to 20khz... that is full range
imagine if u didn't high pass the signal to the tweeter, means u're running full range of 20hz to 20khz to the tweeter.... u're asking it to play 20hz?? which supposed to play from the sub.... it might burn very soon.....

as i said....u're lucky u didn't burn your tweeter... :D

calvinhpk said:
u can learn more in this link

http://www.bcae1.com/

rodney...i think u're lucky your tweeter didn't burn.... :d
well as far as I know most tweeters that comes with passive xover are the ones with comps. Individual tweets of that kind do not have a passive xover.

Or is it back then things were different? Cause I recalled many years ago when I had that tweets, even the comps do not have xover.
Also my tweets might be of lower range therefore do not use that much power.

If its like your morel millennium set then things would be different.
:)

calvinhpk said:
maybe u dun know what is the crossover function, and what freq your tweeter shall play, or mid and sub.....
a normal tweeter...i mean normal one in the market.... can play from around 2.5khz and above....
in audio frequency spectrum, you are looking at around 20hz to 20khz... that is full range
imagine if u didn't high pass the signal to the tweeter, means u're running full range of 20hz to 20khz to the tweeter.... u're asking it to play 20hz?? which supposed to play from the sub.... it might burn very soon.....

as i said....u're lucky u didn't burn your tweeter... :D
I do know what is the function of a cross over.
but like I said in my earlier post
I used it for 4-5 years and it did not burn. back then when I bought even the comps (lower end) do not come wif xover.
if you want to compare 20hz to 20khz then are you trying to say the front spks are capable of playing down to 20hz?
I do not think so.

rodneyk said:
I do know what is the function of a cross over.
but like I said in my earlier post
I used it for 4-5 years and it did not burn. back then when I bought even the comps (lower end) do not come wif xover.
if you want to compare 20hz to 20khz then are you trying to say the front spks are capable of playing down to 20hz?
I do not think so.
yes....reason some speakers can't play the certain freq...like u said....front spks are not capable to play down to 20hz...that is why crossover is needed to high pass it to at around 60hz and above for normal spks..

calvinhpk said:
yes....reason some speakers can't play the certain freq...like u said....front spks are not capable to play down to 20hz...that is why crossover is needed to high pass it to at around 60hz and above for normal spks..
To explain y my tweets didnt burn even w/o xover, it might be because of a few thgs....normally the manufacturer wil put in capacitor soldered with the tweets terminal to giv a HP for it. Remember its a cap, not resistor.

To explain it based on a more approriate manner:
1. Any drivers wil nvr burn bcoz of the ful band freqs directed to it......even w/o any xover. With condition tht thr shouldnt be any clipped signals involved along the route.
2. Thr is NO driver in the world currently...dont think thy'll ever be one.....tht can play right from 20Hz to 20kHz.....with a good freq response. I would really like to meet the person who told u tht tweets can play from 20Hz-20kHz....

How wil the drivers get burned:
1. Drivers wil only "burn" whn clipped signals r sent to it...as i mentioned earlier......
2. Whn 1Hz signals r sent to it. Tweets wil get burn with-in seconds whn 1Hz r sent to it....bcoz of the wavelength r juz too great.
3. Vac wil b converted to Vdc during ths clipped process thus creating more heat on the voice coil, n burned out the drivers.

I hope I could clarify myself to you better with the above statement

rodneyk said:
To explain y my tweets didnt burn even w/o xover, it might be because of a few thgs....normally the manufacturer wil put in capacitor soldered with the tweets terminal to giv a HP for it. Remember its a cap, not resistor.

To explain it based on a more approriate manner:
1. Any drivers wil nvr burn bcoz of the ful band freqs directed to it......even w/o any xover. With condition tht thr shouldnt be any clipped signals involved along the route.
2. Thr is NO driver in the world currently...dont think thy'll ever be one.....tht can play right from 20Hz to 20kHz.....with a good freq response. I would really like to meet the person who told u tht tweets can play from 20Hz-20kHz....

How wil the drivers get burned:
1. Drivers wil only "burn" whn clipped signals r sent to it...as i mentioned earlier......
2. Whn 1Hz signals r sent to it. Tweets wil get burn with-in seconds whn 1Hz r sent to it....bcoz of the wavelength r juz too great.
3. Vac wil b converted to Vdc during ths clipped process thus creating more heat on the voice coil, n burned out the drivers.

I hope I could clarify myself to you better with the above statement
yes...100% agreed to your statements above...

and you mentioned there is a cap soldered to the tweet....that means that there is a high pass crossover to the tweeter lar.....
a capacitor is a passive high pass filter

lol
in short its a misunderstanding la!
ehhehehee
coz i believe some tweets come with that

rodneyk said:

This is prolly the reason why your tweets were fine. It's similar to a coaxial speakers or 6 x 9 2-way or 3-way speakers. Sometimes we do not see the cap because it's hidden within the tweeter's casing.

You were driving your tweets at the most 5-15w RMS but if you were to plug an amp to it, I'm quite sure it won't last very long if it was a lowish end tweeter with low power handling. The voice coil would overheat, damage and stop producing sound.

Whether it's an active or passive crossover in a nice box or soldered directly, tweeters still require a form of protection as it is not meant to play the full range of frequencies.

cheers rodney....:D

juz want to clarify everything....and to share knowledge....

as i know...to those normal tweeter (don't come with soldered capacitor), if you're feeding a full range (means no high pass crossover to it), sooner or later u'll burn them, because you're feeding full range (20hz to 20khz) to them, and it's playing the freq that they're not supposed to play....like the 30hz or so....

so...to be in a safe way...always protect your tweeters with this crossover, via passive crossover or active crossover

hehehehe
yea glad we cleared things out and managed to share knowledge at the same time
i find it productive
haha