Anyone know bout PEGASUS brand audio?

Err, i m trying to think outside the box on the reason wiring it at 8 ohm. but....still not quite sure why...... reason ..
During 80-90s, car amp stil not as powerful as now, meaning the rms produce per channel should be min, by pairing it with 8 ohm, meaning further limit the power flow to the sub meaning intentionally reducing the head room....doesn't make sense ...

maybe some ice sifu can shed some light bout this ...

maybe their amps not stable at 2 ohm mono maaaa....so no choice oledi have to go 8 ohm....maybe theyre ABC type (ada bunyi cukup)

lolz..like this also can..but it's true tat they prefer copper coil rather crossover...even now a lot of old shop doing this job...

Zenn said:
my sifu also teach me higher ohm u get higher control for sub ( i think from higher dampening factor). as long as u get the power enuff to feed the sub la, eg) a genesis dmx bridged 8ohm (about 500W) to run RS audio sub (rated 250W) wah liao damn nice, but pure audiophile type la, no boom boom crap.

That's one of the reason, as the lower the impedance, the lower the damping factor. Example an amp having damping factor of 500 at 4 ohms will effectively only have a damping factor of 250 at 2 ohms. You get more power no doubt but at the expense of damping factor.

And i don't really agree the fact that running 8 ohms is inefficient. You don't exactly need too much power to make your audio system sound good, what's the point of having 100W powering a tweeter when it's actually only using say 10W the most during your normal listening levels? Think about it. Normally when setting the gains via scoping and test tones, we'll see maybe 16v or above typically(anyone who has experience using a multimeter or scope to set gains will know what i mean), but try playing normal music after setting via test tones, you'll notice it's only playing up to 2V or less most of the time, if you really can crank up the volume up till the same as test tone setting, i guess you'll probably need to use a remote control and up the volume outside the car or else you'll probably already deaf

Well... i guess there's no point arguing, as i'm plain juz thinking on a different side then. I'm not into more power = better type.

During 80-90s, the amp power is not that powerful, but they can stand higher ohm I guess. In that time, where got such amps with class, A,B, AB or D?

last time i had sent email to pegasus head office and their chief reply me that all the pegasus selling in malaysia is not fake product,but just old models which is stop selling in US. There are producing new models but because the costs are extremely high,so that malaysia role distributor is not yet plan to sell those in malaysia. The role distributor of pegasus in malaysia is Ameron.
Currently im using pegasus comp set and i think its can satify what i need,next week i plan to install pegasus 4ch amp and 10"sub to completed my ice.;)
so far,i din think its 'just' perform like mohawk or prokick.;)

kelvinsin said:
last time i had sent email to pegasus head office and their chief reply me that all the pegasus selling in malaysia is not fake product,but just old models which is stop selling in US. There are producing new models but because the costs are extremely high,so that malaysia role distributor is not yet plan to sell those in malaysia. The role distributor of pegasus in malaysia is Ameron.
Currently im using pegasus comp set and i think its can satify what i need,next week i plan to install pegasus 4ch amp and 10"sub to completed my ice.;)

did u try out other product?

kelvinsin said:

How much you got for 4 channel amp and the power rating?

normality78 said:
believe plp compare Pegasus with Prokick and Mohawk. whaahahah

muahahaha ...ppl believed in what they believed of ....
especially when u hv to fit yourself in a particular group and follow their trend in believing what that group persist about .. muahaha ..

CCP, bila cum down to KL, we go out TT, belanja u teh tarik kecil and audit my pegasus sub and see if it is okie or not .. hehe

devil said:
muahahaha ...ppl believed in what they believed of ....
especially when u hv to fit yourself in a particular group and follow their trend in believing what that group persist about .. muahaha ..

CCP, bila cum down to KL, we go out TT, belanja u teh tarik kecil and audit my pegasus sub and see if it is okie or not .. hehe

Wahahaha... sorry hor, i already officially retired from ICE. so basically im tone deaf now. cant tell... whahaha

normality78 said:
believe plp compare Pegasus with Prokick and Mohawk. whaahahah

i hav using pegasus and prokick item before....for me this two kind of brand was different.....prokick more to spl...for SPL,prokick was damn power than pegasus ...(i had try it before).....but if for entry level sound quality..pegasus is good chooice especially PG162P model...very nice component...it can perform very well,sound pretty clear and price are reasonable (5xx)...so we cant compare within pengasus and prokick exactly cz it was two different system.....

Well comparing a speaker meant for SQ and SPL is not logic. I had an argument with someone last time over the Adire Brahma and the Cerwin Vega Stroker. Each claim that on is better but in the end Stroker is meant for loud, non accurate and takes gazzilion of watts in the other the brahma is an accurate low distortion, able to play low and loud SQ sub. So we both are right. Each speaker is better than the other in terms of SPL or SQ.

I would compare pegasus to mohawk. Both are close in the price range, both are entry level in SQ and both are well known in the budget scene.

Prokick is comparable to lower series of Kicker (ES,EX,Comp) for subs only.

to my opinion, it all depends on the tuner. as we all know, SoundQuest in Cheras does carry this brand. the bosses are IASCA judges themselves, jerry and kenny. the last iasca competition held in MITC melaka last year, they used all Pegasus products in their wira aeroback. they entered the SQ level and they won 2nd. they managed to get 141.2 db. 1st was a singaporean.

so all senior members should know that tuning is the most important thing isnt it? say what u want, but even if it is made in malaysia, so what? the most important is that it satisfies ur needs. does it really means using scan speak is the best? or using TRU is the best?

get a good tuner for a 1.5 proton wira and see it smoke 1.5 toyota vios. btw, i m not driving wira:) so no point arguing bout this. juz head to the shop and listen to the sound urself. if happy, budget enough, just get it:)

Yes I do agree that installs and tuning plays a big part in the overall system. But bear in mind electronics and electrical item has its own limit. You can tune so much given you stay within the limit.

Btw Pegasus is not a Malaysian brand. Its a budget brand from US but makes it in Asia. I saw it growing like mushroom as ppl look for cheap solution for SQ. It does sound good but nothing extraordinary about it. Its value for money.

Btw I know Jerry carry this brand and won comps. But 141.2 dB for SQ competition?? And whats up with this made in Malaysia thing?? And also there is a lot more of competition than you should know.

japanese company la, made in china, was talking to jerry when he came to KF some months back...

checking the domain registration, its own by malaysia. So my best guess this is not a US product

http://whois.dnsstuff.com/tools/whois.ch?ip=audiopega.com

being nice or not is very must dependant on individual... b4 i get my ice of my choice i had tried quite a number of brand.. model number i couldnt even remember at all... and my personal opinion is some pl had differant liking... for example... i like real loud bass that could pump up the bass quality like those in iasca competition...some pl like loud bass no matter its those hard type of low freq type... for them loud is the best... some like system that can produce wide range of bass frequency accurately but not playing them loud and some love SQ component clearity,wide space effect and some love mid...

i myself love loud accurate bass and accurate mid range... some brand i could remember but not the model...

COmponents...
pioneer component 2pc with built in tweeter.. (rm1300) --very good clearity but not my type bcuz im no fan of hi pitch twitz..
helix---damm nice... especially the midrange... but i couldnt afford
alpine type R--- IMHO its about the same with helix
MB quart(low range rm600++ per set)--- nice clear sound... but again i dont really like pitchy tweets.
JBL--so so ......but it has better midrange then the mb quart that i tested ..
mohawk--- very good for starter.... price wise is very cheap and affordable
america sound....---my choice because i know i cant afford helix... around 700bucks +- cant remember

subwoofers..(i really dont know how to rate.. but tis is wat i felt)
Prokick---for me for those bumper song d bass is not too hard and it is capable to be quite loud...
kenwood--- bought a pair of 10" kfc3005 if im not mistaken tis model last time..soft bass... better sound then prokick in my setup but it cant be played too loud... also got 1 unit older version of 12" of kenwood... but crap....
cerwin vega.... manage to get one 12" 2nd hand unit from a friend.... damm nice of sentimental song... for those discotheque kaki... sorry maybe my model that i bought is not suitable... the bass will get like very mixed up ... its the paper type with red rubber linings...
kicker 15" XPL....for me it sucks big time.... i just dont like the sound that it produce... a big no no for me... sold this after use for 1.5 months... that was around 10 years ago story.
kicker impulse 12"... also got this 2nd hand unit from a friend.... this is real loud for me...i love the sound level it can be played at... however one of the woofer voice coil burnt when i over blasted it ..sold the pair off after repair the coil at very low price.
shuttle lab.... so so only ..,. nothing to brag about... still got a pair of 10incher in my store room... i got tis real cheap last time... that was around 7 years ago.... rm400 one pair.. brand new...consider extreme for a beginner .
MTX RT 12"-44....just bought it last week...2 units..... cheap cheap... havent tested yet... the box still in the making...cant afford the 9000 series though....so i bought this ...was comparing with kicker competition... but found that the mtx is cheaper and performance is comparable... but havent really tested it... maybe next week..