AR 80 (from sr20)

stand3t

sorry if i post it at the wrong section ler~

just wanna know if anyone used AR 80 (from sr20) before?

the size compare to td05?
the responds? compare to td05? (or other similar turbine)

the review from some of the sifu that used it before will be very welcome~:biggrin:

bro almost same la..td05h and sr20/t28..in term of sizing and power output..huhu

Hi brother... They are not exactly the same.

Here is something to share.= on the specification.

the turbo is from nissan pulsar as well as silvia s13~

S13 Red-Top T25:
Compressor: T-25, 60 trim 56mm 0.60 A/R BCI-1 compressor.
Turbine: T-25, 62 trim 53.8mm 0.64 A/R turbine housing.
Stock Boost: 7 psi
Safe Boost: > 13-15 psi After that The Turbo is past it's efficiency
Max Boost: 17 psi
HP Ratings: 240 - 250 RWHP
Type of Bearings: Journal Bearing

S13 Black-Top T25:
Compressor: T-25, 60 trim 56mm 0.60 A/R BCI-1 compressor.
HP Ratings: 240 - 250 RWHP
Type of Bearings: Journal Bearing

S14 Zenki (1993-96) Black-Top T28:
Compressor: T-28, 60 trim 60 mm 0.60 A/R BCI-1 compressor in T-04B housing
HP Ratings: 250 - 260 RWHP
Type of Bearings: Journal Bering

S14 Kouki (1996-98) Black-Top T28:
HP Ratings: 255 - 265 RWHP
Type of Bearings: Ball Bearing

S15 Black-Top T28:
Turbine: T-25, 62 trim 53.8mm 0.64 A/R turbine housing, Inconel Turbine Wheel.
Safe Boost: > 15 - 18 psi After that The Turbo is past it's efficiency
Max Boost: 20 psi
HP Ratings: Approx. 300 RWHP MAX
Type of Bearings: Ball Bearing

As u can see, the SR20 turbo varies from generation to generation. They may look exactly the same, but the inside is somewhat different.

And same goes to the TD05. It evolves from generation to generation within the EVOs...

VR4
Turbo = TD05-14B
Nozzle Area (cm2) = 6

Evolution 1
Turbo = TDO5H–16G-7
Nozzle Area (cm2) = 7
Exhaust turbine = Inconel (steel alloy)
Compressor = Aluminium, 60mm wide

Evolution 2
Turbo = TDO5H–16G-7
Nozzle Area (cm2) = 7
Turbine = Inconel (steel alloy)
Compressor = Aluminium, 60mm wide

Evolution 3
Turbo = TD05H–16G6-7
Nozzle Area (cm2) = 7
Compressor = Aluminium, 68mm wide

Evolution 4
Turbo = TD05HR-16G6-9T
Nozzle Area (cm2) = 9

Evolution 5
Turbo = TD05HR-16G6-10.5T (GSR)
TD05HRA-16G6-10.5T (RS)
Nozzle Area (cm2) = 10.5
Turbine = Inconel (steel alloy), Titanium alloy (RS)

Evolution 6
Turbo = TD05HR-16G6-10.5T (GSR)
TD05HRA-16G6-10.5T (RS/rs2)
Nozzle Area (cm2) = 10.5
Turbine = GSR - Inconel (steel alloy), Titanium alloy (RS/RS2)

Evolution 6 : Tommi Makinen Edition
Turbo = TD05RA-15GK2-10.5T (GSR)
TD05HRA-16G6-10.5T (RS/rs2)
Nozzle Area (cm2) = 10.5
Turbine = Titanium alloy for both RS/RS2/GSR!
Compressor = Aluminium, 65mm (gsr) - 68mm(rs) wide

Evolution 7
Turbo = TD05HR-16G6-9.8T (GSR)
TD05HRA-16G6-9.8T (RS/RS2)
Nozzle Area (cm2) = 9.8
Turbine = GSR - Inconel (steel alloy), RS/Rs2=Titanium alloy

Evolution 7 GTA
Turbo = TD05-15GK2-9.0T
Nozzle Area (cm2) = 9.0
Compressor = Aluminium, 65mm wide

Evolution 8
Turbo = TD05HR-16G6-9.8T (GSR / USDM E
TD05HRA-16G6-9.8T (RS/RS2)
Nozzle Area (cm2) = 9.8
Turbine = USDM EVO 8 & JDM GSR =Inconel (steel alloy),
RS/Rs2=Titanium alloy.

So.. u can try to evaluate the turbos urself and chose the best for ur setup. Hope it helps.

*TD05 specification taken from one of the jinkl's thread.

bRO the question is.. to compare td05 with pulsar...not generation of sr20 turbo...:D OR Genaration of td05..so my answer to the question is almost same.

i said it almost same..rating still maximum power output below 350hp..and sizing also almost same..u will find that sizing of turbine wheel and compressor wheel almost same..i dont said it exactly same bro..how come it will be same coz manufacturer different and how come it will be same in term of spec...the engine also different character...square engine and under square engine...of course it will be different:hmmmm:

1 more thing he asked for pulsar turbo so i referring to garrett t28 :D

bRO the question is.. to compare td05 with pulsar...not generation of sr20 turbo...:D OR Genaration of td05..so my answer to the question is almost same.

i said it almost same..rating still maximum power output below 350hp..and sizing also almost same..u will find that sizing of turbine wheel and compressor wheel almost same..i dont said it exactly same bro..how come it will be same coz manufacturer different and how come it will be same in term of spec...the engine also different character...square engine and under square engine...of course it will be different:hmmmm:

1 more thing he asked for pulsar turbo so i referring to garrett t28 :D

Okay... My fault... Morning morning dun angry bro... Hehe... Have a nice day...

haha..dont like this bro..it nobody fault la...wat u posted is correct too...i just give my justification on wat ever i said..that all..coz nobody reply to it..so i just try to give him an idea..that all:love:

my answer also very general..not in detail..then how come i right?i might be wrong too...so:biggrin:
my answer also might be not helpful enough to standet..:hmmmm:

haha i not mad la bro...:bawling:

p/s: Selamat Hari Raya :driver:

thx for sifu's reply~

> maybe the problem is my question~ its too general~

btw, thx for the precious info from both sifu and others who gave info~

erm~ i'm not so sure if it's laggy compared to TD05~ just that i'm getting half2 in pro as well as cons regarding the AR80~

actually~ am planning to use AR80 in gsr~ so wanna know the difference between AR80 (from sr20) with TD05 (evo1,2,3)~

thx~ =)

(some told me the 'bontot' of AR80 is slightly smaller compare to td05 (evo 1,2,3)

thx for sifu's reply~

erm~ i'm not so sure if it's laggy compared to TD05~ just that i'm getting half2 in pro as well as cons regarding the AR80~

actually~ am planning to use AR80 in gsr~ so wanna know the difference between AR80 (from sr20) with TD05 (evo1,2,3)~

thx~ =)

(some told me the 'bontot' of AR80 is slightly smaller compare to td05 (evo 1,2,3)

bro speed2horizon told me before that td05 bontot can put in Vr4 td05 bontot to make it smaller...but until now i still cant find a vr4 turbo bontot even the whole vr4 turbine also susah cari zzz...siezz

thx for sifu's reply~

thx~ =)

Well, what kinda of power u are trying to extrct from ur GSR..?

If u are using TD05 Evo 1, the lag is noticeable, but not unacceptable. No problem...
Or if u are looking for ard 250WHP-300WHP, u may look for the T28 aka GT2560R from Silvia SR20 S14/15. Is quite responsive for a 1.8.

bro speed2horizon told me before that td05 bontot can put in Vr4 td05 bontot to make it smaller...but until now i still cant find a vr4 turbo bontot even the whole vr4 turbine also susah cari zzz...siezz

TD05 from EVO 1 also not bad... Not necessary hybrid in such a way... there are alot of route to go...

If u are using TD05 Evo 1, the lag is noticeable, but not unacceptable. No problem...
Or if u are looking for ard 250WHP-300WHP, u may look for the T28 aka GT2560R from Silvia SR20 S14/15. Is quite responsive for a 1.8.

TD05 from EVO 1 also not bad... Not necessary hybrid in such a way... there are alot of route to go...

whats the price for T28 aks GT256OR? Evo1 bontot eh...hmm okok will try to find

if its an AR 60 ball bearing if it's from s14/15~ and it do really very responsive~

just that the turbine that i have is AR80 from s13 / pulsar~ which the size is smaller compare to AR60~ and it does not have ball bearing too~ :hmmmm:

erm~ i'm just wondering how is response as well as the power output for the ar80 compare to td05(from evo 1~3). my gsr is using standard internal, so cannot push the boost too high~

if its an AR 60 ball bearing if it's from s14/15~ and it do really very responsive~

just that the turbine that i have is AR80 from s13 / pulsar~ which the size is smaller compare to AR60~ and it does not have ball bearing too~ :hmmmm:

erm~ i'm just wondering how is response as well as the power output for the ar80 compare to td05(from evo 1~3). my gsr is using standard internal, so cannot push the boost too high~

Har?!!! Standard internals cannot boost high??? Yakah??? We tried 1.9bars on standard internals. Hahaha....

The durability of the internals very much depends on how much abuse does it face. My term abuse refers to pre-mature detonation. Which will also kill any forgies u're gonna replace. The difference is, the forged internal are able to take more abuse. Not that they are indestructible. So, good tunning is the key to save ur engine from pre-mature detonation when boosting high...

Back tonthebtuebo responsiveness, the AR80 from pulsar does not give u really huge top end.

Before choosing turbo, it's wise to understand urself what u really want. What kind of power range u are looking forward to achieve? Then, u start deciding for turbo.

GT2560R is rated for 330HP. If u need something more, try GT2960RS.

lolx~ 1.9bar~ >
hmmmm~~~ am just aiming for power around 250 to 300~
just wondering if the power gonna be better or who knows (worser) compare to the standard td04~
tuning with piggyback (e-manage) only~

lolx~ 1.9bar~ >
hmmmm~~~ am just aiming for power around 250 to 300~
just wondering if the power gonna be better or who knows (worser) compare to the standard td04~
tuning with piggyback (e-manage) only~

250-300 Whp is not as easy as changing to a bigger turbo. U'll be needing more stuff than just turbo.