AR80 & TD05

sifu hehehe cool down :P

ww_86 , like they say larr .. ar80 doesnt mean turbine is big or small u cant see it..
example is .. just like tyre size ler, i say my profile is 60 , can u know its 15" 16" or 17"
ar80 can have big turbine can have small turbine also

better u show them the full spec then they might tell a better conclusion

ooo like that nice example jinkl sorry la i abit slow on understanding
sorry ppl

hmm i dun actually know the spec well too
all i know it was from sr20 Garrett ar80

duno much sorry guys

thank by the way

sum-dum-fuk said:
dear fellows..

many times...alot of people relate A/R to...the bigger the better ! omg.. these mechanics think that a/r 80 (actually itz called 0.80) = bigger than td05... to them.. 8 is bigger than 5....

A/R is in no relation or even a fair comparison to TD05... both are in different leagues..

Spot on.

You can have a T04S compressor housing with an A/R ratio of 0.60 and T25 compressor with an A/R ratio of 0.80 and yet the T04S flowing more air(higher density) at a higher tip speed when compared to the T25..

and when you compare them(size wise) side by side, the T04S is definitely bigger.

there's a of things to consider when choosing a turbo, even wheel trims, compressor wheel pitch angle, turbine wheel trim..etc

just my two cents.

Sdf,

just curious. Are you familiar with MHI turbochargers? I've seen APEXi's (IHI's RX6 B )TCW76 and 77 compressor maps(kinda lost trying to understand it for a while but I got the picture), but not the MHIs.

Btw, what are your experiences with turbochargers with anti-surge ports in the compressor?Do you reckon that there's some drawback to it?

phoenixpower said:
Sdf,

just curious. Are you familiar with MHI turbochargers? I've seen APEXi's (IHI's RX6 B )TCW76 and 77 compressor maps(kinda lost trying to understand it for a while but I got the picture), but not the MHIs.

Btw, what are your experiences with turbochargers with anti-surge ports in the compressor?Do you reckon that there's some drawback to it?

Ah, there's a sticky to that. Didnt see it. Gotta have a read.

wws_86 said:
ooo like that nice example jinkl sorry la i abit slow on understanding
sorry ppl

hmm i dun actually know the spec well too
all i know it was from sr20 Garrett ar80

duno much sorry guys

thank by the way

if u want more power juz plunk in TD05 wil do la.. it wont disappoint u 1 :P :top:

phoenix..

what maps of MHI u wan to find out ?
ported shroud compressor housings are a thing of tomorrow, it works well as air baffle and also to provide better flow for the comp wheels. There's been notes that it helps spooling by up to 500 RPM quicker...so YEA it is good stuff..

sum-dum-fuk said:
phoenix..

what maps of MHI u wan to find out ?
ported shroud compressor housings are a thing of tomorrow, it works well as air baffle and also to provide better flow for the comp wheels. There's been notes that it helps spooling by up to 500 RPM quicker...so YEA it is good stuff..

SDF,

Would like your opinion on this.

On the issue of anti-surge ports,I noticed it is used quite commonly on high pressure ratio compressor maps.

Btw,my understanding(theoretical) of the anti-surge ports in the compressor housing is that, during surge(ie compressor stalling due to air reversion), the ports actually relief the pressure build-up inside the compressor housing from the 'major' section of the compressor wheel back out the to the compressor inlet.

But, then again, when the air is ingested and compressed from the inlet-minor of the compressor wheel to the major of the compressor wheel, they may be a possible "leak" from the anti-surge ports(IMO)

But due to the new compressor wheel designs, peak efficiency may(IMO) still range in the mid to high 70s, which is not a big deal if you dont have a problem with numbers.

What say you? :smile:

sorry to interupt...just a simple question...
on dyno test they always show...lets say...

800HP on 10psi...

what's the 10psi..
is it the fuel pressure???