Best cut off frequency for subwoofer

• Fixed New Thread missing Editor: Hi Everyone, the issue with posting a new thread or a reply that shows a missing editor has been fixed. More updates to the forums will be added on in the coming days, we apologize for the inconveniece this has caused

boyzone

All sifus,

I just completely installation on my power amp with DIY mode.
Get a 2nd hand MA 502 power amp and bridge the output to push on my 8 inch subwoofer in tube.
Now my question is:

What is the best cut off frequency ( LPF x-over ) for my subwoofer?:confused:
Pls advise.. Thanks.:biggrin:

also depends on your mids high pass frequency. usually as starting point, sub's low pass frequency and mids high pass frequency is the same. u can try something like 60hz. but since your sub is only 8inch, maybe need to go higher la, 75 or 80hz. from there u can play a bit, whether overlap or have a gap between the two frequencies.

going for 8 inch is because of space limitation at my trunk.
Anyway, what is 8 inch woofer Hz range? Is it able to go as low as 30Hz?
Pls advise.. Thanks.

in theory it can reach 30hz but u wont be able to hear or feel it much...only large subs in large boxes can play low frequencies efficiently without damaging the sub.