best speaker for the rear mid

yewjunyan

hey sifu-sifu, i need advice in installing the rear speaker.
I shall install a component 6'1/2 speaker at the rear with crossover and tweeter or:
6'1/2 speaker without crossover and tweeter (recommended by the installer, since i have a component set at front, the installer said that component set at rear wounld affect the front staging...but some deny that claim so....what would sifu-sifus comment?)

However im wondering the sound of the 6'1/2 mid bass without the crossover and tweeter bad and not precise? i hav a sub woofer, so im not considering 6x9....i wish to focus more on mid for the rear speaker..sifu pls share you view with me ya...thanks..

no need rear speaker la, use that money to upgrade something else, yuor amp or HU or maybe cables, etc...

rear speakers will spoil the front stage, u only need a little bit of sound, so use back OEM speakers also can. no need to get component set (mids + passive + tweets). any basic speaker will do. its just for ambient sound, and make sure fader is to the front, make rear sound very soft only.

thanx for the reply ya..anyway i just wondering the 6'1/2 mid bass unit without the crossover and tweeter would it influence the overall sound quality?
well, how much fad i shall put to front? F2? Im using pioneer...
thanx for the help ya sifu...

yes that speaker will be ok, put fader to the front as much as possible, the rear speakers need to have minimum sound only..

ic...thanx for the feed back, but i facing a problem now while i trying to fade the voice to front...
my woffer sound very very soft now since i shift the volume to the front, the rear mid bass including the sub become no sound d...sifu zenn what can i do le?

get a HU with sub output (3 pairs of rca), i think now your sub is using rear output (2 pairs of rca)...

hey sifu, today i bought a second hand sound stream speaker from friend and a branded 2 channel amp under enoes promotion..well, dono wats the technical problem...they install till got noise aeroplane noise..feel so down..:(...
somemore, when i swith off or open the HU, there's a 'pop' sound coming from the speaker...the amp is about 570ringgit before promotion le...name boston i think...abit forget the name d...so down to hev these prob..

do additional grounding from ur amp to body try using power amp cable..should solve ur prob cheer up mate i used to have the same prob myself at one point

thanks dude, finally the noise problem solved by adding extra grounding cable..
now im running two both two channel amp..onw is for front component and one is for sub...wondering how to tune it?expecially for the low pass cross over, from 50 to 200hz, i dono how to tune it so that it sounds good for the sub...sifu can enlighten me?

im assuming u are not using any other electronic crossover, thats why u have to use the amp's low pass / high pass filters. in any case u should only be using one. if HU has inbuilt xover, switch off the amp's. if u have an electronic xover then switch off HU & Amp's.

u will need both low pass filter for the sub amp, and high pass filter for the component amp. the value in Hz will be close, some are same, some overlap, some leave a gap, all depends on how the sound is to you.

if you are using a 6.5" component, start around 60-70hz for both amps. remember, for components it is high pass, for sub it is low pass. from there u can adjust slightly up or down, maybe you will end up with 55 for component, 65 for sub, or maybe both around 60, or maybe sub at 80, all depends on your equipment, your car and your music.

KNN i wrote long reply it never appear....

anyway start around 60hz for both, low pass filter at sub amp, and high pass filter at component amp

also make sure you are not using any other electronic crossover or HU inbuilt xover.

thanks for the reply ya sifus..hehe...now my component HP set around 65,LP set around 70...is it ok?
well, the amp has a equilizer shall i use it or not? It can be set it on or off de..just wondering shall i set it on for the component set, for the sub, just switch it off lo since sub nothing can be tune...hehe..any suggestion dear sifus?

the eq on sub amp usually is set on one frequency only, maybe 70hz or 55hz, u have to refer to the manual. so depending on that frequency then u know if its for sub only or can also be used for component. anyway, to use or not depends on what type of sound youre after, maybe u want loud street bass so u can try the eq, it will make that certain frequency louder. whether it suits u or not thats up to you to decide.

thanks for the good reply ya...well, there is one tunning botton for setting the the crossover point and two tunning botton for bass and trebel, which can tune to -12db,0 or +12db...the eq can be set on or off...wondering need to use it anot...:)

frankly speaking, all sings of cap ayam amp, eq la, bass & treble la, hehe...

good amps are very simple, usually just have high pass low pass filters, and the real high end ones dont evenhave that, just the gains only...

the bass & treble works like the eq also, just need to know what frequency it is at, and whether it will help with your music or not. u can try la if u want. for me ill switch off everything, except for the xover la, since u dont have any other xover in the system.

ic..my cap ayam rogers amp got many adjustment...hehe
well, then i shall learn like sifu zenn switch off the eq and adjust the eq on the hu only..would it be a right way to do so?

usually the eq on hu would be more flexible than the eq on the amp...