See what others are reading now! Try Forums >
Current Activity
Home
Forums
Main Forums
Car Talk
Forced Induction & Engine Management
BOT (Bolt On Turbo)
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
<blockquote data-quote="speed2horizon" data-source="post: 4528504" data-attributes="member: 30831"><p>Another BOTer on the road soon.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Ther difference is there. On WOT, 0bar increment to 0.4bar. That's a lot. If u're going for more, i suggest u to go for 1.8mm metal gasket. Just 0.8-1mm thickness increment compare to stock gasket.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Agreed. But patience is something that no everyone has...</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Haha... still on TD04L..? Not bad huh... But i think if u've experience a slightly bigger turbo, like TD04HL and TD05 14B with 6cm2 turbine housing, having lower boost and tuned to achieve same HP, U'll understand that ur turbo is coming to the limit... </p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Anything and everything could without proper retune after boost increment... Haha... U gotta point brader...</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Reworking internals aren't necessary, but retune is... On WOT, the O2 feedback will be deactivated... So, retune is necessary.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Enough or not, have to ask u... Not us... 210cc injectors are actually quite small. External fuel pump is actually something extra... Doh 9 yu...</p><p></p><p>It's not the gaskets are won't last. And thicker gasket does not mean stronger... 4G93T and 4G63T have OEM carbon gasket. But 4G63T have 270bhp... So, can tahan or not..?</p><p></p><p>Bare that in mind. Gasket thickness is just a cheap way to adjust the compression ratio of ur engine. </p><p></p><p>If u gonna install 1.5mm metal gasket before ur BOT, u're gonna experience dramatic torque and power drop due to low compression ratio. 4G91 already have CR low enough...</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Without kacau the engine too much, but want power... Then go for extractors and exhaust upgrade... Once u've deep ur head into the forced induction, it's never simple to retract... And just if u're not lucky enough to have some conman by ur side claiming everything can, there'w where the problem comes... </p><p></p><p>Just some pre introduction to ur engine... Gen2 require expensive management to play around with in order to make it stable.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Good explanation...</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Why modify the <span style="font-size: 12px">piston rings</span>..? Any theory..? </p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Since u're not going to be consistent with ur fuel octane number, I'll suggest u to tune it with RON95... Let say ur tuner gonna tune it to the highest possible output... If u tune it with RON95, and run RON97, U'll be much safer than the condition being tuned. But if U gonna tune it with RON97 and Run it with RON95, U might experience premature detonation... And maybe a kaboom if the day is hot...</p><p></p><p>I've alwez got 4++KM with my Satria tank on RON 97. Even achieve 538KM on daily cheras-rawang basis... </p><p></p><p>Changing intake manifold without porting up the inlet port is not going to do anything good. Perhaps, the sudden conttraction of the flow area will even reduce the flow efficiency. Though not alot, but notice on dyno graph.. But, if u've seen the GSR head, U'll understand that no matter how much u port on the 4G91 head, u'll never be able to achieve the same size as GSR's. It's totally 2 different sand core Mitsubishi has used during the production stage.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Stages of mods are self determined on budget... Those stages are also some package offered by some shop to simplify ur selection according to ur needs. </p><p></p><p>To my humble opinion and my shallow knowledge, Internal will be safe with proper tuning.... I've seen loads of melted forged pistons and loads of 300WHP with stock internals GSRs... It all depends on the tuning. Strong pistons and strong conrods(forged, ceramic coated) can take more abuse from premature detonation. But it doesn't mean they are indestructible. </p><p></p><p>Think it the other way round, what if u're not applying any abuse on the internals. </p><p></p><p>I'd say management is the heart/brain of ur engine... Strong muscle or wise brain... U do the choosing...</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Go look around in ZTH. They have this quite interesting package of the once offered EON BOT kit with new garrett T25 turbo complete with plug n play EMS and full kit. All u need to do is to get it installed. </p><p></p><p>I think they provide installation too...</p><p></p><p>Here is their link:</p><p><a href="http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/engine-and-performance/248076-4g9x-new-original-turbokit-with-garrett-turbo.html" target="_blank">4G9X BOT kit</a></p><p></p><p>Oppss... U're 15 days late... But it used to be RM3999.00</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Lolz... Not to dissapoint u... Imagination is alway cool, But reality is sometime cruel... Let's do the calculation.</p><p></p><p>Cheapest around market...</p><p></p><p>1- TD04L-RM350</p><p>2- Exhaust Manifold-RM100</p><p>3- Injectors 275cc(6A12tt or 4G64)-RM200</p><p>4- BOV used - RM350</p><p>5- Intercooler with piping - RM250(GSR)</p><p>6- Downpipe modification - RM150</p><p>7- SAFC 5 button - RMRM350</p><p>8- Modification on oil sump for turbo return - RM80</p><p>9- Boost meter(Auto gauge) -RM200 </p><p>10- Metal head gasket 1.5 - RM200</p><p>11- Installation - ???</p><p>12- Hidden cost - Insufficient hose clips, T for the oil feed line, hoses for boost meter and BOV, tuning up and down, left and right, and the list goes on...</p><p></p><p>Without item 11, 12, it's already RM2230. And I'm dead sure that those 2 items will cost u more than RM1k..</p><p></p><p>Haha.... </p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Supercharging is never more effective in producing power compare to turbocharging... Let's see it this way.</p><p></p><p>Turbocharging - Recycle waste to produce more.</p><p>Supercharging - Sacrificing to produce.</p><p></p><p>But what supercharge is actually producing is the low end torque and power as they does not require effective operating pressure to start producing power... Just a magnetic clutch to kick in whenever u like... Just like VTECS... haha... funz....</p><p></p><p>Servicing depends on how the supercharge oil feed and return is installed. If they are installed together with the same engine oil reservoir, then no separate service required. But if u install a separate cooler and reservoir for the SC, then separate oil change required. But both have pro and cons...</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="speed2horizon, post: 4528504, member: 30831"] Another BOTer on the road soon. Ther difference is there. On WOT, 0bar increment to 0.4bar. That's a lot. If u're going for more, i suggest u to go for 1.8mm metal gasket. Just 0.8-1mm thickness increment compare to stock gasket. Agreed. But patience is something that no everyone has... Haha... still on TD04L..? Not bad huh... But i think if u've experience a slightly bigger turbo, like TD04HL and TD05 14B with 6cm2 turbine housing, having lower boost and tuned to achieve same HP, U'll understand that ur turbo is coming to the limit... Anything and everything could without proper retune after boost increment... Haha... U gotta point brader... Reworking internals aren't necessary, but retune is... On WOT, the O2 feedback will be deactivated... So, retune is necessary. Enough or not, have to ask u... Not us... 210cc injectors are actually quite small. External fuel pump is actually something extra... Doh 9 yu... It's not the gaskets are won't last. And thicker gasket does not mean stronger... 4G93T and 4G63T have OEM carbon gasket. But 4G63T have 270bhp... So, can tahan or not..? Bare that in mind. Gasket thickness is just a cheap way to adjust the compression ratio of ur engine. If u gonna install 1.5mm metal gasket before ur BOT, u're gonna experience dramatic torque and power drop due to low compression ratio. 4G91 already have CR low enough... Without kacau the engine too much, but want power... Then go for extractors and exhaust upgrade... Once u've deep ur head into the forced induction, it's never simple to retract... And just if u're not lucky enough to have some conman by ur side claiming everything can, there'w where the problem comes... Just some pre introduction to ur engine... Gen2 require expensive management to play around with in order to make it stable. Good explanation... Why modify the [SIZE="3"]piston rings[/SIZE]..? Any theory..? Since u're not going to be consistent with ur fuel octane number, I'll suggest u to tune it with RON95... Let say ur tuner gonna tune it to the highest possible output... If u tune it with RON95, and run RON97, U'll be much safer than the condition being tuned. But if U gonna tune it with RON97 and Run it with RON95, U might experience premature detonation... And maybe a kaboom if the day is hot... I've alwez got 4++KM with my Satria tank on RON 97. Even achieve 538KM on daily cheras-rawang basis... Changing intake manifold without porting up the inlet port is not going to do anything good. Perhaps, the sudden conttraction of the flow area will even reduce the flow efficiency. Though not alot, but notice on dyno graph.. But, if u've seen the GSR head, U'll understand that no matter how much u port on the 4G91 head, u'll never be able to achieve the same size as GSR's. It's totally 2 different sand core Mitsubishi has used during the production stage. Stages of mods are self determined on budget... Those stages are also some package offered by some shop to simplify ur selection according to ur needs. To my humble opinion and my shallow knowledge, Internal will be safe with proper tuning.... I've seen loads of melted forged pistons and loads of 300WHP with stock internals GSRs... It all depends on the tuning. Strong pistons and strong conrods(forged, ceramic coated) can take more abuse from premature detonation. But it doesn't mean they are indestructible. Think it the other way round, what if u're not applying any abuse on the internals. I'd say management is the heart/brain of ur engine... Strong muscle or wise brain... U do the choosing... Go look around in ZTH. They have this quite interesting package of the once offered EON BOT kit with new garrett T25 turbo complete with plug n play EMS and full kit. All u need to do is to get it installed. I think they provide installation too... Here is their link: [URL="http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/engine-and-performance/248076-4g9x-new-original-turbokit-with-garrett-turbo.html"]4G9X BOT kit[/URL] Oppss... U're 15 days late... But it used to be RM3999.00 Lolz... Not to dissapoint u... Imagination is alway cool, But reality is sometime cruel... Let's do the calculation. Cheapest around market... 1- TD04L-RM350 2- Exhaust Manifold-RM100 3- Injectors 275cc(6A12tt or 4G64)-RM200 4- BOV used - RM350 5- Intercooler with piping - RM250(GSR) 6- Downpipe modification - RM150 7- SAFC 5 button - RMRM350 8- Modification on oil sump for turbo return - RM80 9- Boost meter(Auto gauge) -RM200 10- Metal head gasket 1.5 - RM200 11- Installation - ??? 12- Hidden cost - Insufficient hose clips, T for the oil feed line, hoses for boost meter and BOV, tuning up and down, left and right, and the list goes on... Without item 11, 12, it's already RM2230. And I'm dead sure that those 2 items will cost u more than RM1k.. Haha.... Supercharging is never more effective in producing power compare to turbocharging... Let's see it this way. Turbocharging - Recycle waste to produce more. Supercharging - Sacrificing to produce. But what supercharge is actually producing is the low end torque and power as they does not require effective operating pressure to start producing power... Just a magnetic clutch to kick in whenever u like... Just like VTECS... haha... funz.... Servicing depends on how the supercharge oil feed and return is installed. If they are installed together with the same engine oil reservoir, then no separate service required. But if u install a separate cooler and reservoir for the SC, then separate oil change required. But both have pro and cons... [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
The Marketplace Latest
original rare Yokohama ADVAN Racing TC4 17x8jj...
Started by
david tao
Chassis and Wheels
BRAND NEW original rare Yokohama ADVAN Racing RG3...
Started by
david tao
Chassis and Wheels
original FD2R akagakiracing titanium 2.75” exhaust...
Started by
david tao
original GT86 BRZ akagakiracing titanium 2.5”...
Started by
david tao
2pcs only, original rare spec Rays Volk Racing CE28...
Started by
david tao
Chassis and Wheels
original rare Yokohama ADVAN Racing RZ 18x8.5jj...
Started by
david tao
Chassis and Wheels
original rare spec Rays Volk Racing CE28 16x7jj...
Started by
david tao
Chassis and Wheels
Honda CITY 1.5 E (A)
Started by
PIstonHeads
Cars for sale
original BBS RE013 18x8jj offset +50 5H pcd 5x112...
Started by
david tao
Chassis and Wheels
original rare Yokohama ADVAN Racing RG3 18x8 18x8.5...
Started by
david tao
Chassis and Wheels
What clutch is good for altezza????
i am using toda flywheel...but its not make any changer when i use original altezza clucth...as a new owner of altezza....want opinian from all u guy...
Replace Oil Seal for Engine Oil Cooler (4G93T)
Just a simple DIY on how to replace this
oil seal
(for 4G93T engine). Its location is shown below.
View attachment 660130
Figure 1 : All the components. [1] Oil Filter, [6]...
WTS: HKS EIDS and Blitz R-Fit (AFC)
Selling the following used items:
1. HKS EIDS (Type-K)
complete with manual, box and bypass jumper.
selling: RM250neg
2. Blitz R-Fit (AirFuel Controller)
complete with manual and box (japanese) but GT Auto is...
Recent Posts
Darker Design : Mercedes-Benz Launches GLA Nightfall Edition in Malaysia
Started by
The_Mechanic
News and Features
Honda Malaysia Doubles Down on Hybrids: New CR-V Launches with Dual e:HEV...
Started by
The_Mechanic
News and Features
BateriHub Reaches 200-Store Milestone, Becomes Malaysia’s Largest...
Started by
The_Mechanic
News and Features
Been stalking for 3 years edy
Started by
dheepadarshan95
Introduction and Newbies
Recommendation: Turbocharger for 4B11 N.A engine
Started by
Mitevo7
Car Modification