Can send evo car engine for wash ???

options

I believe some those car lovers will like thier cars as clean as possible - from tip to tail. So here i shared my experience on my car engine wash:

During the engine wash, we take pre-cautions steps on first- left the car in the shop over night to let the engine completely cool down prepare for next day morning wash. So when times come, we covers all the sparks head, air filter head and start washing.

After washed, we let it about few minutes and start the engine ... guess what ........

the car engine able to start properly but the dash board shown battery warning light on. Upon checking, we found the alternator is not working. Shit !! this is the part we left out to cover. The alternator got the hold and i believe some kind of electrical short as water is conductive. It might be the co-incident the alternator is bad but i truely suspect i is due to no coverage on the alternator motor.

So it cost me RM400 to replace a aftermarket one.: -(

Hope some of u wash engine will take learning on it.:cry_smile:

bro can i know which car wash so good to let u stay the car for overnight? normally those car wash need to wash it very quick, the car in and out every 15 minutes and still lots of car waiting for it.

but for me better dont wash the engine. lucky your engine are not those conti car, if not i dont think 400 is enough. my engine very dirty 1,. never wash before.:emoticon_U: same like my friend mr. stopid, hehe he never wash his evo also. :_:

buddy what u mean by "conti car" ? i let the mechanic in Kelena Jaya that i know for wash....not the ordinary car wash center. He is very nice guy and know evo in and out ...as normally KL car tunning mechanic shop or very cocky ...hehe

But if u see those car mazagine, they actually wash their car for photo shoot ....

Hi option,
I think conti car meant by cannon i.e bmw , merc etc european cars. i do agree some owner like to keep the engine bay cleanliness. But my suggestion is if ur engine is not very dirty it is better just blow with compress air , but if dirty (oil contamination) and u need to use degreaser , i suggest before wash u have to warm up a bit ur engine and not totally cool it overnight, cover electrical parts and use low pressure of water and suggested don't spray directly to electrical parts that unable to cover (use gayung and baldi is better). After wash it is better to blow with compress air as dry as possible before start.

i use sunlight to wash my engine :) and yup as told by azizi it is better to use normal flow of water pipe rather than high-compressed jet water.but since i dun have compressed air stuff i dry it up with plain cloth only.take my the whole day to wash my engine but satisfaction guarantee.summore gud exercise oso for me hahahahaha :P yeah sunlight is a good 'degreaser' agent to wash engine.clean as new :D

Ok that for both of u.

That's help a lot.

Hi Azizi, next time can find u for engine wash d ...: )

cannon,

wat ?? didn't go shopping mall how to wash ??? CARS gold member here la.. :regular_smile: :regular_smile: :regular_smile:

azizi.aziz said:
Hi option,
...... i do agree some owner like to keep the engine bay cleanliness. But my suggestion is if ur engine is not very dirty it is better just blow with compress air , but if dirty (oil contamination) and u need to use degreaser , i suggest before wash u have to warm up a bit ur engine and not totally cool it overnight, cover electrical parts and use low pressure of water and suggested don't spray directly to electrical parts that unable to cover (use gayung and baldi is better). After wash it is better to blow with compress air as dry as possible before start.

Bro Options,

That's the way CARS (Mahkota carpark basement) uses to clean the engine bay area.
The chemical degreaser is used if oily only. No high pressure jet used. The use only 1 bucket of water mix with degreaser & do a wipedown.

Rgds/Ice

wah....salute u guys very daring to wash engine ....hehehe i dun dare personally.....too many areas dat r not WATER frendly :D

u can wash ur engine but not spray water all over,some place not very water frenly.especially,alternator,starter,coil,those relay

evo engine bay got alot of those relay near the firewall,even some people didn wash their engine bay some of the relay prone to spoil by water.

u can wash but take precauttion,dun spray near firewall and alternator place.spray some degreaser or soap near dirty area then wipe off with clean cloth.dun spray water all over.

Guys, I have NEVER wash or sprayed my engine with water...so scared of doing it after I learned it the hard way from my B18C-R last time..hehe.

I guess my personal suggestion is to use degreaser and wipe it off with cloth la rather than use water and spray all over. High compress air is good also..

For me, not worth the risk just to have a **blink blink** engine bay ? Not worth it la if something goes spoilt...

Speaking of which, I don't show ppl my engine bay coz inside got rats la, cockroaches la, spider web la, lizard la.....LoL

thanks bro for the advise. real good ... so many options. he he

i agree that you should't spray water on your engine bay.. what i do is first take a wet cloth(not dripping wet) and wipe the surpunding of the engine bay and then repeat this again for cleaner surface.. for engine top i use a wax to buff up and for all the hoses i use a rubber protect paste.. same as those tyre shine also can.... to wipe clean.. those places that your finger can reach just wipe with damp cloth. other metal part i use "nixon" metal polisher to polished those parts full of grease and dirt.. the wires and connectors just wipe with a slightly damp cloth... i usually spend about an hour cleaning the engine bay alone.. coz i dont trust car wash with my engine bay!..hehehe